We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our visit”
Review of Loftus Hall

Loftus Hall
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Hook Head
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit Loftus Hall and take a tour of this abandoned haunted house with a dark and trouble history. Let our tour guides take you through the ground floor on a 45 minute interactive tour where they will relate the grim and often gruesome history of Loftus Hall including it's notorious visitor. Full details of opening times and availability + online booking can be found on our website. Also available: Cafe Gift Shop Walled Gardens Bike Hire Wheelchair accessible Free Wi-Fi Parking Toilet facilities
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our visit”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic time, the house is still under renovation as u can see when u drive up so don't get the negative comments. Alan our guide was great with a good soh. Nice little cafe for tea ect. Little shop for trinkets. And we was given 2 euro for car park when we bought our tickets which I think r a good price. Will be back next time we r in Ireland. Xx

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftusLucifer, Review Responder at Loftus Hall, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you so much for your recent Trip Advisor review. We are delighted you found that your visit, and guide Alan, exceeded your expectations. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Loftus Hall during your next visit to Ireland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    139
    45
    29
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not as Good as General Tour”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had been at Loftus Hall last year on a "normal" tour with our young kids and were very impressed. We returned kidless for my wife's 40th for the over 21s tour. Unfortunately although the tour was good it was not actually as informative or, in fact, scary as the standard tour. I'm all in favour of drink to enhance the night but I thought it did little to add to the experience. We missed out on some of the more intriguing stories e.g. the nuns' deaths, the hands being chopped off etc at the expense of standing in a dark bedroom for 5 mins. Don't get me wrong I think the whole (standard) tour is brilliant and the guides, particularly Alan, are excellent but would miss the over 21s for the standard tour.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DMcC27b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftusLucifer, Review Responder at Loftus Hall, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Many thanks for your recent review, as posted on Trip Advisor. We are really pleased that you and your family found the family friendly tour impressive, and thank you so much for commending our daytime tour, and especially our guides. The main aim of our Legend Tour on a Saturday night is to concentrate on the main ghostly tale associated with Loftus Hall, focussing more on this story, than the other aspects of the house's history. We do take on board, and thank you for all your comments. Customer feedback is very important to us, and I can assure you we do take all comments in to account when we regularly review all our products. We hope to welcome you back to Loftus Hall again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“May 2014”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

What a disappointment, after reading the reviews and friends recommendations I was expecting a fantastic experience...the only scary thing was the price of the drinks, the reception we were given by the staff and oh!!! the cobweb!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Lowri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftusLucifer, Review Responder at Loftus Hall, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Loftus Hall on Trip Advisor. We would also hope and expect that your experience would be a positive one. It is very difficult to respond specifically to your comments, as you do not provide any detail as to the type of tour you were on, drink referred to etc. We do actively encourage our visitors to speak to a member of staff during their visit if they have any feedback, or there is anything we can do to improve our product and services. This also makes it possible for us to deal with any immediate concerns at the time, resulting in a more pleasing outcome for all concerned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“2nd visit”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

we absolutely love loftus having admired it from afar for nearly 15 yrs, last year we got to visit inside and as my previous review says we thought it was fantastic. Now to our return visit this year we still loved loftus and its story , we were still scared even though we knew what was coming but what we didn.t love was the scruffy appearance of the newly renovated areas. what has happened to the drive up and entrance to loftus,this empty room does loftus no favours.The cafe looks scruffy with the mess left by removing the tv screens from the walls and the moving of the food bar, we also did nt like the ticket booth and where it had been plonked. where are the signs outside to let visitors know thats its open and to entice visitors in through the doors. we spent nearly 100 euros on our visit but your food is way overpriced for the quality thats served we were a family of 5 and i was astounded at the cost and i,m not tight and stop letting people take crying kids on the tour as it spoils it for others(we actually had 3 on ours) i really do hope loftus keeps going but after our last visit l feel you.ve got a struggle on your hands and that would be sad

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank scarlets_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftusLucifer, Review Responder at Loftus Hall, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for posting your recent review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear you love the Loftus history and legend, and it was able to provide a scare the second time round. Below are responses to some of your other comments. Please note that we do actively encourage all visitors to speak to a member of staff at the time of their visit, if they have any feedback/ suggestions regarding our products and services. We find this approach is much more satisfactory for our guests and ourselves. The driveway up to Loftus Hall remains unchanged since we first opened. The only slight addition is the remains of our beautiful tree, that unfortunately came down in the St. Stephen's night storms. The entrance, we appreciate, is slightly minimalistic at the moment. We moved everything out to enable us to build on the porch, which was extremely necessary due to the often windy conditions we can get at certain times of the year on the Hook Peninsula. We will be installing some brand new features in this area, and the cafe area, over the next month or so. This will create a "visitors centre", housing new additional information points for our visitors. Thanks again for taking the time to submit your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent attraction”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I know Loftus Hall very well having visited many times years ago when it was a hotel/bar. It is very sad how it was allowed to drift into such disrepair over the years. Great to see that it has at last been opened to the public as an attraction.
It is a shame that it has to be presented as 'Ireland's most haunted house' as the house has so much more to offer that a horror attraction. Having said that I can appreciate the need to get customers through the door and the legend certainly does that! The guided tour combines both the history of the house along with the legend and is well worth the 9 euros entrance fee .
Staff were helpful and entertaining. Nice to see the renovations that have been carried out so far and hopefully will continue.
Not to be missed - but be prepared!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cockneyjohn504022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftusLucifer, Review Responder at Loftus Hall, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Many thanks for your recent Trip Advisor review. We are really pleased you thought our tour well worth the €9, and we very much appreciate you taking the time to compliment our staff as being helpful and entertaining. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loftus Hall very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loftus Hall also viewed

Fethard On Sea, County Wexford
Wexford, County Wexford
 
County Wexford, Province of Leinster
 

Been to Loftus Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing