We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Green Dragon Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Cockleford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woking UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here last night Beautiful little traditional pub with garden
Great food, friendly efficient service and good value for money.
Very clean modern room in a very relaxing location. Be careful as sat nav directed us to a private house nearly!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyHemsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    63
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
35
98
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Withington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We went here for a celebration dinner. We really could not fault it. The service was attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The food was nicely presented, generous portions and delicious. We were amazed how busy the place was, considering it is a Thursday evening. We now know why! We will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I popped in on Sunday the 25th May on a spur of the moment lunch trip. We ate in the lower bar and were lucky to get the last and only unreserved table. From the offset we could tell this was a popular and very busy pub which is always a good sign! We shared a starter which was a good idea as the mains were big! My husband had the roast beef and I had the goats cheese and onion tart. Both were really nice, and then we shared a yummy sticky toffee pudding.

The girl who served us, Sarah I think, was so welcoming and was just brilliant with the tables and bar being busy. I was really impressed.

Thanks for a lovely lunch!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tui A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Visited with some friends on a Saturday lunchtime and was running early so got there at 11.30 and cracked open a lovely bottle of Prosecco. We each had 2 courses and were thoroughly impressed with the food. I had a Watermelon and Mixed Berry starter which was lovely, as was the Burger I had for my main. The beer garden is so peaceful on the back road and a real suntrap. Lovely.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

An old world pub with up-to-date accommodation. Set in a convenient location for all the Cotswold attractions. The rooms were spacious and clean with nice fresh bed linen. The food was better than standard pub food with a varied menu. We took advantage of the two night package deal which was reasonable. Staff were helpful and friendly. We would go back again. The only slight niggle was the fresh milk left in a flask for tea making went off before the end on the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daintree
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was perfect for us - a friendly, hospitable, but quiet, pub with great rooms and good food. The room was stylish and very comfortable, the staff were charming, and the meals varied and interesting.
We took the two night dinner, bed and breakfast package which ticked all the boxes. it is nice to be away from a town but not need to drive to dinner.
It was the perfect stop for us for a couple of nights in the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Great pub - warm cosy Cotswold atmosphere and excellent food, well presented. Will definitely go back. Just a shame that on this particular occasion some of the staff were surly and inattentive and not in keeping with the general standard.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ValBunker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockleford
2.7 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Birdlip
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cowley Manor
Cowley Manor
#1 of 1 in Cowley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Shurdington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
2.0 mi away
Colesbourne Inn
Colesbourne Inn
#1 of 1 in Colesbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Dragon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Dragon Inn

Property: The Green Dragon Inn
Address: | Nr Cowley, Cockleford GL53 9NW , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cockleford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cockleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Dragon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional country 17th Century inn situated in the Cotswolds only 15 minutes drive from Cheltenham, Gloucester and Cirencester. The Green Dragon Inn continually proves to be a popular retreat for those appreciating good food, fine wines and real ales. Set in the countryside for a relaxing experience and great walks from the door.On a fine day, sit outside amongst the honeysuckle and hanging baskets or on colder days relax by the log fires in our Oak beamed bars. Browse over our extensive menu and daily changing specials board, where our chef uses his creativity in producing “pub food with a difference"One of our special features of the pub is the ‘Mouse Bar’. The furniture and the bars themselves have been made by Robert Thompson, the famous ‘Mouse Man of Kilburn’ with small mice running all over the hand carved chairs, tables and mantelpiece! To complement the food there is a wine list notable for its range and value. We also have a good selection of fine ales; Hook Norton, Otter, Doom Bar and GL Cider. Nine comfortable bedrooms are individually furnished to a high standard, all with their own en-suite bathroom. The rooms are all doubles and twins, and extra beds for children can be provided if needed. In addition we have the St. George’s Suite and has its own sitting room. Also an ideal venue for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Green Dragon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Dragon Hotel Cowley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing