We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Overall Experience”

La Isleta Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Guabala
Price range: US$6 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: This restaurant is located near a river and is surrounded by exuberant vegetation providing a relaxed and informal ambiance. Here the visitor enjoys dishes from traditional regional gastronomy and the exquisite signature cuisine of chef Roberto Castrellón. Chef Castrellón's highly pleasing menu comprises a variety of dishes prepared with fresh ingredients of optimum quality most of which are produced locally.
Nueva Gorgona, Panama
2 reviews
“The Best Overall Experience”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My Wife and I stayed with another couple for two days at La Isleta in Oct. We enjoyed horseback riding and kayaking but I was suprised by the world class food and the attention to detail by Roberto and his staff.
All the food and drinks that my wife and friends had were superb and something you would find at an upscale resturant in Ny.or Paris. We all became friends with Roberto and his partner Arturo, Arturo with his magnifcient voice would entertain us during dinner with his ballads. This is a place where it will leave a fond memory in my heart for years to come.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    1
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“An unforgetable experience”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights at la Isleta and experienced a wonderful and peaceful time, tasted exquisite food and enjoyed a unique and melodic voice. Can I asked for more? The answer is an emphatic "NO".
I wish I find the right words to describe what we had lived on those 2 full days spent at La Isleta. We felt as Friends and No Guest, we appreciated the art on how the rooms were arranged and how the food was presented, we tasted flavors that had never tasted before, we appreciated the quality of service from every single member of La Isleta's crew. We went kayaking on the river and horseback riding thru a trail that lasted an 1:30 hrs. I went horse back riding before but La Isleta's trail without doubt has been the best of all. We crossed a stream, went up and down the hill, wonder thru valleys where we saw a herd of brahma bulls and heard them replying to our Guide's call, La Finca's Foreman. The Bulls reply sounded loud and big as if we were in Jurassic Park. Impressive!!
The Owner, Roberto a talented Painter and Creative Chef and his partner Arturo who is a Tenor and an a Pastry Chef were wonderful hosts.
From La Isleta we departed to Bocas where we spent 3 days but on our way back, towards Pedasi, and passing by Guabala we could not avoid stopping at La Finca to enjoy their delicious food. We were received this time as family by Roberto and Arturo who spoiled us with their creations and Arturo's melodic voice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonPey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Santos, Panama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had a great stay here for 2 nights and the food was very good. It is a very relaxed atmosphere and the hosts are most accommodating. We enjoyed our guided horseback ride and were quite impressed when we found ourselves in the middle of a herd of curious Brahma bulls that came when the guide called them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frans V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aventura, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food, farm and rooms in chiriqui panama”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The best Agro touristic place in chiriqui panama, great food and the best attention. La mejor finca Agro turistica de chiriqui, entrap a al mar, surf, Islas, playas, buena comida, Cuartos exelentes, servicing de valid ad, can allow ganado, aves, relax total.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Lajas, Panama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Look forward to visit again!”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We visited La Isleta many times in the last year and we love their food: it's an Agro resort so almost all the ingredients they use to cook are fresh, organic and come from their land.
Here you can find some traditional panamian food prepared in a superb way by Roberto, the chef, as tasajo, fresh fish (not fried!)and shrimps, fresh tuna hamburger and much more.
We had the best seafood soup of our life ( we are italian and soup is not our favourite dish!)
Arturo is dedicated to desserts: all are wonderful and obviously handmade as Banana bread, lemon pie and homemade icecream with fresh fruit. If you are lucky he could sing a special song for you!
The restaurant has a cool external area and it's close to a nice green area on a river where you can relax, birdwatch, rent kayaks or horses.
It's a unique place and it's worth visit La Isleta if you are travelling in Chiriqui!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank erika791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Isleta Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Isleta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing