We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to see the place open”
Review of Loftus Hall

Loftus Hall
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Hook Head
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit Loftus Hall and take a tour of this abandoned haunted house with a dark and trouble history. Let our tour guides take you through the ground floor on a 45 minute interactive tour where they will relate the grim and often gruesome history of Loftus Hall including it's notorious visitor. Full details of opening times and availability + online booking can be found on our website. Also available: Cafe Gift Shop Walled Gardens Bike Hire Wheelchair accessible Free Wi-Fi Parking Toilet facilities
Wexford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice to see the place open”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Knew the history and always wanted to visit the place since re opening, was the 80s since last there. The guide was very good and knew his history. i was on the late tour for adults and thats fun but i was wanting more of the history, the turning off the lights and hiding was grand once but after a while,,, anyway, its good to visit but a bit pricey for what ya get to see in the dark. i know the place is old but at least wipe down the doors and walls, at those prices at bit of restoration wouldn't go astray, the new part and restaurant looks great, but the hall needs some work. But fair play to the people who took it on and have the place open. great story to the place with lots of potential

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftusLucifer, Review Responder at Loftus Hall, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Loftus Hall via Trip Advisor. Thanks for mentioning that your guide was very knowledgeable, and that you appreciated the fact that the Hall is now open again to the public. Based on your comments, our daytime tours may appeal to you more that the "Legend" tour, as they offer a more historical based tour in a "lights on" setting. We offer the later night tours for those who are looking to visit Loftus Hall at it's most scary, in the dark.
Many thanks for taking the time to submit your reveiw, and we hope to welcome you back to Loftus Hall soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    139
    45
    28
    27
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value for Money”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I visited a few months ago with a group of 5 friends. Absolutely brilliant. I cannot understand why people on this are complaining about paying 9 euro for a one hour tour. Its economical, interesting attractions like this that are needed to encourage tourism in Ireland. Any fool can see that staff need to be paid and that this beautiful building is going to constantly need attention if its to stay standing.
We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist, had delicious food and began our tour. We were given very interesting facts and of course a few frights from a very knowledgable, friendly tour guide.
I would recommend this tour to everyone, especially those who no the tale of Loftus Hall

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SamW2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftusLucifer, Review Responder at Loftus Hall, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you so much for your recent Trip Advisor Review of Loftus Hall. We are really delighted you found your Loftus Hall experience absolutely brilliant. Thank you also for saying you would recommend the Loftus Hall tour to others. We really look forward to welcoming you back to Loftus Hall very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Halloween tour”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

It was the adult tour strictly over 21, so we expected to be scared out of our wits. When we arrived the recption and bar area was so bright very disappointing with not a ghost in sight. The Staff weren't dressed up. The acting was very poor . Now dont get me wrong the staff were nice and friendly but so much more could be done. First things first turn down the lights mabey lanterns would be a good start, a few cobwebs wouldnt go astray,creepy music the list goes on and on nothing that would cost that much. But overall we enjoyed it just a few tweeks and it would make a great night out instead of it been just ok.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank maryanne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftusLucifer, Review Responder at Loftus Hall, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Many thanks for your recent Trip Advisor review of Loftus Hall. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit, and we thank you for all your comments. We do actively utilise constructive customer feedback to continually improve our tours and services. We hope to welcome you back to Loftus Hall again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great and different experience”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

I recently visited Loftus Hall and took the tour. There are many old houses to visit in Ireland and many are marvellous, but the Loftus Hall tour was a completely different experience - and wonderfully done. I'm not going to say anymore because I don't want to spoil it for you - just go and enjoy!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank simonfinn5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftusLucifer, Review Responder at Loftus Hall, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Many thanks for your recent Trip Advisor Review of Loftus Hall. We are really delighted you enjoyed your experience at Loftus Hall, and thanks for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loftus Hall very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A laugh”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

It's worth going something to do but if your a buildings n history boff then prob not for u. We laughed from start to finish.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftusLucifer, Review Responder at Loftus Hall, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Many thanks for your recent Trip Advisor review of Loftus Hall. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to Loftus Hall soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loftus Hall also viewed

Fethard On Sea, County Wexford
Wexford, County Wexford
 
County Wexford, Province of Leinster
 

Been to Loftus Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing