We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles)
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I have stayed at the other holiday inn express in lake charles and was pleased. I thought I would have the same type of stay. When I checked into this hotel the desk clerk was "ghetto". She had a bad attitude and told us that our room was not ready and she didn't know when it would be ready. The temperature was Louisiana Hot and after a long traveling day that was not cool. After asking to speak to a manager my room was prepared and ready. We had a two room suite with a 1970s couch. The other parts of the room was update. The bathroom had mold growing in the tub. And whenever we took a shower it turned into a shower/bath because the water never drained out. The breakfast was tasty but never knew when it stopped because it was always 1/2 empty. Hubby was ready to go home by day 2. I would recommend the other Holiday Inn in Lake Charles by the Casinos.
Lastly, before I forget on day 2 I saw the housekeeper and asked her to change the sheets (for reasons I won't discuss). The housekeeper stated "we don't change the sheets but every 3 days". My hubby and I were so shocked and scared at the same time. However, when we returned she did change them. I can only imagine if we would have not caught her.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuthernBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesulphur, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles), responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

We at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites were concerned to read this review, as we pride ourselves on our levels of service and cleanliness. We apologize for any inconvenience that your experiences have caused you. Of course, we would truly appreciate the opportunity to look into the issues that arose during your stay. I encourage you to give us a call directly so that we may gather information from you in order to address these items appropriately and prevent them from happening again. We understand that you have many choices of where to stay when traveling to the Sulphur/Lake Charles area, and appreciate the opportunity to have served you. I look forward to hearing from you.

At Your Service,
Donna Martin
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

our high school team stayed 2 nights for a state championship. rooms were great, clean. I love the little vanity shelf outside of the bathroom... great for doing hair and makeup while someone else showers and steams up the bathroom! the service was excellent; everyone we encountered was over-the-top hospitable. breakfast was superb. before it closed, a staff member came around and asked if anyone wanted anything else! totally worthy of #1 ranking in Sulphur! Claiborne Christian School hopes to be back next May!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles), responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We appreciate your business and hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I have traveled the past ten years and stayed in MANY hotels but this holiday inn express had the very BEST customer service. EVERYONE was polite and very helpful from the phone call to book the room to final checkout. The breakfast buffet food was fresh and hot, the lady made sure of it. I was very impressed by the wonderful hospitality. My family and I will definately return. I have a two year old and ten year old son and the ladies were very kind and attentive to my children. Thank you so much for such a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesikab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles), responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2016

We greatly appreciate your review. Our team strives to provide great service and we are happy to hear that we met our goal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The traffic was backed up so we decided to call it a night and stay here at the Holiday Inn Express, this ended up being a very good decision. Hotel was clean and the Hut Tub hot....Yes

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jpb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles), responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2016

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Best choice of hotels of the 4 to choose that share this same property no complaints except beds are a little firm its not a vacation spot of any sorts but perfect for business

Thank Brent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles), responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This is a very nice, conveniently located to i-10 hotel. The hotel was clean and the rooms were very nice. The bed was comfortable. The 'free' breakfast is the regular fare, but the hot food was hot.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tx2Sum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Great hotel, nice and clean and very comfortable. I travel 10-12 days a month and it's nice to stay in a hotel of this quality!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sulphur hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Executive Hotel & Suites
3.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites Sulphur
Quality Suites Sulphur
#7 of 21 in Sulphur
72 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur
7.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Sulphur
Comfort Suites Sulphur
#6 of 21 in Sulphur
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles)

Address: 102 Mallard St, Sulphur, LA 70665
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Sulphur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
Price Range: £109 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sulphur, Louisiana. Our hotel is located in the heart of Sulphur Industries short distances from Phillips 66, Citgo, Axiall, Westlake Group, Sasol, LyondellBasell and Turner Industries. For the playful at heart we are minutes away from area Casinos - Isle of Capri, L'Auberge du Lac Casino and Golden Nugget Lake Charles. The horserace enthusiast will enjoy a day at Delta Down Horseracing and Casino. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is also in the heart of Louisiana Hunting and Fishing. Enjoy a round of golf at Graywood Plantations Golf Course, National Golf Course, Frasch Park, Mallard Cove. Our hotel is also conveniently located near McNeese State University. Our dedicated and friendly staff is here to make your visit to the Sulphur - Lake Charles area 'Your Home Away From Home!' We would like to host your next Corporate Meeting or Training Event in our versatile conference / meeting space up to 150 ppl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing