We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place for a getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Shreveport
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The buffett was nice. William B's Steakhouse was very nice. If you want a place with quiet surrounds that is a nice place for a wonderful dinning experience with your partner. The hotel rooms were nice. We seem to have had an aircondition issue, but that often happens in large older hotels. The Casino was nice. I am saying it was nice because I got to play for a long while on $50.00. The slots are my choice of fun and this was a nice place to have fun. My husband plays card and he left happy. I'd say this is a place I would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
There are newer reviews for Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2012

This was our 4th stop on a two week trip, the staff welcomed us in and our room was great. The beds were comfoortable. If there was one drawback it was the lack of free wi-fi, also there was a charge to use the hotel computer. Other that that is was fun to stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t5603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I stayed there alone one night just to have a getaway night. The room was beautiful, the beds comfortable & a beautiful view. They have the best slots in Shreveport/Bossier & being alone I had no safety concerns. I am ready to go again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Unquestionably our favorite fun and vacation place. First and foremost for me is the wonderful and various array of new slot machines. Next on our list is Sam's courteous, knowledgeable and helpful staff. I could go on but it is enough to say that we are so pleased with Sam's leaving no need to go anywhere else! Our host Ms. Z. Alexander is fantastic - she even stops by the tables to wish you luck - great customer service. Thanks!

Room Tip: Lake view is nice
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We were driving between Nashville and Houston, and needed a room for the night. The room was large, clean and comfortable. No mini-fridge however. Valet parking is complementary. No free WIFI which is a bit backward.
The casino was fun for those who wanted to go, but not the main purpose of the stay. Restaurants are very ordinary.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Walrus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

When we arrived at Sam's Town the valet was tips only. Allowing the patron to tip as I go in and out. Self Parking was conveniently across the street.
My expectations were surpassed when we got to the room. We stayed on the 16th floor with a river view. It was amazing ( there is some construction going on across the river) but you could also see Board Walk shopping area.
Our rooms was so spacious and I loved the spotlights about the bed. A great luxury feel. The bathroom was average but provided enough room and space for use to be in there together and move around. Oh, and there is a garden tub.
The food places in there are a little expensive. I didn't enjoy the buffet as much, and they only offer the seafood deal on weekends ( but that is most hotels)

The Spa personnel was great and the body scrub was awesome. The Spa quarters were slightly above average.

Casino just down stairs as well!

All and all I loved this hotel and would recommended it! I hope you find this review helpful.

Room Tip: River View on a high floor 16th or better.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sassi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed here for a night for my wife's birthday, and we enjoyed the room, the hotel staff, and the food options. While I feel like we paid too much, that didn't take away from the quality of the hotel. We don't gamble, so we can't speak on the casino other than that it lacked tables offering small minimum bets. We would have been more prone to play a few hands if there were blackjack tables requiring less than a $10 minimum bet, but again, we didn't go there for the casino so it was no big deal. We did enjoy the restaurants - perhaps too much (reminded me of a good cruise buffet) - and the hotel staff was very accommodating and helpful. It was overpriced at $140 (for a casino and a town like Shreveport), but on the weekend we were there that was the going rate, so that's what we paid. I'd recommend staying there and would possibly stay there again, but I'd try to pick a weekend when rooms are cheaper.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArkansasExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shreveport
0.5 mi away
Horseshoe Bossier City
Horseshoe Bossier City
#5 of 35 in Bossier City
4,971 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Shreveport
Hilton Shreveport
#1 of 37 in Shreveport
1,041 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Boomtown Hotel Casino
Boomtown Hotel Casino
#15 of 35 in Bossier City
235 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
#10 of 37 in Shreveport
649 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites I-20
Sleep Inn & Suites I-20
#7 of 37 in Shreveport
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport

Address: 315 Clyde Fant Pkwy, Shreveport, LA 71101-3204 (Formerly Harrah's Shreveport Casino and Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Shreveport
#9 Romantic Hotel in Shreveport
Price Range: £56 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam's Town Shreveport is located on the historic Red River in downtown Shreveport, just blocks away from museums, botanical gardens, an I-Max Theater and many other local attractions. Guests can enjoy all their favorite casino games at Sam's Town on an authentic dockside riverboat, a 19th century paddlewheel featuring approximately 1,200 slots, gaming machines and table games. The sleek 23-story hotel tower includes more than 500 luxurious guest rooms and suites featuring pillow-top mattresses, feather pillows, marbled floors, granite countertops and oversized tubs. The top floor houses multi-room suites, ranging in size from 1,000 to 1,500 square feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sams Town Shreveport
Sams Town Louisiana
Sams Town Hotel Shreveport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing