We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rooms, Great Service & Sweet Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sam's Town Hotel & Casino, Shreveport
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Shreveport
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I was pleasantly surprised to enter the rooms in this hotel. I figured it was a family sort of hotel (Akin to Circus Circus) but the rooms are elegant and well thought out. In fact one of the nicest rooms I've ever been in. The booking was easy, the check in and out was smooth and the only thing the room lacked was great coffee and high speed internet (It was present but NOT high speed). The on-site restaurant was really good with excellent service; again, only lacked great coffee. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is the casino is small and dated. The slots aren't even moderate givers and the minimum bets were pretty high. Not a lot of fun.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ereves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 921 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Room was large, clean, quiet,
and a good value. The carpet was a bit worn, but ok. The real problem was service: extremely slow valet parking and room service that would not answer the phone. Management was apologetic and gave me a comp for a free breakfast, for which I am grateful, but that does not solve the issue. I stayed there a couple of months ago and had the exact same problems. Perhaps these two departments are understaffed, or if not, then merely inattentive. This should be corrected.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Twolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We decided to sneak away to celebrate my birthday. We'd never been to Shreveport but had heard great things about Sam's Town. I did not expect this would become my new favorite hang-out! The drive was about 5 hours and we got there around 1:00 in the afternoon. Expected to have to wait for a room BUT, Jody at the front desk found us a room and we were able to unload immediately. And the good things just kept coming. The casino was where we went first and had a great time. Won enough to pay for the whole trip! So of course I had to go to the spa. The spa was really nice. Great line of treatments. Other spa amenities available for 24 hours. Very comfortable and relaxing. We had a regular King room and it was perfect. The room was large, the bathroom large and the bed was just as good as mine at home, and I have a very nice bed. food - Willie B's Steak Restaurant was over the top. Hubby had a huge T-bone and I had the red snapper. Delicious meal and the service was great. The food court had everything to offer that we love - comfort food. We pretty much stayed in the hotel for 3 days. No reason to leave. But my favorite part was how nice and friendly everyone was. Everyone working at this hotel and casino - friendly as could be. Made for a very enjoyable weekend. I can't wait to go back. My husband is a hard-sell when it comes to this but on our drive home he told me his views and all were great! He's the gambler and there was something for him to do the whole time. Saturday night was a little crowded at some of the tables, but he was always able to find something. I recommend this place to anyone wanting this type of vacation.

Room Tip: We were very happy with the regular king. Large room with sitting area, bathroom large, toilet sepa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

The room looked nice, but the bed was a bit too firm, and the bathroom, while very spatious, was just average.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The room is spacious with a beautiful view on Shreveport with a big bathroom, flat screen TV, fridge, safe, aso. The weakness is the restaurants inside the hotel with poor quality food or expensive. The casino is nothing exceptional either.
But it is still a sure value for the price (Deluxe room for 70 $).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thierry-hirtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are not big gamblers, but enjoy playing the slots a little. We've only been to Vegas for the NFR. We decided to sneak away for a couple of days last June and asked our daughter to find us a room at one of the Sheveport/Bossier City hotels online. We ended up at Sam's Town and we are so glad. The rooms were spacious and nice with a wonderful bathroom. The valet, bell staff, and front desk staff were friendly and efficient. The buffet, restaurant and deli were good. The casino was also fun - and generous! It's nice being able to step outside onto the deck and enjoy the river. We joined their players club and before we knew it, the comp emails came with extremely generous offers to stay, dine and play. We've already taken advantage of one offer in September and can't wait to schedule another get-away!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MelindaMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The place is rundown and the quality of the air in the Casino is almost unbreathable. The place is dirty and seem to me to be just a bit darkly lit. It seems crowded and poorly laid out. Now the buffet is another story. My wife likes to go there for the seafood nights when they have the king crabs on the menu. She says they are something special, and I must agree.

1  Thank Johnnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shreveport
0.5 mi away
Horseshoe Bossier City
Horseshoe Bossier City
#3 of 35 in Bossier City
5,469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Shreveport
Hilton Shreveport
#1 of 38 in Shreveport
1,100 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Boomtown Hotel Casino
Boomtown Hotel Casino
#15 of 35 in Bossier City
245 reviews
8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
#11 of 38 in Shreveport
679 reviews
7.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Shreveport
Homewood Suites Shreveport
#5 of 38 in Shreveport
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam's Town Hotel & Casino, Shreveport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Town Hotel & Casino, Shreveport

Address: 315 Clyde Fant Pkwy, Shreveport, LA 71101-3204 (Formerly Harrah's Shreveport Casino and Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Shreveport
#9 Romantic Hotel in Shreveport
Price Range: £49 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sam's Town Hotel & Casino, Shreveport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam's Town Shreveport is located on the historic Red River in downtown Shreveport, just blocks away from museums, botanical gardens, an I-Max Theater and many other local attractions. Guests can enjoy all their favorite casino games at Sam's Town on an authentic dockside riverboat, a 19th-century paddlewheel featuring approximately 1,200 slots, gaming machines and table games. The sleek 23-story hotel tower includes more than 500 luxurious guest rooms and suites featuring pillow-top mattresses, feather pillows, marbled floors, granite countertops and oversized tubs. The top floor houses multi-room suites, ranging in size from 1,000 to 1,500 square feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sam's Town Hotel & Casino, Shreveport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sams Town Shreveport
Sams Town Louisiana
Sams Town Hotel Shreveport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing