We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We were traveling east from Harper Texas to Ocala Florida with longhorn cattle in our trailer, and needed a place to stay for the night. After searching for local hotels I called this one. They were very friendly and offered us a good rate. The hotel is beautiful, but lacked a little in the houskeeping department. When we pulled up, I could not help but notice the trash barrel outside the front door was overflowing on the ground. Not a very good first impression,but we went in anyway. After checking in, I went down to the lobby to get coffee and found the coffee station poorly maintained and the trash can was overfull! I asked the front desk to please get me some creamer for my coffee, which he did immediately. However, when the kitchen help brought out the creamer he completely overlooked the tash spilling on the floor. (not in my job description?) maybe. Overall, we spent a comfortable evening there. We looked at the breakfast menu, but decided it was too pricey for us.
I would recommend this hotel, but would suggest the management look into these small details to help improve their image as a fine hotel that is interested in repeat business. (by the way, the trash out front was still overflowing when we left). Sad

Room Tip: this hotel is a full service facility. They do not offer a complimentary breakfast. We did not know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midge S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the details of your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the lack of detail from our staff. We hope that you will give us another chance to deliver 5 star service to you. The details of your stay have been shared with all of our associates, so that we can learn from our mistakes, and improve where needed. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

We were pleasantly greeted by the hotel agent as soon as we walked in the front entrance. The lobby was nice and clean with a contemporary decor. Our room was pleasant and clean, as well. The view was not that great since our room overlooked a construction site, however, this was something with which we could live and did not negatively affect our stay. Though there was not much going on in the town of West Sulphur, the hotel was only about 10 minutes or so away from Lake Charles, LA where one could enjoy the historical district or museums in the city, partake in a little gambling at the area casinos, or experience the gastronomic delights of neighborhood restaurants, such as Steamboat Bill's.
We had a restful night in comfortable beds and enjoyed a nice breakfast at Kem's, the hotel restaurant. We booked the room through Priceline, which stated that we were supposed to receive complimentary breakfast for up to two adults, however, that was not the case. Though, due to being a Priority Club member, in addition to the water and popcorn I received at check-in, I received complimentary coffee at the restaurant. Granted, we were not pleased with not receiving the complimentary meals referred to on Priceline, however we had a great stay overall and I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

In my opinion, this is the most unscrupulous hotel staff I have ever encountered. I cancelled a reservation a week before my arrival, but was charged for the price of the room. I admit that I made the mistake of not insisting on a cancellation number. I was assured by the hotel staff person that “everything would be taken care of.”

The hotel’s idea of care is billing me for a one night charge of $133. I assumed that once I explained this error to management the problem would be solved. That was not the case. The Front Office Manager was rude, dismissive, and abrupt. The General Manager was even worse because he didn’t even take the time to call me back. Maybe that is the way things are run in a small town. In the big city, issues are handled in a timely and courteous manner.

I definitely will not book another reservation at this hotel or any other hotel in the chain.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Alexandria07-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

The hotel itself was fine - clean an comfortable, and up to Holiday Inn Standards. The staff at the desk was friendly, personable and helpful. The only negative was the inconvenience of having the stairs leading to our second-floor room (my wife is claustrophobic and can not ride an elevator) required an entrance from outside, and someone at the desk had to unlock the door. We managed.
The problem was with dinner. The food was good, but we ordered cocktails, which did not arrive until we were halfway through eating our dinners. And the bartender had mixed the wrong drink (nothing fancy - martinis). He remade them correctly after making a lame excuse that he thought we wanted the "special" (that the waitress had failed to mention). Then when we got the bill, we saw that we had been charged $10 per drink! He explained that he had used the best vodka and put in an extra shot to make the glass look full. We grumbled and paid, but stiffed him and the waitress on the tip - which we never do. The waitress also told us that in order to gain the extra 500 Priority Club points for dining in-house, we should go online and enter the information. This was incorrect. The next morning at breakfast we spoke with the restaurant manager. We asked him how much martinis cost. He said $5. We told him what happened the night before and he apologized, but he did not offer us any compensation. I have done some research and business writing about how to create customer loyalty. The most important single factor is how a business responds to the inevitable screw-ups. The restaurant failed in this instance. Sorry to downgrade the hotel for the performance of the restaurant, but I see the two as parts of the whole.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dstring13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatySimonFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Dear Guest,

I sincerely apologize on behalf of our restaurant. This is a matter that will be taken care of immediately on all levels. I hope that--aside from your restaurant experience--the rest of your stay exceeded your expectations. Also, I apologize for the inconvenience of the stairway situation. Unfortunately, our hotel was designed in this peculiar fashion. I hope you are willing to stay with us again soon, so we may correct these service issues.

Thank you again,

Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Lake Charles W-Sulphur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

My husband was on the road and had to get an unexpected trip, I called a few hotels
and Samantha was the only agent concerned enough to call me back with the information I had requested. She went over and above any agents responsibilities and being in the same business I really fell I would love to have her with us. This property was beautiful the food was excellent and the ben was wow! Comfort, style and service here!!!!!!!

Thank you Johnique and Samantha Excellent Job!

Mr. & Mrs. Turner

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cindycares2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatySimonFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

We are so glad you could join us! Thank you very much for your praise of Samantha and Jonnique. We are very proud of them! Please come and see us again soon.

Katy Simon
Front Office Manager
HI Lake Charles W-Sulphur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

As a recent guest at this hotel, I was welcomed at the front door by Mr. Rodrick who assisted me with my luggage. He directed me to the front desk where Tammy and Samantha assisted me with checking in. Rodrick showed me where the restaurant, the pool, and the business center were at. I had no problem finding my way to use these offerings by the hotel because of his kindness and professionalism.

The meatloaf dinner at the restaurant had to have been the best i have tasted in quite a while! Please don't tell my wife I said that...The meal experience was awesome and I would recommend this experience to anyone at this hotel. A restaurant in house is great!

I noticed a little note from the housekeeper, Katherine. She was kind to personalize my experience and then leave a note to let me know if I needed anything to let them know!

I can say that my stay at this hotel was unplanned and we were in town for a funeral. We did not mind paying a little more for the room because we had checked on prices in the area. The atmosphere of professionalism at this hotel is the BEST I have experienced yet! Rodrick was the gold lining that made our stay very nice!

I stay at hotels all the time and none can compare to the services I got here! I recommend this place to anybody and look forward to my return stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roberta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatySimonFOM, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

I am so glad to hear that your stay was pleasant and relaxing. We will certainly be letting all of our hotel staff know how much their services have impressed you. At our property, we always strive to exceed our guests' expectations in every regard. I am most grateful to you for your praise. Please let us know when you will be joining us again, so that we may welcome you and prepare another special in our restaurant (perhaps, even the meatloaf again!).
Katy Simon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

It is an updated property with very nicely decorated and modern rooms. The rooms are very spacious. When we checked in, there was a little problem and we called the front desk at around 11 in the night. The person at the front desk said the housekeepers had left already but it will be fixed and within 5 minutes the front desk personnel himself came up to our room and fixed the issue. They met all of our requests with a smile.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Maverick182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your compliment with us! We are very proud of the quality of service we provide here at the Holiday Inn Lake Charles W-Sulphur. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sulphur
5.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Sulphur
Comfort Suites Sulphur
#8 of 21 in Sulphur
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Sulphur West
Days Inn Sulphur West
#18 of 21 in Sulphur
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Executive Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur

Address: 330 Arena Rd, Sulphur, LA 70665-7462
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Sulphur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
Price Range: £100 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Lake Charles - West Sulphur Our Sulphur, Louisiana hotel is located off I-10 with convenient access to many nearby attractions and businesses. Just a few miles from Lake Charles, our hotel is 10 miles from Lake Charles Regional Airport (LCH). Visitors to our Sulphur hotel can enjoy a wide variety of southern Louisiana attractions. Within seven miles of our hotel, guests will find lovely Lake Charles Beach and downtown Lake Charles. Leisure travelers can experience the Louisiana outdoors by visiting the Sabine Refuge or the Creole Nature Trail, both within 20 minutes of our hotel. There are also several casinos within a five minute drive of our hotel in Sulphur. Business travelers can travel easily to and from their meetings, with our Lake Charles hotel's convenient location. Business offices within 10 miles of our hotel include Citgo, Conoco, Northrop Grumman, PPG Industries, the Lake Charles Civic Center, McNeese State University and the Port of Lake Charles. Our Lake Charles, Louisiana hotel features friendly accommodations, along with choice amenities. Guests can enjoy the convenience of complimentary high-speed Internet access, an on-site restaurant and a convenience store. Other amenities include a heated indoor pool, a 24-hour Fitness Center and a Business Center. Book your Lake Charles hotel reservations now and enjoy excellent Holiday Inn rooms and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing