We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Louisiana History at Its Best”

Longfellow Evangeline State Historic Site
Attraction details
Hammond, Louisiana
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Louisiana History at Its Best”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

For a taste of the Acadian history of southern Louisiana, the Longfellow-Evangline State Historic Site at St. Martinville, Louisiana, can't be beat. The grounds are beautiful especially in the early spring and the site's not usually crowded, making for a very relaxing and informative visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebel_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    14
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
236 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Very Interesting and Educational”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Thanks to park staff members Debbie, Christie, and Phillip we had a wonderful tour of Longfellow Evangeline State Historic site.
Debbie is a great source of information concerning the history of Creoles, Cajuns and the Bayou Teche area of Louisiana.
Christie led us through the original Olivier plantation home, circa 1750's and explained about the furnishings and why the house was arranged like it is Nd the additions that were made to it through the years.
Next it was on to Phillip and the tour of the reproduction farmstead which taught us how easy we have it today compared to life in the 17 and 1800's.
All in all it was a great informative tour.
.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank rodneytherock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkspur, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Museum, movie and tour worth the stop!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This complex is well preserved, has good tour guides and nice grounds to walk around. It was very quiet when we visited and we had the place to ourselves. Museum especially well done and the right size to view in about 30 minutes. Particularly liked reading about the moss harvesting from the 1800's. Would be great to visit during one of the historical recreation events hosted at this park.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie_clb_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
512 reviews
166 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Take the time ... you won't regret it!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Staying in a local B&B, we drove over to the park for a visit. It was a weekday, around 3 pm, so we had the park to ourselves. The admission fee is minimal (free for seniors), and well worth it. We were fortunate to have the park guides to ourselves, sharing their wealth of information, and spending quality time with us. The Acadian history surrounds you, and you walk away with a real sense of understanding. The park staff were the best, as well as providing additional insight to the surrounding area. Hope this is helpful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FLworldwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
2,018 reviews
566 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,188 helpful votes
“History of the Acadians”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My wife and I stopped here as the owner of the bed and breakfast we were staying at in Breaux Bridge recommended it to us. There is a $4 pp admission. It was not crowded when we were there. We had the tour guide to ourselves. The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the history and culture of this area. You can learn much about the history of the Acadians by visiting here. This park featured an old home from the Creole era as well as a house and outbuildings from the Acadians. The grounds are beautiful and truly historic, being the site of an early 1800's era Creole plantation. There is the original Creole home, plus several Acadian buildings and an Acadian farmstead.

From the Louisiana State Park website:

Longfellow-Evangeline State Historic Site explores the cultural interplay among the diverse peoples along the famed Bayou Teche. Acadians and Creoles, Indians and Africans, Frenchmen and Spaniards, slaves and free people of color-all contributed to the historical tradition of cultural diversity in the Teche region. French became the predominant language, and it remains very strong in the region today.

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow's 1847 epic poem Evangeline made people around the world more aware of the 1755 expulsion of the Acadians from Nova Scotia and their subsequent arrival in Louisiana. In this area, the story was also made popular by a local novel based on Longfellow's poem, Acadian Reminiscences: The True Story of Evangeline, written by Judge Felix Voorhies in 1907.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Longfellow Evangeline State Historic Site also viewed

Saint Martinville, LA
Saint Martinville, LA
 

Been to Longfellow Evangeline State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing