We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay in St Martinville”

Bienvenue House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Martinville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bienvenue House Bed and Breakfast
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Memorable stay in St Martinville”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Bienvenue at the end of October and it turned out to be one of the highlights of our month long road trip around the States. The house is beautiful and very tastefully decorated throughout. We stayed in the Josephine room which had access to the verandah at the front and where we sat while drinking coffee and eating our pre-breakfast pastries! The legendary Cajun breakfasts, different every day, were truly amazing! Jill and Skip were surprised at how fast we ate but really, if we had eaten slowly we would only have managed a quarter of what was on the plate and even then we were never able to finish it! We had a wonderful swamp tour arranged through Jill and enjoyed exploring the town and the Longfellow Evangeline Historic site, but the best thing of all was the company of our hosts. They were so interesting and such fun to spend time with, especially when they dressed up for Halloween (it came a day early in St Martinville because there was a storm brewing) and we sat on the verandah in the evening with the candy, swopping stories and drinking a glass of wine. If we come back to Louisiana we will certainly revisit the Bienvenue.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Trenton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed in this beautiful home on May 31 of 2013 with a very good friend. I love a bed and breakfast type atmosphere. It was very comfortable and we were allowed access to pretty much everywhere we wanted to go. It is so tastefully decorated. I got a lot of ideas for decorating. The town is a lovely setting. The hosts are so proud of their home and it shows. They showed great care into how comfortable we were and it was their priority. The next morning we were treated to a Cajun style breakfast that I still remember. Was honestly a memorable experience.

Room Tip: I would recommend pretty much any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SpiritSearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

My husband planned this trip as a surprise for me for our 40th anniversary. He did his research before choosing Bienvenue House and there were many to choose from. He couldn't have picked a nicer place!! Jill and Skip are WONDERFUL host. They make you feel right at home from the minute you walk in. The breakfast they serve is so delicious and so plentyful, I sure could enjoy some right now!! We would definitely have a return stay!!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank NOLADiva143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The breakfast was great each morning and owners went out of their way to make us comfortable. We were to only spend one night and ended up staying two. We had to leave at 5:30am for the race and the couple had our breakfast ready that early. They knew we were racing and that we would have nothing to eat for lunch so they had packed a sack lunch and even put the Tour du Teche logos on the bags. They went beyond what was expected. The first night they sent us to a great restaurant to eat. We called them at the end of the race at 5:30pm to book another night and they took the reservation happily. They asked if we needed a ride back from New Iberia since we got in late and came to pick us up without hesitation. A great place to stay for a weekend or a getaway. I highly recommend this B&B. Very accomodating and charming house and couple.

Room Tip: Room downstairs has the largest tub. All rooms have a full size beds and only tubs with spray hoses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

It's hard to put into words the outstanding people who own this B&B. Jill and Skip were incredible host and made our group feel so welcome we decided to stay an extra night. The rooms were great, the beds were define, the breakfast was out of this world and the company was perfect. From the moment we got there we felt so at home!! Thank you Jill and Skip for one of the great weekends that old friends and new ones share! We will be back over and over again!!!!!
Gary, Ralph, Michele and Sheri....Baton Rouge, LA

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Spent a night. It was so wonderful, we stayed a second night. This place is a gem. Private rooms, all have their own bathroom. Beautiful house. Skip and Jill are exceptional hosts. Incredible breakfast! If you have a chance to stay in St. Martinville, don't miss out on this experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tour_du_Teche_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Beautifully restored Bed and Breakfast with wonderful hosts.
Doing a "little porch sitting" watching the world go by, with a cup of excellant coffee before breakfast is a must.
The breakfast served by Jill and Skip was fantastic but unfortunately we could not do it justice as we had been out to dinner the evening before and we are still getting used to the size of meals in the US.
Talking to Jill and Skip and learning about the history of St Martinville and other things was a real highlight.
Thanks Jill and Skip and we hope to see you on Oz one day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank younggreynomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Martinville
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Broussard-Lafayette Area
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Iberia
0.4 mi away
Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast
Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Saint Martinville
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Plantation Mouton (Bois Des Chenes)
12.0 mi away
Louisiana Cajun Mansion Bed & Breakfast
11.8 mi away
T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast
T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Lafayette
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bienvenue House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienvenue House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bienvenue House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 421 N Main St, Saint Martinville, LA 70582
Region: United States > Louisiana > Saint Martinville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Martinville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing