We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent meal very friendly staff”
Review of The Black Cow

The Black Cow
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Black Cow
Ranked #1 of 1 Kirk Langley B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent meal very friendly staff”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My Sister in Law made the reservation, having visited the restaurant some time before. I also checked their website, which seemed very much to my taste.

When we arrived in the evening it was raining quite fast. However, as soon as we entered the building we were greeted by a very pleasant young lady called Jessie, who made us feel very welcome.

Having shown us to our table, Jessie ran through the menu and left us to peruse it at our leisure.

Three of us opted for the Slow Braised Lamb Shank which was absolutely delicious, whilst my Brother in Law chose the Beef Burger with cheese and bacon which he said was equally tasty.

For pudding the Ladies chose the Creme Brulee and the 'Boys' devoured the Sticky Toffee Pudding with Caramel Sauce 'Yummy'.

The meal was washed down by a very quaffable Santino Merlo..

Both the meals and wine were delicious and very reasonably priced and I would happily recommend dining here.

It was well worth the 70 mile 'round trip and we'll definitely be back quite soon.

Room Tip: Did not stay here, but would definitely recommend the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonardo1519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    18
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
17
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed at this Derbyshire Inn again this last weekend 24th-27th July, have business in the area and much prefer the Black cow to faceless and large hotel options...
General manager Nigel and Bar manager Nigel are professional, most friendly and always happy to help.
Food was super and reasonably priced, and enthusiastic young chef Michael has really got the food up to a 'best of class' standard.(especially Sunday lunch),
Would recommend for any duration of stay, for a meal or a simple pint of fine ale!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank threehorseshoespub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Midlands, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Visited as a family , 5 adults and one 5 year old, for a Birthday celebration Sunday lunch a few weeks ago.
The exterior is clean pleasant and welcoming - how you would expect a country pub to look , with a charming flower garden and white picket fence! There is a side car park and also on road parking to the front of the pub alongside the village green.
The bar area is well served with tables and seating , and appeared clean, with no sticky tables or empty glasses on the tables. We were acknowledged immediately and served with pre- meal drinks , awaiting our tablet at one of the lounge tables, which gave us the opportunity to look through the menus.
Although the pub was quite busy - we had booked in advance and booking a table is advisable - the staff were very attentive and we were not rushed through to our table in the dining room behind the bar, there is a second dining area beyond this and bar food is also available . The dining area is pleasant with comfortable dining chairs and pleasant light decor.
We were given plenty of time to choose our meal preferences, and wine , and service was friendly and knowledgeable. The usual meat and veg Sunday Lunch choices were on offer as was a fish option and vegetarian option, a child's portion was also offered and staff were very accommodating with our 5 year olds choice of bread and butter for starters instead of any other options.
The wine list was a pleasant surprise offering various options and some special more expensive vintages.
Food when it arrived was plentiful and tasty with condiments and extra sauces offered , and all made for an excellent tasty sunday lunch, all plates were cleared , and some of us were sadly too full for pudding but pudding options did appear very tempting!
Nothing was too much trouble for the pleasant manager and staff which all helped to make it a lovely and relaxing lunchtime event.
We will return again - possibly to try an evening meal , or an afternoon cream tea which we note was offered !!

Room Tip: Book a table for Sunday Lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northants
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

visited on Saturday July 26th 2014.
Chose this pub for location near Kedleston Hall, (country show there was poor) , the meal &
service were excellent & made up for the show !!
We both had chicken & mushroom pie, delicious & the host was genuinely friendly
making it a pleasant evening, beautifully arranged dining room, the whole place
clean & pleasant, would go there again every time.

Room Tip: whole area quiet & peaceful, lovely village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

How lucky we were to find The Black Cow. Great accommodation, great dinner and great breakfast! Staff were very friendly and provided very good service. Whilst this was a popular hotel we found the accommodation in the newly built section very quiet and comfortable although low roof rafters could prove to be a hazard for people a little taller than us!
Convenient onsite parking.
We would be very happy to stay here again if visiting this part of England.
Mature couple, Leichhardt, Australia

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Returned to The Black Cow Saturday 5th July 2014. From the moment we arrived until we checked out, we were so well looked after by manager Nigel and barman Jon. Friendly and attentive, without being cheesy or over the top.
Very comfortable room called "Angus", and although I understand double beds need to consist of twins zipped together, still feel that is the only part of the stay that will continue to fail to meet the expectations that the other aspects of the stay succeeded to meet.
We had an absolutely amazing meal in the restaurant, which was perfectly cooked, and promptly served. Breakfast also was pleasure - freshly cooked to suit my 8.59 time slot!
We shall be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Angus was a good room, Kerry was a bit too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyMartin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We wanted a rural pub and thats what we got. Out in the country. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We were shown to our rooms which were very clean, crisp, cozy and modern. My husbands dinner was very nice mine could have been better but never the less the beer was good. Hope to return one day xx

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitsy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirk Langley
2.5 mi away
The Farmhouse at Mackworth
8.5 mi away
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draycott in the Clay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Derby North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Cow

Property: The Black Cow
Address: The Green, Kirk Langley DE6 5BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Kirk Langley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kirk Langley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Cow 4*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing