We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped in for Coffee at Greenwood Location”

Sam's Southern Eatery
Ranked #40 of 502 Restaurants in Shreveport
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reno
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Stopped in for Coffee at Greenwood Location”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I was in Caddo Parish on business and was to meet a person in the mall on Greenwood Road, I went into Sam's for a coffee to wait and looked over the menu. I spied the shrimp poboy, so I order it to go. That was the best poboy I have had since living in New Orleans 30 years ago. The shrimp were large nicely fried, it was dressed but not overdressed like many poboys I have had in 30 years.
I would recommend Sam's Southern Eatery and looking forward to next business trip to go again, maybe the North Market Location since close to where I do business.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    35
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NEW JERSEY
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Southern Goodness”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

During a road trip from New Jersey to Fort Worth Texas we drive down through Shreveport La and came across Sam's. Our waitress ( Ribby ) was the best she explained everything to us and was more then wonderful. The food was fantastic but more then we could eat. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GREGG157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great people”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

The people were great, the fish was great, but the shrimp should have been tossed out. The shrimp are done with a heavy batter that hides any flavor.
We were expecting a much nicer place, it is a small place connected to a very small casino.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searcy, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place for any meal!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Great food! Great prices. A fantastic staff to offer great service's. The foods so good it's the satisfaction your tummy will fill when you leave. Orders alway get extras. You really have a enjoyable time here. One if the best stops when your hunger happens.

Helpful?
Thank Douglas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Louisiana food...you won't be disappointed!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Catfish cooked extra crispy, okra, and jalapeño Mac and cheese poppers all delicious! Seasoned perfectly and VERY generous portions! Very clean restaurant with nice staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debmccoy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sam's Southern Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Southern Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing