We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excelent personnel”
Review of Loftus Hall

Loftus Hall
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Hook Head
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit Loftus Hall and take a tour of this abandoned haunted house with a dark and trouble history. Let our tour guides take you through the ground floor on a 45 minute interactive tour where they will relate the grim and often gruesome history of Loftus Hall including it's notorious visitor. Full details of opening times and availability + online booking can be found on our website. Also available: Cafe Gift Shop Walled Gardens Bike Hire Wheelchair accessible Free Wi-Fi Parking Toilet facilities
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We did the night tour of the house and, though we didn't find it scary, it was very interesting. Well, I say we didn't find it scary, but we still wouldn't have wanted to stay there alone at night.

During the tour you get taken around the dark house in a big group, while the guide tells you the fictional and real story. The fictional part of the story accompanied by banging doors, is more comical than scary, but when the real part of story starts, it gets really creepy.

I read other posts saying that the house is not well maintained, but I disagree. After reading the posts, I expected to find leaking ceilings and rotten floors, but the floor we visited, was well maintained. There was some damaged wall paper here and there, but I think it was purposely left so to emphasize the hunted effect. The staircase looked greatly preserved and very impressive.

Furthermore, the personnel was great! We got there 20 minutes late, after getting lost and they was very nice about it. The girl at the reception called the guide to ask him, if we could join the tour despite the delay and he instead suggested we get the next tour, so as not to miss any of the tour. Very generous of him! While we were waiting, we sat at the restaurant, which is serving tapas. The food was reasonably priced and everything we got was tasty.

If you have time, get there earlier. Although there are no gardens, the view is grand!

1  Thank MyrEle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftusLucifer, Review Responder at Loftus Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you very much for your recent Trip Advisor review of Loftus Hall. We are really delighted you enjoyed your visit to Loftus Hall, and found our staff accommodating. We are also pleased that you enjoyed your "Legend" tour, and that circumstances gave you the opportunity to try our Tapas too. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loftus Hall again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"haunted house"
in 50 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 78 reviews
"the ground floor"
in 23 reviews
"ghost stories"
in 15 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 47 reviews
"old house"
in 16 reviews
"great tour"
in 29 reviews
"great fun"
in 29 reviews
"interesting history"
in 17 reviews
"open to the public"
in 10 reviews
"young kids"
in 11 reviews
"hook peninsula"
in 17 reviews
"rainy day"
in 8 reviews
"coffee shop"
in 14 reviews
"private beach"
in 7 reviews
"house tour"
in 11 reviews
"night tour"
in 14 reviews
Filter

459 - 463 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Went there with the kids for the 1 hour trip. The Tour guide was very good and very knowledgeable about the history of the house. Didn't find it scary just a very interesting place to visit!! The kids loved it and the re-enactment was fantastic. Go, Go, Go, you won't regret it!

2  Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftusLucifer, Review Responder at Loftus Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thanks so much for you recently posted Trip Advisor review of Loftus Hall. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit, the kids loved it, and thanks for recommending a visit to Loftus Hall to others. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Decided to get the ferry from Waterford over the Hook Head for the day and on seeing the signs for Lotus Hall (the most Haunted House in Ireland!) we thought it may be worth a quick look. The building is in a state of disrepair but is atmospheric even as you drive up. We decided to do the tour and were asked to wait for the next available one in 45 minutes (but bear in mind this was the summer holidays and very busy so not a long wait at all relatively). Whilst waiting, the surrounding scenery and nearby rocky beach were pretty stunning to explore and the cafe (where we had a coffee after) is decent. Finally the tour began and completely exceeded my expectations. A bit of history behind the building followed by a lot of spooky goings on, dark rooms and sudden bangs. As an adult myself the tour guide managed to make me jump a few times I'll admit freely (and by 'a few' read at least half a dozen). The two children in our party were aged 12 and 7 and the 12 year old was in his element whilst the 7 year old was a little nervous with his heart beating like the clappers! (but he went into every room which you're free not to if you don't worry). Overall I thought the place was brilliant and a great attraction for the area, with our tour guide (who said she was new) really entertaining. Reports from other families where we were staying who had been were universally good so wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

1  Thank JReading156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftusLucifer, Review Responder at Loftus Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Many thanks for your recently posted Trip Advisor review of Loftus Hall. We are delighted you found the local scenery and beach stunning. We are also extremely pleased that the tour itself exceeded your expectations. Thank you so much for recommending Loftus Hall to others, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

An interesting day spent touring this beautiful property. The ghost stories (and slamming doors to make you jump along the way) were all in good humour, good for all age groups. The tour guide was informative of the history of the house along the way. I hope the owners intend on using the monetary gains for the tours to renovate this beautiful property and attempt to restore it to it's former glory. We only saw several rooms on the tour but I imagine there are still some amazing original features to see and more importantly to salvage and restore. ( Thankfully no one tapped me on the shoulder whilst in there!!)
Worth the fee and a great couple of hours to spend with the children and café facilities allow families to relax before hitting the road again.

2  Thank Cassie-Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftusLucifer, Review Responder at Loftus Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your recently posted Trip Advisor review of Loftus Hall. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Loftus Hall, finding the house itself beautiful, the tour informative and worthwhile, and the cafe relaxing. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loftus Hall again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Don't go here expecting to see lovely gardens, the gardens are in a state of disrepair at the moment. The house is also not maintained but this adds to the tour. The tour guide did a great job of engaging a very large group. It was a bit challenging for her with the high number of small children on our tour. It's advertised as family friendly, but not really well suited to small children when you are going into dark areas.
The story told is very interesting, whether it's true or not.

Thank Howletts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftusLucifer, Review Responder at Loftus Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your recently posted review of Loftus Hall on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased you found the stories connected with Loftus Hall interesting, and your guide engaging. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loftus a Hall again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loftus Hall also viewed

Fethard On Sea, County Wexford
Wexford, County Wexford
 
County Wexford, Province of Leinster
 

Been to Loftus Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing