We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect weekend”
Beggars Barn Arial View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beggars Barn Arial View
New outdoor living area with uber sized sofas, dining area, arctic cabin Beggars Barn Pool and Summer House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Beggars Barn Arial View
New outdoor living area with uber sized sofas, dining area, arctic cabin
Beggars Barn Pool and Summer House
Out door living area with uber sized sofas and Hobbit House (Arctic cabin) in background
18 meter long heated Swimming Pool
Kitchen; 2 ovens, gas and electric hob, heated drawer, microwave, butler & main sink, dishwasher etc
Kitchen
Kitchen
Drawing Room
Drawing Room through to Dining room
Dining Room and piano
Dining Room - table seat 16
Downstairs cloakroom
Entrance Hall
Master bedroom suite with open plan bathroom & balcony overlooking grounds and pool.
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 En-suite
Bedroom 1 En-suite
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Landing
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3 Dressing Room
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Summer House
Summer House
Summer House Bedroom 1
Summer House Bedroom 2
Gym
Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
11 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 30
Shutford, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Diana J
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect weekend”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Beggars barn is absolutely stunning, beautifully decorated to a very high standard.
It has first class facilities to ensure your stay is one to remember! There is plenty of space and the large kitchen with patio doors out to the garden makes this house a great place to entertain large groups.
Camilla was the perfect host & made us feel very welcome.
Thank you for a truely memoriable stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IntoTheWo...
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place, lovely owners”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Booked this for a stag do (slightly sophisticated one) for a weekend in June. The house is beautiful, really tastefully done. The pool is nice and warm, the games and cinema rooms are a great option. You could spend days in this place and have plenty to do without leaving! Plenty of facilities and beautiful grounds, rooms, surroundings.

Camilla and Johnny (owners) are lovely, very friendly and accommodating. Also fair with the security deposit; which can be a worrying element of booking somewhere like this.

It is quite expensive, on the face of it, with various charges added for certain things (which you might not expect given the base cost is quite high); but I'm not mentioning this as a negative, just an observation - they are clearly stated, not hidden. It still definitely gets 5 stars, as once you get there, the price makes sense. The owners clearly really care for the place and simply want their guests to care for it too, which is understandable.

I'd definitely go back for a weekend, maybe with a bunch of friends or family.

Definitely recommend for pretty much any group weekend plan.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah_I_1...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Superb”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Stayed in Beggars Barn with 11 friends for a weekend away. Couldn't have asked for more! Camilla (the owner) was incredibly welcoming and helpful with suggesting things to do around the area. The house is stunning and has everything you'll ever need for a week/weekend away. Highly recommended! I hope to make it back in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen is great
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakers46
Hornchurch, Essex
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend for my Husband's 50th!”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the house for the weekend with friends for my Husband's 50th Birthday celebrations and we couldn't have asked for a better choice.

The house is absolutely beautiful and everything is of very good quality, the kitchen utensils were the best I have ever seen provided for in a house before.

The downstairs is definitely a party house with the layout of the kitchen leading into dining room and then smaller relaxing area and the views out to the pool and the garden.

We also got caterers Croxfords for the Saturday night and cannot recommend them enough too, food was amazing!

The majority of the bedrooms are a good size, the smallest being the one near the dining room but we didn't need to use that.

The 2 suites they have are absolutely huge and they have thought of everything.

Also the house is only half an hour drive from Bicester shopping centre, so good for people who like shopping! :-)

We were lucky the pool was still heated and a couple of people even braved it outside in the cold.

The games room had recently been finished but we didn't get an opportunity to use it unfortunately.

Wifi is available if you are on a certain network (cant remember which unfortunately) and also not many phone suppliers were working to make calls out think only vodaphone and 02.

The owners were only a phone call away and were extremely helpful whenever we needed them. Only a couple of negatives, the surround sound music system didn't work during our stay which was a shame and also would say the security deposit is extremely high for the house compared to other houses we have stayed in of a similar quality, but when you see the quality of everything there then I guess that is why.

Looking forward to return again in the future though as we enjoyed ourselves so much!

Thank you and keep up the good work :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris S
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awesome house and a lovely stay”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We were greeted by the lovely house owner who showed us around her beautiful home. The house was amazing and perfect for the twelve of use celebrating a 40th birthday. The kitchen and snug area were great and allowed for a cool, flowing party, in fact we rarely had to leave this area all weekend. The pub in the village was great too and had an excellent menu. All in all we had a brilliant stay, might even think about it for a 41st birthday.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evie C
1 review
“Brilliant house for a special occasion.”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Absolutely brilliant house. It has everything you could want. I would highly recommend it as a place to stay with friends. It made ny friends hen do feel really special. The surrounding countryside is beautiful too.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie328...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SIMPLY INCREDIBLE!”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I went to beggars barn for my friends hen do, there were 16 of us and it was the most special weekend.

The house is simply beautiful, the most amazing interior and it is SO well equipped you couldn't wish for any more, there is nothing that hadn't been thought of. We were greeted by Camilla who was so welcoming and showed us round the house and on hand for any help or advice.

The rooms are just incredible, not to mention the kitchen and main seating area which is equally as impressive and the grounds were wonderful!

I honestly cannot speak highly enough of how beautiful and special this home really is!!! We are so greatful to have stayed here and have the fondest memories from the beautiful beggars barn!

X

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing