We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Green Dragon Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Cockleford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here on a Foot Trails walking break, we were made really welcome, the waiting staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us, the rooms were very good and the shower was excellent. definitely recommend for a weekend stay, be prepared to diet after your stay as the food portions are huge. There is also a good selection of beers and the wine prices by the bottle are very reasonable.

Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

Had Sunday lunch here 7th April with my Wife and daughter. Haven't had Sunday lunch here for a few months, but wow !! Great service , great beer and superb food ! There's lots of competition around here, but this place remains the best . Well done to everyone at The Green Dragon.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank joneseyoaksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I only stayed in this place for one night fortunately. It is a lovely setting and the staff were helpful and friendly when I arrived. My room was not huge but as I was alone this was not a problem. However, the shower room was so tiny that I had great difficulty drying myself after having a shower. (I am size 10!)So avoid the room 'Arkle' if you are bigger than a size 10.
Lots of lovely pillows and the bed was very comfortable. The hospitality tray was excellent with hot chocolate as well as tea and real coffee. Lovely biscuits too.
I think that £9 for breakfast is extortionate! Why don't hotels charge for what you eat? All I need is a small bowl of cereal and one slice of toast. No tea or coffee. I refuse to pay £9 for that.
The worst thing about the room was that there was no heating in the morning despite the sub zero temperature outside! I couldn't find anyone to complain to or to return the key to before I left.
The walls are very thin. I could hear the person next door snoring all night.

Room Tip: Avoid 'Arkle' if you want to be able to turn around in the shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodieDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Over the previous 18 months I've had to travel quite regularly to this area on business. I've tried quite a few hotels in the area and, frankly, had started to despair of finding anything that lives up to its promise. Then a colleague (on consultant's fees!) recommended this place. I'm so glad he did. It cost me (or rather, my company) just £74 for a good dinner (salmon fillet) plus wine in front of a roaring log fire, accommodation in a modern and clean residents' building at the back (which means, in the unlikely event that there's a noisy group in the inn - it just doesn't seem to be that kind of place - you won't hear them) and a full English cooked breakfast - also in front of a roaring log fire. And there was a hot power shower! Almost unheard of! Only downside was that my room smelled slightly musty. That could have been the age of the building, or the effects of the prolonged miserable winter weather we've been enduring in the UK. But it didn't spoil my visit. I will definitely be back. In the summer time (when the days are longer), I might even be able to appreciate the beautiful scenic location as I travel back and forth to the office.... Lovely place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank commuter_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Green Dragon last weekend 22 - 24th March for our first wedding anniversary. The place was lovely, clean and cosy, our room was lovely and had a fab power shower. The walls are a little thin but that didnt ruin anything. The staff were extremely friendly and made every effort to make our stay perfect. The food was wonderful, both breakfast and the evening dinner. There is a warm and cosy atmosphere there and lovely open fires in both bars. The weekend break of two nights stay, dinner bed and breakfast is excellent value for money. We will be going back and would happily recommend this hotel/inn to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My husband and I were really looking forward to a 2 night stay at the Green Dragon Inn and after what has been a tough 2013 so far, we were really pleased when we arrived to the charming, typical Cotswold setting-from the outside, its gorgeous! My brother-in-law had bought us a one night stay for Christmas (Saturday night) and we had phoned the hotel a couple of days before to book the Friday night too in order to make a long weekend of it. When I phoned, I was told that the original booking (the Christmas present) didn't include breakfast, however, the lady I spoke to said that if I booked the additional night direct (rather than going through late rooms) they would throw in breakfast for the Saturday at no additional charge. This sounded fine- although it later turned out not to be the case!
The customer service (you can't even call it that!) was appalling!! We had specifically selected the Green Dragon Inn after the website promoted free WI-FI as we had some work to do whilst there. However, once we got to our room we had no connection whatsoever, when we called reception and asked the lady (the Manager I think!) she said that the room we were in had no connection. We politely asked if there was any chance of us changing to a room with connection, she replied 'fine' and then hung up. She then came to our room and rushed us into the room next door without saying much else and with a terrible attitude!! I was so annoyed that we went elsewhere for our evening meal rather than staying in the hotel restaurant, we were later glad of this decision as on our way back to the room, we overheard another couple saying the had been unhappy with their meals there. The bedrooms were small but immaculate and modern although the bed was waaaaaay too soft for us and we found this uncomfortable. The bathroom was a nice size and the shower was lovely but the walls were paper thin and we could hear everything (and I mean everything!!!) going on in the room next door- from conversations to the toilet flushing- and everything else!! It was also very noisy in the evening (from the pub outside) and we both struggled to sleep.

On the upside, breakfast was delicious with fresh ingredients that were obviously sourced locally and there was plenty of it to keep us going for most of the day.

When it came to checking out, the owner (we think) had some trouble in charging Friday night's stay to my brother-in-law (even though he had already given them his card details to secure the room) and Saturday night's stay to us. However, he got there in the end. BUT he charged us an additional £18 for breakfast on the Saturday. When I told him about the conversation I'd had with the lady I booked the additional night with, he utterly dismissed me and said we'd have to pay the additional, which, of course we did. All in all, the Green Dragon Inn is a lovely setting in a beautiful part of the world- shame that the staff there are shocking!! Next time we shall be saying in the Colesbourne Inn- an even more stunning hotel/restaurant up the road where we ate- extremely friendly place, excellent service and cheaper to stay there!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAlicia84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The Green Dragon is a delightful country inn which serves a good choice of high quality food. I had the lamb chops in a red current jus and they were excellent. The steak enjoyed by my wife was cooked just as she asked and was fabulous. The furniture in the inn is all handmade and each piece features a carved mouse which is a fun aspect. It does get busy so best to book.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Green Dragon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Dragon Inn

Address: | Nr Cowley, Cockleford GL53 9NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cockleford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cockleford
Price Range: £66 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Dragon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional country 17th Century inn situated in the Cotswolds only 15 minutes drive from Cheltenham, Gloucester and Cirencester. The Green Dragon Inn continually proves to be a popular retreat for those appreciating good food, fine wines and real ales. Set in the countryside for a relaxing experience and great walks from the door.On a fine day, sit outside amongst the honeysuckle and hanging baskets or on colder days relax by the log fires in our Oak beamed bars. Browse over our extensive menu and daily changing specials board, where our chef uses his creativity in producing “pub food with a difference"One of our special features of the pub is the ‘Mouse Bar’. The furniture and the bars themselves have been made by Robert Thompson, the famous ‘Mouse Man of Kilburn’ with small mice running all over the hand carved chairs, tables and mantelpiece! To complement the food there is a wine list notable for its range and value. We also have a good selection of fine ales; Hook Norton, Otter, Doom Bar and GL Cider. Nine comfortable bedrooms are individually furnished to a high standard, all with their own en-suite bathroom. The rooms are all doubles and twins, and extra beds for children can be provided if needed. In addition we have the St. George’s Suite and has its own sitting room. Also an ideal venue for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Green Dragon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Dragon Hotel Cowley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing