We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is what it is.”
Review of Merryton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Merryton Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Shreveport B&B and Inns
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It is what it is.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is beat up. No blankets. Holes in the wall. Parties going on at night. Musty smell. Carpets 100 years old. But I can't expect much from a dive hotel. If the hotels are all booked and u are exhausted. Then stay here but don't think u will get a 5 star place.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    0
    2
    3
    33
See reviews for
13
6
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I booked with hotels.com but the room I wanted sold out so they recommended this next. Pictures online looked nice but that's just online. I booked for 2 days after the janky elevator, urine filled hallways, and nasty room I knew I could not stay another night. I asked for a refund from overnight staff and she told me they did not have one, but since I was not satisfied she would give me 1/2. I got a copy of my receipt which showed she refunded the whole amount. She did not. The manager did not want to refund me since the business day had passed...uhhh im from out of town lady! Not very honest and not worth money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shreveport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Rude employees, cheating people out of money ,bad customer service ,has roachs in the food ,trash all over the hotel, sticky floors disgusting rooms I would never come here again want to speak with the man or woman who's over this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shemeliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here on April 25, 2014... Smelled horrible... elevator almost got stuck going up... and to top it off they have roaches... I have a son who us extremely allergic... and since has broken out from that nasty infested place... And the staff was no better...Wouldn't recommend a rat to stay there...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D'Andre'e J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I checked into the merryton inn March 7 and got my money back as soon as I seen the room. The hotel looks nice from the outside but inside its nasty.the hotel hasa so called run dodown club in it the elelevator was dirty, rooms was dirty and as soon as you open the hotel room door all we seen was roaches I wouldn't advise anybody to stay There, I would not even want my worst enemy staying there just terrible

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank free2givs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

my husband and I stayed here at this so called motel ... the worst stay I have ever had. The staff is the rudest and laziest people I have ever met . I had to make my own bed sweep my own floor and track down my own towels and toilet paper. The maid staff always had a bad attitude when u asked for something, they also never came in my room and cleaned . The maintenance guy didn't know what he was doing. The toilet was always clogged, there are roaches in the rooms, I could go on and on about this building called a hotel ... I recommend to never stay here at this so called hotel doesn't even deserve the terrible rating because its worst than that .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joelle_edwards89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Ok..I did stay 1 night and paid $41.80 the bed was clean and comfy.Room had microwave that wasn't clean.Refrigerator was clean..I did see 1 roach in the bathroom.No carpet in the room..Air conditioner worked but was old.Old TV...The breakfast I didn't trust it looked like some kind of slop in a can..The pictures on the website look good but check the room first before paying..I did the pre-check it passed for 1 night only..Don't go to this hotel..Shady looking people all around inside and outside...Lots of girls with hardly any cloths on going in and out..The room had an odor to it like mold.You can smell the cigarette smoke from all the rooms in the area...If you are just traveling thru going west on I-20,then go to Marshall,Texas for better hotels and cheaper...Watch out for the beggers around this hotel,they all have a story..

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel..Dangerous and not clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shreveport hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Shreveport Airport
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#14 of 37 in Shreveport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
#10 of 37 in Shreveport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shreveport West
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn
Best Western Plus Airport Inn
#11 of 37 in Shreveport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.4 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Shreveport Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merryton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merryton Inn

Property: Merryton Inn
Address: 5204 Monkhouse Dr, Shreveport, LA 71109-6512
Region: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Merryton Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the Shreveport airport, we are your home away from home. Our hotel offers a variety of amenities, including a continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and an eight-foot deep seasonal pool. With our different room sizes, single, double, suites and jacuzzi suites, you are sure to find the right fit for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Merryton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing