We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ssshhh don't tell anyone!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holditch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crafty Camping & The Woodland Workshop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just returned from 3 nights staying in Twybil the bell tent - it was a brilliant place of relaxation and birdsong. Inside Twybil is a kingsized bed, burning stove, heated towel rail and electric blanket - real luxury! Although there are other visitors staying in the woods it is totally private unless you choose to socialise in the open air kitchen or communal yurt. The hot open air shower is total bliss. Lots of see and do in the area, it is a fabulous place to get away from it all. We would highly recommend staying here but secretly would like to think of Twybil as our own personal, wonderful retreat!

Room Tip: Twybil is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebe2627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed in Bodger the shepherds hut during the summer in 2013. It was brilliant in every way, cosy bed and woodburner to snuggle up to (although we stayed during the hot spell and didn't need any heat), a decked area with firepit/bbq and a hammock all surrounded by woodland. There are several yurts within the woods, but they are each approached by their own wooden walkway and are set in their own private area. We had a separate hut with our shower, sink and toilet and loved the fact that when in the shower you look up into the trees! A communal dining area is a great idea to save you having to bring all the utensils with you and a nice way to meet others staying on the site. We hope to be going back again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I booked this weekend away after seeing it online and wanting to do something different for our anniversary. I was blown away by what an amazing weekend we had and definitely didn't want to go home. We stayed in the bell tent "Fipple" and it did not disappoint. The whole site is made for total relaxation. There are seven different yurts/bell tents (and a tipi) in the site and each tent is far away enough from the next tent to not even see anyone else if you don't want to. Inside our tent we had a king sized bed, towel heater, log burner (which heated the tent beautifully!), electric blankets (which were invaluable!) and obviously enough electricity sockets for anything else you need. It was exactly what we wanted and more. Everything you need is on site (charcoal, logs, cider etc) and you just pay for what you have taken at the end. The tree showers are so amazing! I have never experienced anything quite like it and I loved it. We even saw deer in the woods right by our tent! The communal kitchen has everything needed to make yourself whatever you desire. This really was one of the best weekends away I have ever experienced and I would definitely recommend anybody wanting a relaxing weekend away to stay here. You're also not too far away from the coast, we spent a good day exploring the Dorset coasts and seaside towns. The owner, Guy, is so personable and lovely, they really do just leave you to enjoy it all yourself. Definitely recommended and I do hope to stay again soon.

Room Tip: Fipple is the furthest tent into the woods and the furthest away from the shared (bell tent) toilets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I have just come back from a two night trip with my boyfriend (a surprise for his birthday) and have had the most amazing trip. Placing 'Bodkin' under the tent category is a grand understatement...what you really get is a beautiful hideaway secluded in the forest with a kingsized bed, heating, a log fire, reindeer skins and working electricity...oh, and the heated towel rail to keep the towels warm for an early morning open shower (with complimentary teatree shampoo, conditoner and shower gel) and sauna.
We just wish we could have stayed longer, and will certainly be booking again very soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelmarygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Bodgers Hut was beyond perfect, just the escape that was needed. The accommodation facilities were clean and wonderfully designed. The outside shower was a particular highlight! We were always warm in the hut, the log burner certainly kept us cosy.

The staff were friendly, but mainly kept out of the way for us to enjoy our break. Dudley the dog, was adorable and often paid us a visit (usually when he could smell food)!

On our first night we sat out on our decking and enjoyed another guest playing his guitar by the lake. It was just the solitude we were looking for.

There is so much to explore here and we would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a retreat for the weekend. We would love to go back.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Fabulously86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed in the Poppet yurt for three nights. The campsite was so beautiful and remote. The kitchen facilities were excellent and really did remind me of camping in Africa (apart from the weather!), I only wished we were staying longer.

The stay was a lovely escape for the two of us and was very romantic with the wood stove and remoteness but at the same time I can imagine coming back with groups of friends as the communal areas such as the kitchen are amazing.

Guy the owner was very helpful and had already started the wood stove so our yurt was nice & warm on arrival. We'd definitely like to come back and do one of the carving courses.

I would definitely recommend to anyone looking to get away from it all!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My girlfriend and I decided on a Annivery wintertime trip out of London and thought 'Glamping' was a good option...we were so right on and lucky to stumble over Crafty Camping.

The site that Guy and his team has put together is truely enchanting and being out of season it was pretty much our own to enjoy. The comforts supplied made doing it Novmenber no issue, infact I preffered the intermacy we had with the crowds away. Heated outdoor showers, electric blankets on the bed, wood burners everywhere and facilities including games rooms, saunas, workshop tents and an amazing kitchen with pizza oven all made this something alittle more special than your avergae camp or even hotel visit.

Amazing times in the pieceful wooded glen highly recommended. A big thankyou to Guy for making us feel so welcome and providing everything we could need or want. 5 star!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank nelsonnelson117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Crafty Camping & The Woodland Workshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crafty Camping & The Woodland Workshop

Address: Woodland Workshop | Yonder Hill, Holditch TA20 4NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Holditch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Holditch
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury treehouse and luxury glamping for grown ups only ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing