We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smoke and Mirrors”
Review of Motel 6 Sulphur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel 6 Sulphur
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Smoke and Mirrors”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Don't be fooled by these reviews. The recent good reviews are actually from the front desk employees. It's still the same Econo Lodge only with less amenities. Pay a little more for a better room down the road. You'll be a lot happier in the morning and won't wake up with the something crawling on you and your belongings. I won't be using them for our crews any longer. They were correct in their complaints. Very unprofessional. Could use some type of breakfast.

Room Tip: Go, no run to another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    6
    2
    3
    6
See reviews for
6
5
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sulphur, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I had a wonderful stay and recieved great service. The beds were freshly made and always had fresh towels and coffee mess. There was always fresh coffee through out the day. I would like to give special thanks to Cynthia for her attentiveness to detail.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank namck1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I was so surprise I excepted the same at all motel 6 but this one in sulphur Louisiana was so spacious clean and we also had a very nice flat screen tv. The staff was wonderful from the cleaning crew to the front desk clerk. The motel manager was so very nice. The area is close to the freeway, and lots of food within walking distance. I excepted a lot less for the price lowest in the area. We will be back on our next vacation. Way to go sulphur.

Room Tip: Get a suite very spacious felt we were in an apartment . Very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

It's not the best place in the world but I couldn't argue. The price was very good and the people were really nice. The rooms were, I'd say 8 out of 10 which is really good for a motel 6. Most of the other ones I've been in were around 6 out of 10. Which, to me, still isn't that bad for them. Lots of fast food in walking distance, and not so fast food also in walking distance. Convenience store, right next door. Good location. New TV's and cable was a plus. I loved my stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knightgames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

I had the best experience at this Motel 6. The front desk clerk Betty was so kind to us. Our room was clean and I enjoyed the flat screen tv. We got more than we expected of the price we paid. I travel a lot and usually stay motel 6's and this was an upgrade from the other motels. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KARI K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this Motel 6 recently. Accommodations are very nice. Comfortable beds and clean rooms. It was very close to the casinos in Lake Charles. About a 6 minuted drive. Staff was very nice at check-in. Nice TVs! Would recommend this motel to anyone. Very affordable!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyBR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilow Park, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

All rooms in the area were taken for July 4th weekend so we booked a reservation sight unseen with this Econo Lodge. The room smelled, the bed smelled and I had to get a sheet and pillows from my car just to lay on the bed! Oh, did I mention the HUGE ROACH my husband had to kill!?? We went to Walmart and bought Lysol and air freshener just to be able to stomach the odor and my feet never touched the floor or bedding! Dirty, dirty, dirty place!
I paid for the room when I arrived and went on with my vacation to other states. When I got home from my trip and looked at my bank account, I had been charged twice, 2 different amounts. I am currently on the phone (almost an hour with someone who can barely speak English!) trying to get my refund. My advice, whatever you do, DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!

Room Tip: I'd sleep in my car before I'd stay here again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckieMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sulphur hotels
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Sulphur West
Days Inn Sulphur West
#17 of 21 in Sulphur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Sulphur LA
Days Inn Sulphur LA
#7 of 21 in Sulphur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Sulphur
Comfort Suites Sulphur
#6 of 21 in Sulphur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lake Charles Sulphur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Sulphur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Sulphur

Property: Motel 6 Sulphur
Address: 2022 Ruth St, Sulphur, LA 70663 (Formerly Econo Lodge Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > Louisiana > Sulphur
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Sulphur 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Sulphur is conveniently located on Interstate 10 and is just minutes from Lake Charles and Creole Nature Trail, known as the Louisiana Outback. This property has modern rooms with wood effect floors wtih free WiFi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Motel 6 Sulphur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Sulphur
Sulphur Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing