We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fantastic”

Pearl River Eco Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: At Pearl River Eco Tours we offer the smallest boats in the industry from our famous 6 passenger boats to our 18- 26 passenger boats. This allows us to take you to all the best places bigger boats cannot go! We are a small, family owned and run business. We do only swamp tours because it's what we are passionate about, and we feel we offer more than just another swamp tour, we take people along to show them our world, so come see us and join us for a chance to experience a swamp tour like no other... Into the Honey Island Swamp, one of the least altered river swamps in the country with a Professional Native Ecological Tour Guide. Among majestic cypress trees and winding bayous lies South Louisiana's crowned jewel.. Journey with us as we guide you through this untouched wilderness of pristine beauty and unrivaled charm. Experience the magnificence of the wildlife in their natural surroundings. Witness the splendor of the unique Louisiana swamp plant life and uncover the distinct waterways that will take you through an adventure that you will not forget. Come aboard with us and discover one of America's last great frontiers. Behold the beauty of what can only be described as Louisiana's version of the Grand Canyon. The wetlands of South Louisiana are our natural treasures. At Pearl River Eco Tours, WE WORK IN THE SWAMP, WE LIVE IN THE SWAMP, WE PLAY IN THE SWAMP…WE ARE THE SWAMP!
Competa, Spain
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We went out with Pearl River yesterday on their 6 person skiff swamp tour. There were 4 of us in total, a couple from Texas and us from the UK. Having previously taken a swamp tour in the Everglades I was not really expecting very much at all other than a pretty bland dull trip. I could not have been more wrong. Our small boat was captained by a guy called by a guy called Brian. He was absolutely brilliant He was knowledgable about the wildlife and the ecology but never boring. He did not "over talk" and was definitely not working from a. Prep repaired script.he used his knowledge and skills to navigate us through about 15 miles of swamps and bayous over nearly 2 hours. Because we were in a small boat we saw places larger tour groups could not see. We saw alligators and a variety of birds and snakes. I cannot recommend this trip highly enough it was worth every penny. Ask for Brian and you will have a great time

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    41
    7
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“But you do feed in a residential area...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The guides are great, very knowledgeable; but they feed the gators and blaze through no wake zones. There are houses and camps all along the route, and guides tell anecdotes about people loving to use the rope swings, swim and ski for recreation.

They proceed just down river a short distance and feed gators hot dogs and marshmallows. As a boater, fisherman, paddler, swimmer skier, that was a tactic I didn't appreciate. And I'm sure the residents in the area aren't happy either. A gator "that would take your finger off if you reach over the rail (because he's looking for a hot dog)," and a gator "that comes when he sees a boat because he knows he's gonna eat," is not a gator a recreational paddler or fisherman wants to meet.

Sorry, but your revenue shouldn't come at the expense of fellow citizens or the detriment of these animals. Kids should be taught NOT to feed wild animals and to respect them in their natural state. Not the inverse.

What was otherwise a great tour, was reduced to a feral gator tour.

http://www.wlf.louisiana.gov/wildlife/nuisance-alligators

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Swamp Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Very impressed with the whole experience from arriving to the beautiful facility, to the breath taking waterways. Our tour guide Captain Ian was a pleasure the whole tour. He was quite informative about the different vegetation and wildlife. I will most definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting New Orleans. I will return to take the smaller tour so that I can experience going much deeper into the swamp. Another plus was the reasonable price of the tour.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellarose1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent tour of the Honey Island Swamp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We took the 6 passenger swamp tour and thoroughly enjoyed it. Captain Garrett did an excellent job of taking us into areas that couldn't be reached with the larger boats. He was very informative and we learned a lot about the swamps and river. It was well worth spending the extra money to take this boat. The only negative was the restrooms-we were the first tour of the day and it was obvious that they had not been cleaned.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor guide”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

The fellow we had knew very little about the bayou, told us he had been called as a fill in. Sorry garret, but you were poorly informed and your made up flower names just confirmed you were not prepared. We paid for a small individually planned tour and were very disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pearl River Eco Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing