We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Green Dragon Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Cockleford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very disappointing ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Very average very overpriced pub food.
With lots of competition in the cotswolds I think they need to pull their finger out.
Very very rude staff...all of them.
The bar lady several times elbowed me out of the way at the bar...no apology at all.
A waiter....( I think the manager) turned the heater off whilst we were still eating fourty minutes before closing, My girlfriend was freezing.
It was 10:45pm and they obviously wanted us out of the way, the bar staff....four of them, started to clear and set tables around us for morning breakfast, one waitress stood next to our table staring at us....how rude!

Will definitely not be returning.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank myverdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    62
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
35
98
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Green Dragon is one of our favourite local pubs. It is a picture perfect Cotswold pub, Cotswold stone building, log fires, carved wooden chairs and tables and cosy lighting. Warm in the winter, cool in the summer and always inviting.

The food is excellent with a frequently revised menu and specials board, ranging from good pub food to a la carte, all at reasonable prices.

The staff are friendly and always hospitable.

We have held birthday and Christmas parties here and would recommend it every time.

There is adequate parking acros the road and a function room with private bar and terrace.

Definately one to visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We have just returned from this excellent Inn,The rooms were comfortable and clean.The evening meal was superb,staff welcoming and friendly.Well done chefs.Very good breakfast with quality sausages and bacon.Will go back if in area again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariannatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

The food is truly sublime. The chef should be congratulated on turning out such constantly high quality fair. A little hard to find makes the experience all the more. We personally like to have a table in the lower bar by the fire. Not even the end of January and we have eaten their 3 times all ready!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Enderley007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

It had been over 5 years since I last visited this Cotswold inn, a place that had great fondness in my heart. Memories of a blazing fire, real ales, and great food were the reason I had made a last minute booking when being in the area for business.

Well, what can I say! It remains as good as ever, the pub feel is still there, absolutely charming, plus the fires were blazing, lovely on a cold wet night. Then the food, great, and loads of it, in fact, so much that I had to skip dessert, which was a shame.

The bedrooms were good quality, nice beds, very clean and great coffee making facilities.

Whilst I may of skipped breakfast, I wasn't going to miss breakfast, and what a wise decision this was to be. I suggested that I would be there for 8.00am, but turned up at 7.30am, which was no trouble for them at all, very attentive indeed.

The 'full English' was a triumph, kept me going for most of the day.

I will be coming back, especially at those prices. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Just what we wanted, what more could you ask for? Comfortable accommodation in attached annex, so no noise from the pub. Good shower. Traditional pub, log fires, good range of real ales and wines (including good pudding wines) and hearty, fairly traditional, food. Excellent breakfast. And friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidfromDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the suite which is warm and superbly laid out with huge bed, 2 sofas and a wonderful bathroom with separate shower
The pub is beamed with log fires . Unlike others we found staff friendly .
The food is excellent with a wide choice
breakfast was served promptly even we were the only ones at an early time and I could not fault it .
I really recommend this pub for a break, esp booking the suite as a treat

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lib572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockleford
2.7 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Birdlip
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cowley Manor
Cowley Manor
#1 of 1 in Cowley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Shurdington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
2.0 mi away
Colesbourne Inn
Colesbourne Inn
#1 of 1 in Colesbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Dragon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Dragon Inn

Property: The Green Dragon Inn
Address: | Nr Cowley, Cockleford GL53 9NW , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cockleford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cockleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Dragon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional country 17th Century inn situated in the Cotswolds only 15 minutes drive from Cheltenham, Gloucester and Cirencester. The Green Dragon Inn continually proves to be a popular retreat for those appreciating good food, fine wines and real ales. Set in the countryside for a relaxing experience and great walks from the door.On a fine day, sit outside amongst the honeysuckle and hanging baskets or on colder days relax by the log fires in our Oak beamed bars. Browse over our extensive menu and daily changing specials board, where our chef uses his creativity in producing “pub food with a difference"One of our special features of the pub is the ‘Mouse Bar’. The furniture and the bars themselves have been made by Robert Thompson, the famous ‘Mouse Man of Kilburn’ with small mice running all over the hand carved chairs, tables and mantelpiece! To complement the food there is a wine list notable for its range and value. We also have a good selection of fine ales; Hook Norton, Otter, Doom Bar and GL Cider. Nine comfortable bedrooms are individually furnished to a high standard, all with their own en-suite bathroom. The rooms are all doubles and twins, and extra beds for children can be provided if needed. In addition we have the St. George’s Suite and has its own sitting room. Also an ideal venue for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Green Dragon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Dragon Hotel Cowley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing