We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catfish!!!!”

Sam's Southern Eatery
Ranked #36 of 499 Restaurants in Shreveport
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Catfish!!!!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I am only reviewing the food here as I haven't been to the restaurant; however, every time I visit my sister in Shreveport, we get some of this catfish to go. My sister brings it home much to the delight of my whole family. My wife, who doesn't even like catfish, really loves this place. We ususally get the grilled which is odd since most catfish I eat is fried; the grilled catfish is the way to go though. The spices are great and the shrimp you can order on the side is awesome. I would visit more often; however I live in TN and don't get to LA but a few times a year.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquie-David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    35
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
730 reviews
421 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Great fish”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Ate here again, stuffed shrimp were pretty horrible and stodgy but fried shrimp and fish were excellent. Service was fast and friendly and you really can't fault the speed or quality or value for money - great place for a great feed.

Rob

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OmanRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the stop!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

If you're hungry for some fried seafood - this is the place! Try the stuffed shrimp, you'll be glad you did!

Portion sizes are worth every penny, and you may think you struck quite the bargain when you see how much extra they put on your plate. Come hungry!

Helpful?
Thank Dalyork5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointed. Not what reviews said it would be.”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We are traveling across the USA and keen to try foods as we pass through. We read the trip adviser comments & thought we would try Sam's Southern eatery based on all the rave reviews. We were sadly disappointed.

We went to the North Market one. This is a chain of take out stores serving fish and chips. This was not a restaurant, simply a take out with an ordering window & some metal chairs and tables to sit at. There is no table service, which is not a problem, the other reviews just seemed to suggest there would be.

We finally figured what to order after pulling up the menu on our phones. The boards were hard to decipher with the screen flicking constantly. We ordered the 3-3-3 fish, shrimp & chicken. The servings were most definitely large however we did not receive any extras as others have mentioned. This was fine as there was way too much food anyway, just don't expect it based on other reviews here.

The food:
-The chicken was lovely and not overly spicy.
-The giant shrimp (prawns actually) are battered and not too bad. We have had tastier & fresher ones than these though
-The catfish or fish we didn't really like. This could simply be because it is something not really available in Australia. We found it flaky like snapper but soft & squishy to the bite, almost too soft & watery. Also bland taste, flavor is in the crumb
- Sides - chips are good (which you hope for at a fast food joint) & coleslaw tasty.

Overall it was a large serving of deep fried fish, chicken and fish that was oily & not all that tasty. If you want cajun skip the take out & find somewhere good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank caz0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Stopped in for Coffee at Greenwood Location”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I was in Caddo Parish on business and was to meet a person in the mall on Greenwood Road, I went into Sam's for a coffee to wait and looked over the menu. I spied the shrimp poboy, so I order it to go. That was the best poboy I have had since living in New Orleans 30 years ago. The shrimp were large nicely fried, it was dressed but not overdressed like many poboys I have had in 30 years.
I would recommend Sam's Southern Eatery and looking forward to next business trip to go again, maybe the North Market Location since close to where I do business.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sam's Southern Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Southern Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing