We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A living legend leading the way of an incredibly great swamp tour”

LeBlanc Swamp Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A living legend leading the way of an incredibly great swamp tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We read about Norbert's tour in various places and all were in unison: if you're passing by Lake Martin, you are simply a FOOL not to call him for the tour. So we did.

We were in the area for only 2 days and called him for the second day as we were quite backed up and done with our first day. It seems he wasn't available for tours for the day we would have liked. Deception. Then we re-arranged our plans and called him back to know if we could have the tour at the end of the first day. He declined, but he told us that he was agreeing to our first choice, having the tour on the second day and inviting us to meet him at the Lake at 5pm the next day. WOW! That's what we call customer service.

We showed up around 4:15 to have a first view at the Lake before the tour. A man arrived around with his boat around 4:30. Bright eyes, tanned skin, white beard. No doubt, this was Norbert. He waived at us, started talking and this was it. We began to understand the legend behind the man.

The tour started 30 minutes later, with 7 other francophone folks. Quickly, Norbert showed the extent of his knowledge, expertise and familiarity with his environment and the lake, and with all species of the Cajun countries. A man who hunted gators for 30 years, who is fishing crawfish every year, who carved into cypress, respectful for each animal on his path, telling his stories and awakening us to all beauties of the swamp.

He carries a lot of experience and of respect for the swamp, the bayous and the Cajun country and succeed in transmitting his passion to his visitors during the 2hrs + tour.

And this is only talking about Norbert, our guide. About the nature now.... Simply astonishing. Landscapes even more incredible you can wish for, tons of surprise visits from different animals. Words simply cannot describe the experience.

This said, you cannot miss it. You're in Lake Martin's area, just call Norbert and do the tour. A big MUST, seriously.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank matamore6669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    7
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Norbert is a legend..the highlight of our holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

We read about Norbert and his trips on TA and so glad we did. He runs his own show against the bigger, noisier and less caring operators...one who takes his dog to bark at the alligators...this scares them away from their home logs forever. Norbert is a true gentlemen to man, woman, beast, alligator, bird or fish. His respect for nature and his beloved bayou is obvious and his knowledge profound. His jokes are corny but great. We wound our way quietly through the waters seeing and hearing nature at its best. Numerous alligators and myriad birds....the noises were wonderful and I am so glad we chose him as the other boats were noisy, went too fast and drowned out the sounds of nature. Stopping to listen to this was wonderful..as was his lagniappe ! Unexpected and so fun and kind..you have go to find out what I mean.

Long may he be King of the Bayou.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gwynethh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to really experience the swamp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Norbert LeBlanc is a soft-spoken, funny and knowledgeable guide to the Lake Martin cypress swamp that he so clearly loves. His tour is about two hours, his boat is very comfortable (swivel padded seats!) and he keeps a very slow pace all around the perimeter of the lake. We saw many large alligators (very close!), turtles, birds and the magnificent trees that stand knee-deep in water hundreds of feet from shore. His tour is very reasonable in price too!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mistersunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austell, Georgia
1 review
“Bayou adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Norman LeBlanc is a well informed nature lover. You will receive excellent information about the plant life and the animals of the bayou. He is very knowledgeable. He definitely knows the spots where the alligators are sunning themselves. We saw 15-20 alligators on our 2 hour tour. There were numerous turtles, and wildly colored birds of all types and descriptions. LeBlanc's Swamp Tour was the high point of our trip to Louisiana. The TV shows about the Bayou do not display the beauty of the place, a fact that you will appreciate if you take this tour. Norman knows the bayou very well. We were there in May, and the weather was beautiful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Washington
2 reviews
“Amazing swamp tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We were so impressed with how much Norbert LeBlanc knows about the swamp and its wildlife. He was very entertaining, witty, colorful and accommodating. He has a deep history with the area and his sharp eyes were able to point out things long before we could see them. He is fluent in both French and English too. Our boat was half and half. This is our third trip to New Orleans, and also our third trip to Beaux Bridge area to do the swamp tour with Mr. LeBlanc. We have brought new friends with us each time and they have all loved the experience. Remember to bring extra batteries for your camera, as there are so many pictures to take. It takes about 2.5 hours to drive from New Orleans, but it is absolutely worth it. Make a day of it and eat seafood and shop antique stores while your are in Beaux Bridge. Norbert is the best.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy98273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LeBlanc Swamp Tours also viewed

 

Been to LeBlanc Swamp Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing