We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casino Small-Smoky-Tight Slots Compared to the new Margaritaville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Shreveport
Plano, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Casino Small-Smoky-Tight Slots Compared to the new Margaritaville”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Casino is really bad compared to the new Margaritaville and the remodeled Horseshoe or Eldorado. I am so shocked that the Casino is still so small and smoky and people still want to go here. The slots let you play a little as long as you keep your bet at the minimum; but the minute you raise your bet the machines shut down. I guess they only want the penny players here. I like to play the penny slots, but at the $1.50 to $3.00 per spin and that’s the amount they shut down and you get no play for your money. They really need to upgrade their Casino drastically and add escalators and a larger gaming area where you don’t get knocked in the head every time you move; and, you forget about getting a drink, they seem to hang around the table game people on the middle floor only. I use to love going to Sams Town, but they have pretty much lost my business to Margaritaville and Horseshoe due to their Casino is so little, smoky, tight slots and little to no drink service at Sams Town. The rooms were remodeled a few years back and they are very nice with large windows with a great view; but they aren’t cleaned very well and if you stay on one of the end rooms by the street all’s you hear is horns honking and traffic all hours of the night. I had used the valet and I know if you’re an Emerald Card holder you get faster service and they give you one of the green valet tickets. I used to be an Emerald Member, but found the services are not worth the extra hard play to stay at that level and find the Diamond Level at Horseshoe “Caesars Prosperities” were worth more and actually get you better comps. Anyway, I gave them my valet ticket and stood there over 20 minutes waiting on my car and notice that a person that had a white regular ticket the same as I did got there after us, yet they got their car 10 minutes before we did. When that person came down and gave his ticket the person seemed to know him very well and I am sure he got preference over us because the valet knew him. I haven’t stayed here in a long time and wanted to see if they had upgraded their Casino and loosened their slots a little with all the new competition now, but no, it was just as bad as it was the last time I was there and the Casino clientele to me has even gone downhill in my opinion. Smokey Joe’s used to have pretty good service, but the servers are too busy standing around talking to each other or hanging around tables where they know the person talking all night to get good service here; and, I don’t even really go into how slow and how bad the service is at the little deli…it was really horrible. I ordered room service that morning and it took over an hour to get my food, the person said if I had placed the order with the door hanger I would have gotten it in better time; I told them I didn't have one of those door hangers. I felt the person was very rude. I won't do that again.

Room Tip: Don't use Valet, way too slow. Best play at a Casino where they like the higher slots dollar pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPetro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Manager at Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you so much for your candid feedback regarding your most recent stay. this information is extremely important because it allows to react swiftly to any breakdows that have occured at our property. As you mentioned we have and for purposes of our Penny Lane promotion, we have recently added a number of exciting penny slots for our customers enjoyment. Also we absolutely have services that are catered to our Emerald players, based on our tier levels.

We would hope that you give us another chance so we can provide the level of service that I know we are capable of providing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    223
    111
    67
    32
See reviews for
120
284
41
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night passing through to Dallas. We were very pleased with the rooms. They are quite large and very modern. Bathroom was very spacious and well layed out. Beds were very comfortable. Only complaint would be their ac must be on a motion sensor as we woke up hot a couple times. Have noticed several hotels using this system. Other than that it was a great stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conifer, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by our stay at Sam's Town Shreveport. We have stayed at the Vegas one many times and weren't sure what to expect. When we arrived, they informed us that we would be in a smoking room even though we reserved a non-smoking king. We told them that wouldn't work for us. The manager upgraded us into a very nicely appointed premiere king room. We had a lovely view of the Red River and the Shreveport landscape. We appreciate the manager handling the situation so professionally. Nice people ~ bell captains were delightful and so wasn't the front desk girl. We slept great which is exactly what we needed after driving for 13 hours. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room on higher floors ~ we were on the 18th ~ quiet and just a nice experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

booked a room sort of last minute and got a really good deal. when we checked in they were out of non-smoking king bed rooms so they ended up putting us in a king suite for the same deal! room was what I would have expected from a suite, a huge, clean, top notch room in very clean and tidy condition. had diner at smokey joes restaurant and was not disappointed. really the only knock I had was that the casino is sort of small with not a lot to choose from as far as slot machines go. but they managed to wrangle a few bucks out of me. overall this was a really good stay for a really good price!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Sam's Town Hotel has renovated rooms since we last visited. The rooms are fresher, and the new furniture is nice. Reservations were fast and easy to make, check-in went quickly and smoothly, and we were even able to check in 2 hours ahead of regular check in time. The new bedding is comfy, the larger tv's are nice and the in-room fridge was ice cold. We enjoyed our visit and will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LGenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Sam's Town room's are nice and large enough to have a "roll away" added and still have plenty of room for the guests in the room. We did not have any issues during our overnight stay. We self parked and handled our own luggage. No issues with check in or room. We normally stay at Sam's Town and get comps. The dealers are nice and the casino has a "friendly" atmosphere.

Room Tip: Suggest you check with the hotel and the online rates. This trip, the online rates were were better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 129thecatsmeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hotel room and accomodations are very nice, however the service from valet to check in is questionable. It is like no one wants to be at their job. The ONLY ones who even showed enthusiasm were the bellmen. This establishment really needs to look at their employees and evaluate their level of service. I will say this even goes to the Casino, MOST did not want to help serve and for goodness sakes do not interrupt their conversations with other coworkers.

This does not apply to all, but most of the employees. There were a few who cared and appreciated your tip.

Room Tip: all rooms are good view of the river I(brown) is not that appealing, but who is there to look out th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shreveport
0.5 mi away
Horseshoe Bossier City
Horseshoe Bossier City
#6 of 35 in Bossier City
4,667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Shreveport
Hilton Shreveport
#1 of 37 in Shreveport
1,007 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Boomtown Hotel Casino
Boomtown Hotel Casino
#15 of 35 in Bossier City
230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Shreveport-Bossier City/Downtown
8.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
#10 of 37 in Shreveport
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport

Property: Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport
Address: 315 Clyde Fant Pkwy, Shreveport, LA 71101-3204 (Formerly Harrah's Shreveport Casino and Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Shreveport
#9 Romantic Hotel in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam's Town Shreveport is located on the historic Red River in downtown Shreveport, just blocks away from museums, botanical gardens, an I-Max Theater and many other local attractions. Guests can enjoy all their favorite casino games at Sam's Town on an authentic dockside riverboat, a 19th century paddlewheel featuring approximately 1,200 slots, gaming machines and table games. The sleek 23-story hotel tower includes more than 500 luxurious guest rooms and suites featuring pillow-top mattresses, feather pillows, marbled floors, granite countertops and oversized tubs. The top floor houses multi-room suites, ranging in size from 1,000 to 1,500 square feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sams Town Shreveport
Sams Town Louisiana
Sams Town Hotel Shreveport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing