We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hospitality for hospitality industry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The room had an odor and my wife and I are sick with coughing and sneezing that started yesterday. The night we arrived there was a dirty wash and towel hanging in the bathroom. The manager was nasty to the guests because of the children playing in the lobby. The 35 or so rooms were rented to a baseball program. What do you expect when you rent to parents and grandparents and 40 or 50 children and there is a storm and you close the pool. The night managers way to handle the situation was to threaten everyone with removal from the hotel with NO REFUND and we will remove you. I noticed the room wasn't clean and asked the maid about cleaning and she informed me that the same manager told the help not clean the rooms for the baseball teams. They were to empty trash cans , make the bed and replace towels. Every night most of the rooms had to get towels at the desk. So for 3 days the floors were not vacuumed, bathroom floors toilet and tub were not cleaned. I could go on and on. My only suggestion is stay as far away from this hotel as possible, for your own health.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy B, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your recent stay as well as feedback. I do apologize that housekeeping and the front desk dropped the ball. I am getting with housekeeping as this is unacceptable, and whom ever was assigned to your room that day will be reprimanded. As for the front desk clerk her behavior was unacceptable also, and she has been reprimanded.

We value your business and hope that you will give us another opportunity to earn back your trust.

Sincerely,
Tammy Berry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The manager blindsided my husband with threats of throwing us out of the hotel because others in our "group" were reportedly being disruptive. WE were certainly not being disruptive, so it was completely offensive to us that she approached him in that manner. He didn't even know what she was talking about. Her condescending attitude and blatant hostility towards our entire organization made our stay so uncomfortable that the dead outlets, stopped up toilets, slow-draining tub, lack of access to fresh towels, severely understaffed housekeeping crew, and broken washer and dryer PALED in comparison. Furthermore, there are significant discrepancies in rates being charged, policies being quoted, etc. -- the word "unscrupulous" definitely comes to mind with regards to this hotel's business practices. Take my advice and drive the 10 minutes to Lake Charles to stay somewhere else!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay K, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2015

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are sorry that you did not find your experience satisfactory. We are always working to improve our property as well as operations. If you would like to discuss your issue with me personally, you can contact me at sulphurwingategm@gmail.com or call me on my office line at (337)527-5151.

Jay Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel was understaffed, poorly managed, and unfriendly on certain shifts. We did not have enough towels and when we asked for some they gave us bath mats for towels. The room was not cleaned in a timely manner and we did not have extra sheets for the sofa bed. The evening manager had the worst attitude towards everyone.

Room Tip: Should you elect to stay here, stay in the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gaspassah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay K, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2015

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are sorry that you did not find your experience satisfactory. We are always working to improve our property as well as operations. If you would like to discuss your issue with me personally, you can contact me at sulphurwingategm@gmail.com or call me on my office line at (337)527-5151.

Jay Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The whole hotel had a funny smell. Seemed a little under staffed at the front counter upon check in. But the room was nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
1  Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay K, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2015

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are sorry that you did not find your experience satisfactory. We are always working to improve our property as well as operations. If you would like to discuss your issue with me personally, you can contact me at sulphurwingategm@gmail.com or call me on my office line at (337)527-5151.

Jay Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great location, close to casinos. Central location. Rooms comfortable. The only negative was the odor in the elevator. The odor was not presenting the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay K, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2015

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are sorry that you did not find your experience satisfactory. We are always working to improve our property as well as operations. If you would like to discuss your issue with me personally, you can contact me at sulphurwingategm@gmail.com or call me on my office line at (337)527-5151.

Jay Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
1  Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jay K, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
1  Thank lindaa941
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jay K, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sulphur hotels
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Executive Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lake Charles Sulphur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Suites Sulphur
Quality Suites Sulphur
#7 of 21 in Sulphur
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur
5.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Sulphur
Comfort Suites Sulphur
#6 of 21 in Sulphur
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur

Address: 300 Arena Rd, I-10 Exit 20, Sulphur, LA 70665-7462
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Sulphur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
Price Range: £86 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all-inclusive value and relaxed comfort when you book a room at our Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur hotel. Conveniently located off Interstate 10 less than 15 minutes from Lake Charles, our hotel in Sulphur, LA offers handy amenities and unique personal touches designed to make your trip easy. Start each morning with a free hot breakfast, and plan your day using free Wi-Fi Internet access. During your downtime, get a workout in our 24-hour fitness center, make a splash in our outdoor pool, or stay productive in our free 24-hour business center. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our hotel near Lake Charles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing