We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles)
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
166 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 6 days to visit family in the area. I I have very mixed feelings about this hotel. I had called a few days before we were to arrive to say we were arriving a day early and this would extend our stay to 6 days. I was told it was fine and taken care of. We arrived in town at 1:30 and went to see if we could check in and were told there was no rooms available. We wanted to attend a family event at 4 pm...so we were told to come back at 2 pm. We did and no room....We were told to come back at 3 pm, we did and still no room was ready. At 3:36 they called my home phone 1500 miles away to say we could check in. Never received that call until evening. We did check again at 4pm and was checked in but we ended up unable to attend my grand-daughters event. The room we were given had no sun, and no view except of a roof and building. It was just above the lobby so we had noise our entire stay. My hubby went to sit down in the computer chair and the arm rest fell off. The hotel did fix that the next day. There were cracks in the bathroom tile also. I found out four days later by accident the reservation had not been extended but adjusted and our check out was a day earlier than planned. Thankfully I found out in time to correct the reservation. On the positive side, housekeeping was good. The pool was nice although one night I needed pool towels and went to the front desk . The clerk handed me a stack and asked me to put them in the pool rack. Breakfast was hot, had a good selection and was nice. We used the breakfast room a lot to play card games with the kids in the evening. It was wonderful and very much appreciated. Staff was nice and did know your name after a few days. There is a nice washer and dryer on premises. I am not sure that I won't look for another hotel next visit. Just very disappointed with check in, room location when it was booked 2 months before and I still see that arm coming off the chair and my hubby almost losing his balance. Not what I expect for the cost and with a Holiday Inn Express visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TigerLily1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles), responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear TigerLily1010,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad that you liked the service of the housekeeping team as well as our breakfast. On the other hand, please accept my sincerest apologies for the negative experience you had during check-in. Kindly be assured that all comments will be acted upon. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. This helps in becoming a better hotel. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    22
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
26
5
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

For those looking for a nice place to stay in the Sulphur area, this hotel fits the bill nicely. It's not new (you can see that the bathrooms and air conditioning units still retain a bit of an older style) but the rooms have new amenities and are well-kept. The breakfast in the morning has lots of good choices. But the best thing about this hotel is the staff -- they were very welcoming and eager to be helpful. I gave it five stars (even though it's not a full service hotel with all those types of amenities) because it does a very good job of doing exactly what it is supposed to do -- provide a traveler to Sulphur with a clean, pleasant, safe place to stay.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank cherylmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesulphur, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles), responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and feedback! We pride ourselves on the level of service that we provide to our guests, and it is so exciting to hear that your experience met your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaplan, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Upon arrival at the hotel was very impressed with the cleanliness of the property and the hotel itself. everyone from the front desk on down to the housekeeping staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast area was well stocked and clean. I would like to thank Donna for the help with my reservation on such a short notice. I would definately stay there again and would like to give this hotel and staff a 10+ rating.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesulphur, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles), responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and feedback. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business very much and always look forward to return visits from our guests.

Donna Martin
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Porte, Texas
Level Contributor
179 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

good rooms very friendly staff call you by name after a few stay's best breakfast plently of parking
outdoors patio to just relax get a little sun nice quite pool weight room
this crew always always trying to please

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ticamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesulphur, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles), responded to this review, 24 September 2012
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. We work very diligently to ensure that every guest has a relaxing and enjoyable visit. We are glad that you experienced this while at our hotel and look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Donna Martin
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The hotel is very close to the casinos in Lake Charles. The room was very clean and the service was great. Breakfast options are good for a quick start in the morning. Cracker Barrel is across the parking lot for more extensive breakfast option.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hospitality911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesulphur, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles), responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We basically used this hotel as a place to sleep while traveling to Florida. As a priority club member, the front desk clerk at every priority club hotel we have ever stayed in has always given us something. Usually it's a free drink at the bar if there is a bar in the hotel. Other times its a free soda or snack. On this trip, we weren't acknowledged as priority club members nor were we offered anything other than our room keys. I know it's not much, but its always something we look forward to when staying at these hotels.

We got to the room and were impressed with the smell and cleanliness. Although the beds were a little on the firm side, they were comfortable. The bathroom didn't seem to be as clean. THere was grout missing between the tiles and hair on the floor. The bathroom didn't seem to be updated at all other than the granite countertop. I did like how the room itself was pretty big. There was plenty of room between the beds on both sides. One thing about the room I didn't care for was the air conditioner. While it stayed cool, we like to have the noise of it running all night because it helps us sleep. This air conditioner looked pretty old and there was no option to keep the fan on. We looked at the radio clock hoping for white noise options but there were none. Maybe it might be a good idea to include something like this in the rooms.

The breakfast food was fairly good. The only thing we didn't care for were the eggs with cheese already mixed in. The cheese was really runny and just tasted really odd. Also, the orange juice was not very good at all. Might want to consider having some other options for drinks.

Other than these things, it was a decent hotel. It is definitely good enough for an overnight stay. If I were here longer than that, I'd probably stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesulphur, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles), responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Stephen,

Thank you so much for sharing your review. We strive to maintain the highest levels of quality, service, and value for our guests, and it's feedback such as this that helps us identify areas that we can improve upon in order to provide great experiences for future guests. We are so sorry that your stay held some challenges, and we'd really like the opportunity to make it up to you. I invite you to conact us directly so that we may discuss how best to do that. We know you have many choices when deciding where to stay in the area, and we hope that you'll choose us again next time!

Thank you,
Tracy French
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Awesome rooms great service will come again.really nice tubs and nice beds

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikemcgee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles), responded to this review, 12 July 2012
We'd love to have you back! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sulphur hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Executive Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Sulphur
Comfort Suites Sulphur
#6 of 21 in Sulphur
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lake Charles Sulphur
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles)

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles)
Address: 102 Mallard St, Sulphur, LA 70665
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Sulphur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sulphur, Louisiana. Our hotel is located in the heart of Sulphur Industries short distances from Phillips 66, Citgo, Axiall, Westlake Group, Sasol, LyondellBasell and Turner Industries. For the playful at heart we are minutes away from area Casinos - Isle of Capri, L'Auberge du Lac Casino and Golden Nugget Lake Charles. The horserace enthusiast will enjoy a day at Delta Down Horseracing and Casino. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is also in the heart of Louisiana Hunting and Fishing. Enjoy a round of golf at Graywood Plantations Golf Course, National Golf Course, Frasch Park, Mallard Cove. Our hotel is also conveniently located near McNeese State University. Our dedicated and friendly staff is here to make your visit to the Sulphur - Lake Charles area 'Your Home Away From Home!' We would like to host your next Corporate Meeting or Training Event in our versatile conference / meeting space up to 150 ppl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing