We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to make room for a bit of cake - but we had too! 😁”

The Secret Garden at Dundonald Nurseries
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Dundonald
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$12
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our newly built 125 seater restaurant and gift shop is cosy and full of character with vaulted ceilings, old beams, huge fireplaces and Belfast brick. If you gaze out the window you will see beautiful views towards Stormont and the Craigantlet Hills, we have a winning combination.Using locally sourced products to give you that unforgettable local taste, all freshly prepared by our chefs! For a special treat why not try our sumptuous afternoon teas served on silver cake stands. Perfect to share with a friend on a day out.We also cater for coeliac dietary requirements and those seeking gluten free options. Most of our homemade soups are gluten free on a daily basis. If its breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea or our late night menu we are the place to be. You will experience our warm, friendly and dedicated team of staff, our Antica coffee beans, wood roasted in Trieste and award winning Thompson tea in a homely and comfortable environment creating a buzzing atmosphere to top it off. Outside are beautiful gardens and a two acre nursery full of plants, tubs and hanging baskets grown by ourselves so do not hesitate to ask for free plant advice from our knowledgeable horticulturists! We are open Monday to Saturday with late opening Thursday and Saturday Evening. Check out our Evening section to see our Thursday and Saturday night menu. We also can cater for private events, just drop us a call or email and we will get straight back to you!We are not just a restaurant, we are an experience!
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

Busy wee spot but service was efficient, friendly and our food came out hot and fresh. Even tho we were abso stuffed from our lunch we couldn’t resist a dessert, was delish. Rolled out of the place

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank WeeLegs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Secret_Garden400, Assistant Manager at The Secret Garden at Dundonald Nurseries, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our desserts are hard to resist. Our in house baker works hard to give our customers a variety of sweet treats that also taste great!

Look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Visited the restaruant with my partner & daughter for the 1st time today. It was recommended to us by a friend who visits regularly and we were not disappointed. Food was brilliant, the staff were friendly and very helpful, plus the setting & decor was fantastic. We will definitely return soon.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank FellowTraveler88901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Secret_Garden400, Assistant Manager at The Secret Garden at Dundonald Nurseries, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a kind review. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

I love this place, I came here with a friend and the food was great and the staff went beyond and couldn't help us enough. Customer service is excellent here, I can't recommend it enough. I will be back without a doubt.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank jacquib516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Secret_Garden400, Assistant Manager at The Secret Garden at Dundonald Nurseries, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Hello Jacqui

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a kind review. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the waiting staff.

Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here last week. We were seated quickly even though they were very busy. Lovely atmosphere and the staff were very polite and friendly. The menu choice is very good and portion sizes are big. The gift shop is an added bonus to the garden centre and restaurant. Would definitely reccommend here for a meal its a hidden gem in dundonald. Will be returning for afternoon tea very soon as i have heard very good reports about it.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank carolyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Secret_Garden400, Assistant Manager at The Secret Garden at Dundonald Nurseries, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Hello Carolyn

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your experience here and I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our staff. We always have a special or 2 on each day to add more selection to our menu also. Our gift shop is in the middle of an extension. The gift shop grand opening night will be help on 1st November which you can book a table for now. There will be food, music, discounts and other new additions for you to have a browse around. Our number is 02890484000.


Look forward to seeing you again in the future.


Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Recently had breakfast in the Secret Garden, pancakes were devine and service was fantastic. Would higly recommend and will definately return.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Secret_Garden400, Assistant Manager at The Secret Garden at Dundonald Nurseries, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Hello Gemma

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a kind review. Our pancakes are homemade and i will be sure to pass on your compliments to the chefs.

Look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Secret Garden at Dundonald Nurseries also viewed

Dundonald, County Down
 
Dundonald, County Down
Dundonald, County Down
 

Been to The Secret Garden at Dundonald Nurseries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing