We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Shreveport
Leesville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok Trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

July 31-Aug 2,We got here on Thursday evening,the room very nice and spacious,the staff very friendly and welcoming,the bathroom in the room,could have been cleaned more thoroughly the casino is so so,we played a lot lost a lot,we ventured out to other casinos in the area,the buffet left a lot to be desired,smokey joes awful,the Java cafe was ok,housekeeping can do a little better,

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bayoubella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Manager at Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
I would like to thank you for the feedback that you provided regarding your most recent visit. We value this information because it helps us to better serve you and assists us in making your overall visit to our property an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Please know that our culinary staff is constantly working to improve and also update the products in each outlet in order to meet our customers’ high expectations. Your candid feedback has already been passed on to our Management Team so the additional issues you mentioned can be addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    214
    108
    62
    32
See reviews for
113
272
38
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have stayed at this Casino Hotel for several years. My current stay has moved me to post a review.
The hotel rooms get high marks. They are spacious, clean, and very comfortable. They are a value for the prices charged. Bedding is excellent. The only negartive in the rooms is the internet service. The wif-fi here VERY inconsistant. I have had to re-connect to the service several times per evening. The speed is also inconsistent, very slow at times.
The lows at this casino hotel are the International Buffet, and the Casino itself.
The buffet has dropped in quality dramatically from what it used to offer. The food does not look appetizing, and the taste often confirms the appearance. Even the selection of dishes has diminished. I suggest a walk next door to the buffet at the Eldorado Hotel. It costs a little more, but you get your money's worth.
The second low is the casino. It looks old and tired. The employees are pleasant enough. The casino could use some re-freshening and some excitement.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teeville51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Manager at Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
I would like to thank you for the honest feedback that you provided regarding your most recent visit. We value this information because it helps us to better serve you and assists us in making your overall visit to our property an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Please know that we are constantly updating all facets of our services and products to meet our customers’ high expectations. This candid feedback has already been passed on to our Hotel Management Team so these issues can be addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
648 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at the Sam's Town Hotel & Casino on our way home from a 48 day West trip. The hotel was very nice. Awkward to the elevators that took us to the guest rooms. It took quite awhile to check in...not sure what their problem was.
The casino is attached but is compact and on 3 levels and is confusing to get to each level or at least finding the elevator that tood forever to move. Other option was the stairs and we are senior's so that didn't happen too often.

Our room was large and very clean and for a good price but overall the casino was average but I don't think I would stay there, again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesteevesgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We visited Sam's Town in Shreveport, LA as a stopover on our way home from New Orleans. Our room was fantastic. It was very spacious with a good view of the Red River. I never made it to the casino, so I can't review that, but the burger place was excellent if maybe a little slow on service. All in all a very good value.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kvanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Neat elevators view up cool buffet food selection 25 bucks a pop tho:( 3 ppl average eaters 75 bucks craps tables had good luck rooms beautiful view of the river and margaritaville building looking across looked enticing drove there won 500 bucks in 45 mins in craps n keno went back to sams town lost it lol will be back but will stay at margaritaville for win rate

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baggerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just stayed at Sam ' Town Casino Hotel at Shreveport Louisiana for a couple days, I was quite impressed how comfortable the room was. We stayed on the top floor as many of you suggested. We had an even room number, so we could see the Red River view from our room window. The room was very clean and staff was very helpful. They sure try their best to make the guests happy. Hope to go back there again soon. Thank you Sam ' Town.

Room Tip: Take the top floors of an even number so you could looking at the Red River view from the room windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank videopokerplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We recently stayed at Sam's Town in Shreveport to celebrate my husband's 35th birthday. The hotel was decent but we will definitely stay somewhere else for our next trip. Check-in was smooth however not a single employee cracked a smile or welcomed us to the hotel, instead we felt like we were interrupting their chat time. It went fast and we quickly got our room which was beautiful and had been updated since our previous visit several years ago. We were in a standard king bed room with a view of the new Margaritaville hotel. The bed was fine, the AC stayed cold, the mini fridge worked well, there were plenty of outlets, etc. Our main complaint about the room was the bathroom, it wasn’t anywhere near as nice as the bedroom and felt old and dirty. The toilet seat was broken, the plumbing access panel above the vanity was rusted and moldy, the door for the toilet closet was dirty with some type of brown splatter up at the top and the shower/tub didn’t drain well and had a horrendous smell because of it. I didn’t want to use the bathroom in this bathroom much less take a shower.

We visited the casino after check-in and forgot how tiny it was so we quickly walked next door to El Dorado where there was more room and tables to pick from. We only ate at Sam’s Town once and that was through room service. They stop room service at 11:00 but be forewarned if you call anytime around 10:30 they will try their hardest to talk you out of ordering. The young man taking orders on the night of 6/27 couldn’t have made it any clearer that they weren’t interested in our order. When it was obvious we were placing an order anyways he replied with a rude “well you’ll probably be waiting over an hour”. Our food arrived in less than 30 minutes where the young lady delivering the food made it clear she was happy that we were the last order of the night. Unfortunately, I think they took their annoyance out with the quality of the food. The fried boudin balls were still cold inside and the chicken quesadilla’s were a block of cheddar cheese with some tiny fatty chicken pieces thrown in and barely cooked. The gumbo was good but they didn’t give us a spoon to eat it with and when we called to get one we were told it was too late so I could only eat the solid food and none of the broth which seemed to be the best part. In hindsight I should have fought the room service charge all together but we just wante We also observed several guests smoking in the elevators with not a single employee doing anything about it.

Overall, if you’re coming to focus on gambling and not an entire experience Sam’s Town is in a good location and has decent prices. If you’re coming to enjoy your entire trip and some semi-decent food and service I’d skip this hotel and look elsewhere. I doubt we return as long as there are similar priced options available.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandInMyHair_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Manager at Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for posting comments regarding your most recent stay. We apologize that your experience was not satisfactory, and we can assure you that these issues will be researched and resolved. We strive to provide a notable experience and it is customer feedback such as this that helps us to do just that. We would hope that you give us another chance to give you the type of experience that we have become known for in the Shreveport-Bossier market. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shreveport
0.5 mi away
Horseshoe Bossier City
Horseshoe Bossier City
#6 of 35 in Bossier City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Shreveport
Hilton Shreveport
#2 of 37 in Shreveport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Boomtown Hotel Casino
Boomtown Hotel Casino
#15 of 35 in Bossier City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport
8.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
#10 of 37 in Shreveport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport

Property: Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport
Address: 315 Clyde Fant Parkway, Shreveport, LA 71101 (Formerly Harrah's Shreveport Casino and Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Shreveport
#9 Romantic Hotel in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sams Town Shreveport
Sams Town Louisiana
Sams Town Hotel Shreveport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing