We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Judge Book by Cover”
Review of India's Restaurant

India's Restaurant
Ranked #66 of 495 Restaurants in Shreveport
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
234 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Don't Judge Book by Cover”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The location and outside appearance give the impression of a total dive. The menu and food scream otherwise. This place has a very extensive menu.

My dinner started with the assorted bread basket which gave a good cross section of nan, kulcha, and roti. All excellent but the garlic nan and onion kulcha stood out. Best dipped in the plum sauce.

Entree was shrimp do pyaza which was shrimp, bell pepper, onion, tomato in curry spice sauce over rice. Very good. The mild option gave a pleasant burn without watery eyes and/or nose. Dinner date had chicken tikka masala which came in a tomato and herb cream sauce over rice. Again, mild option was just right.

Drinks were Taj Mahal beers that fit the meal perfectly. Each beer bottle is the equivalent of 2 beers.

Will be coming back in the future to try the rest of the menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    25
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We were visiting Shreveport from Cali and totally loved the food. We were very skeptical when we entered the location, but the food was awesome. The food was totally delicious and the spices were excellent. Don't let the decor hinder your judgement of food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kewalneela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very enjoyable”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Rice, pakora, nan, and aloo gobhi were all excellent. Service from Terry was exemplary. Very glad to have found this place as we travelled across the country. We'll definitely return if we take the same route back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobh, Ireland
1 review
“Always will be, always has been my absolute favorite!”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

My father knew the owenrs a long time ago when I was younger, so I was brought here a lot. I remember the lady teaching me some words in her native language and she even offered to host my babyshower when I was pregnant. Ive been out of the country a while now and understand its under new managment. Im not sure the story, and would like to know, but I went there again with my husband and AGAIN I was completly impressed. The new manager is doinga fabulous job carrying on this tradition and I was very impressed. Thank you so much for keeping it special for me and God bless!! Try the coffee!!! BEST EVER! and the lamb saag mmmm !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice little Indian place”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Yelp gave it rave reviews so I thought I'd try it out. It's in a shady shopping center, but those are usually the best places. I had the Chicken Tikka Masala(sp) and Garlic Naan. I was a bit dissapointed they didn't have a dinner buffet, but I knew that going in. The portion size was a bit small for the price, but it tasted great and came out with just the right amount of spice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank FlyRugbyDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed India's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to India's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing