We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loftus Hall” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loftus Hall

Loftus Hall
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Hook Head
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit Loftus Hall and take a tour of this abandoned haunted house with a dark and trouble history. Let our tour guides take you through the ground floor on a 45 minute interactive tour where they will relate the grim and often gruesome history of Loftus Hall including it's notorious visitor. Full details of opening times and availability + online booking can be found on our website. Also available: Cafe Gift Shop Walled Gardens Bike Hire Wheelchair accessible Free Wi-Fi Parking Toilet facilities
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Loftus Hall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I visited this hall with a group of family members. I found our tour guide excellent, he really knew his stuff. The tour was very interesting. I would definitely recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank misscougar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftusLucifer, Reception/ Tourism Liaison at Loftus Hall, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review of Loftus Hall. We are extremely pleased to hear that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your visit, finding the tour very interesting and your guide excellent. Thanks also for saying you would recommend a visit to Loftus Hall to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    124
    41
    23
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A haunting experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

As a local I have grown up with the story of loftus hall and finally got the chance to enter the supposedly haunted house.
The tour guide was vey good, giving the history of the house up until the present day. It was in a dimly lit room we were told the story of the haunted house and it was acted out by the guide and a few of the people on the tour. There were defiantly a few screams from the group.
It is only the bottom of the house opened to the public at the moment but that is still enough to send a shiver down your spine.
If I was to go back I would go on the adults only your on Saturday evenings as it was difficult to hear the guide over crying, scared children.
Very enjoyable trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank emzy-bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftusLucifer, Receptionist/ Tourism Liaison at Loftus Hall, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review of your visit to Loftus Hall. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience, finding the guide good, and the tour itself just enough to send a shiver down your spine. We look forward to welcoming you back to do an adult tour very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting but a little too expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

I have heard and read stories about this place, so I of course decided to go and check it out once I heard it was possible. It cost us €9 per person to get in, and well, it was nice but poorly managed.

The tour itself took us through a few rooms, the family "morning room", the "card room" and the chapel. All the rooms were so dark that we could not see a thing, the only thing we could see clearly was the stair case that is beautiful and an amazing piece of handcraft and the reception area. The history of the place is interesting but it falls apart when all the rooms are boarded up taking away any natural light that is necessary as no electric lighting seems to be provided.

The guide himself was nice and polite. Seemed to really like his job, but his facts seem to be a little made up or at least not completely correlating with the facts written about this place.

For €9 it would have been nice to see more than the bottom floor. There is so much more to see but we were not allowed anywhere near the other floors. It was also sad that we were not allowed to take any pictures. I think it is a decision made by the owners to cover up the poor state of the whole place.

If you are around and have time and a few extra euro to spend, by all means go and see it. The money is said to go to the restoration of the place (being Ireland it might just be empty promises) but at least there is a possibility for this. But do not take a detour to go here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeneralKrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftusLucifer, Receptionist/ Tourism Liaison at Loftus Hall, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Loftus Hall. We are delighted you thought the staircase beautiful. We completely agree it is an amazing piece of craftsmanship, and feel it is one of the highlights at Loftus Hall. Many of our visitors find the tour price to be very reasonable for an hour long tour, and we do offer subsidies for children, seniors, students and families. As I am sure you can imagine, despite a massive amount of work already completed at Loftus Hall, there is a great deal more to do. All the work so far has been structural and therefore the aesthetics of Hall have been left as they were found. We have never claimed otherwise. The tour itself is a "spooky" tour, and so the condition that the house is in, the boarding up of the windows, and general "darkness" fits in perfectly with this premise. We are trying to offer something a little different here at Loftus, and we do not, and can not, claim that all the information provided on the tour is 100% fact. It is impossible to do this when you are imparting information about the legend and story behind Loftus Hall, and all the associated tales (ghostly and otherwise), that have been passed on through the years. Thank you for mentioning your guide was nice and polite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a fascinating building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We have been driving past Loftus Hall for years and were thrilled at the opportunity to get a peek inside. The tour is fascinating, and the detailed craftwork inside the building is amazing. I am a total sceptic about ghosts etc. but our guide succesfully managed to give us all a chill. This is one amazing and very creepy house. You have got to experience it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftusLucifer, Receptionist/ Tourism Liaison at Loftus Hall, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Many thanks for your recent review of Loftus Hall. We are delighted to hear that you found the tour fascinating and it also managed to give you a "chill"! We hope to welcome you back to Loftus Hall very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
236 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Very disappointing after waiting so many years.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

I waited a long time for Loftus Hall to open to the public and to say I was disappointed was an understatement.
I have read different accounts of the history of Redmond Hall and Loftus Hall and am very familiar with the history.
I did the day tour and the special night tour within six days of each other.
On the day tour the group got a very strong, as in over the top, warning about being ejected from the house if we dared take a photo or touch the staircase.
The day tour was only better due to the fact that one could actually see the rooms.
The guide himself was okay but his facts were seriously flawed and downright wrong in several cases - it is clear to see the owners/management are milking the dramatic element.
The parts of the house itself that you see are interesting but you are almost afraid move for fear of touching something and being thrown out.
The staircase is a fantastic piece of craftsmanship as is the floor and some of the fireplaces.
The Card Room is where they do the "reenactment" and choose people from the group to be certain characters. This worked well on day tour but the night tour was slightly unpleasant in that one of the ladies appeared to get distressed. Also the choosing of the people meant the staff laid hands on them and led them to another room which looked slightly unnecessary.
The chapel is a strange room although I suspect this may be due to activities going on here while the house was abandoned.
The Tapestry Room, the room everyone want to see, is genuinely very eerie and this could not be fabricated. Some people on both day and night tours were very uneasy in here.
The night tour intentionally tries to frighten people in here in pitch dark - personally I find this highly disrespectful to the memory of a young woman (Anne Tottenham) who after all was a real person who died a very unpleasant death. People will have different views but I think no good will come of this.
Neither day tour not night tour included the fact of the baby's skeleton being found in the wall in the Tapestry Room - I asked one of the guides why not and was informed they didn't want to disturb people - more likely it would detract from the fireball story and put the real tragedy of Loftus Hall in perspective.

Overall, very dissatisfied with both experiences particularly the night tour and would not recommend a friend to go - if you want to learn about Loftus Hall read about it and if you really want to go go in the day time to see the rooms.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Redsionnach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftusLucifer, Receptionist/ Tourism Liaison at Loftus Hall, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Loftus Hall. It appears from your review that you have a very strong interest in the history of Loftus Hall, and we are pleased that you thought the staircase and some of the fireplaces were fantastic pieces of craftsmanship. We completely agree, and so it is very important to us that these items remain this way, hence the request not to touch these items in our pre-tour health and security briefing. Our aim here at Loftus Hall is to provide an interactive, entertaining and informative tour, which highlights some of Loftus Hall's history in combination with bringing the "legend" of Loftus Hall alive. We do not, and can not, claim that the tour contains 100% factual elements - as when you are dealing with the legend and story behind Loftus Hall, and all the associated tales (ghostly and otherwise), that have been passed on through the years this would not be feasible. The Irish art of story telling is world renowned, and we feel that all our guides fulfil this role during the tours here at Loftus Hall. Many of our visitors agree, and appreciate the interactivity and entertaining value of our tour as it is a different experience to a standard 100% factual historical tour. We are sorry to hear that you did not agree on the occasions you visited.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loftus Hall also viewed

Fethard On Sea, County Wexford
County Wexford, Province of Leinster
 
Wexford, County Wexford
 

Been to Loftus Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing