We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”

The Secret Garden at Dundonald Nurseries
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Dundonald
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$11
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our newly built 125 seater restaurant and gift shop is cosy and full of character with vaulted ceilings, old beams, huge fireplaces and Belfast brick. If you gaze out the window you will see beautiful views towards Stormont and the Craigantlet Hills, we have a winning combination.Using locally sourced products to give you that unforgettable local taste, all freshly prepared by our chefs! For a special treat why not try our sumptuous afternoon teas served on silver cake stands. Perfect to share with a friend on a day out.We also cater for coeliac dietary requirements and those seeking gluten free options. Most of our homemade soups are gluten free on a daily basis. If its breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea or our late night menu we are the place to be. You will experience our warm, friendly and dedicated team of staff, our Antica coffee beans, wood roasted in Trieste and award winning Thompson tea in a homely and comfortable environment creating a buzzing atmosphere to top it off. Outside are beautiful gardens and a two acre nursery full of plants, tubs and hanging baskets grown by ourselves so do not hesitate to ask for free plant advice from our knowledgeable horticulturists! We are open Monday to Saturday with late opening Thursday and Saturday Evening. Check out our Evening section to see our Thursday and Saturday night menu. We also can cater for private events, just drop us a call or email and we will get straight back to you!We are not just a restaurant, we are an experience!
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

What a beautiful place great food well presented and lovely staff so polite and helpful. If you have not been it is one not to miss you will not be disappointed. The views are amazing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqui465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Secret_Garden400, Manager at The Secret Garden at Dundonald Nurseries, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review we are glad you appreciate the effort we are making to provide a good quality and value for money dining experience. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    90
    40
    29
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
382 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“One of my favourite restaurants!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This is my second visit to the secret garden and once again it was first class! The food was fantastic - the prawn cocktail and smoked salmon started with wheaten bread is amazing and I've had it on both occasions. This time I had the lamb for main course which was very nicely cooked too and the desserts are great! All portion sizes are pretty good and it's definitely great value for money including the fact that you can bring your own alcohol. I love the setting and the service is always excellent. The young guy who greeted us on the way in was very helpful too. The restaurant is very popular as it only opens on Thursday and Saturday evenings is it is recommended to book a table! I definitely plan to return soon for a third visit in the next few months!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Belfastguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Secret_Garden400, Manager at The Secret Garden at Dundonald Nurseries, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review we are glad you appreciate the effort we are making to provide a good quality and value for money dining experience. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This place is fantastic, food is brilliant, lots of choice on the menu, portion sizes are good size. The staff are very friendly and attentive

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Secret_Garden400, Manager at The Secret Garden at Dundonald Nurseries, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review we are glad you appreciate the effort we are making to provide a good quality and value for money dining experience. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comber
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent encounter!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

From start to finish my experience was top class. The food was of a very high standard, arriving in plentiful quantity. I was made to feel extremely welcome by every member of staff who each treated me and my family like royalty. With amazing views from the windows and a perfectly suited atmosphere to top things off, I can't recommend it enough. Thank you! I will most definitely be back!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Leertbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Secret_Garden400, Manager at The Secret Garden at Dundonald Nurseries, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review we are glad you appreciate the effort we are making to provide a good quality and value for money dining experience. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the Secret Garden”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Always love going to the Secret Garden. Great food and great service in a very friendly and welcoming atmosphere. And it has a brilliant gift shop. If you haven't been already, you really have to give it a go. A real treat.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Secret_Garden400, Manager at The Secret Garden at Dundonald Nurseries, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review we are glad you appreciate the effort we are making to provide a good quality and value for money dining experience. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Secret Garden at Dundonald Nurseries also viewed

Dundonald, County Down
 

Been to The Secret Garden at Dundonald Nurseries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing