We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Climbing great fun but...”

Clip 'n Climb Dundonald
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Dundonald
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Clip n Climb is based at the Dundonald International Ice Bowl. Pass reception and head left into the main arena where you will find our reception desk on your left along with the Starbucks coffee dock. We are closed on Monday's, but we are open every bank holiday and school holidays. We will also open up out of hours for groups of 10 or more climbers.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Climbing great fun but...”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Went with our local GB group and it was amazing to see them having fun, enjoying themselves and also having a bit of a challenge too. So we definitely enjoyed that aspect. There is lots to keep you busy for the hour which is great because there isn't the pressure of a queue of people waiting below. Also really pleased by how well our group got stuck in-even the little ones.

But, as someone coming with a youth group where parental consent is required there were some concerns. When you have to sign a disclaimer on behalf of the group which was not provided before the visit, or when booking so you don't see it until you read through on the day. Accidents happen and that's the way it goes, but it's nice to be able to keep yourself in the right.

Secondly, the "training". As leaders over 18 we were given fluorescent vests that has "clip n climb clickers" on the back, meaning kids would come up to you asking you to clip them on to the walls and activities. Considering that you are given minimal training (I mean minimal!) next to a very noisy ice skating rink, it's a responsibility that is a bit misplaced. We thought the activities would all be manned by their staff and they weren't. So some of our leaders, paying £15 themselves and never having done it before were getting kids from different groups wanting them to clip them in or unhook them. So between that and even just looking after clipping in our own group the leaders didn't actually get to do much themselves.

Despite what they said about staff in previous reviews, we didn't have the same experience really. Some were friendly, but others would seem annoyed when you asked them for help, or were quite sharp. Others would maybe be floating about, but left you to sort out your group. One particularly shouted up at one of our girls who was nervous and scared her.

So yeah, I mean all in all, the activities are great, but I wouldn't really describe it as the most professional in terms of staff and setup. I wouldn't say don't go - there is lots to do and our group enjoyed themselves. There are some activities you have to pay extra for, but that was very clear beforehand.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank H884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    15
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Facility”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

2nd trip here with the junior of the critics and he was keen as mustard to get on the walls.The staff might be young but are very professional in making sure everyone is safe on the walls and really make the kids feel like they have achieved something. There are numerous walls with differing degrees of difficulty but out personal favourite is the Big Cheese. The Leap of Faith and slide are worth the additional small charge but even if you don't want to shell out for these there is plenty to keep the kids amused.
One small improvement would be a time limit on some of the more popular attractions, especially Stairway to Heaven, it can be a little frustrating as some kids seem to want to milk this one, parent want pictures but there is a queue of impatient little ones...just a very very small gripe and certainly wouldn't stop us coming again

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Allister M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“1st Killinchy Guides had a fantastic night!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is a fantastic trip for any age - worth the expense and great fun! Thank you to the enthusiastic workers!
1st Killinchy Guides

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JMcClements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely day out, wish it was longer”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Went to clip n climb as a family day out (group of 6, all adults) There were lots of other children during our time slot but this was not a bother as there were plenty of walls to share and all adults were given a key to work the harness so we were able to climb the walls at relatively good speed. The "leap of faith" and "stair way to heaven" were great challenges for adults and very enjoyable! Adults not participating were allowed to spectate the climbs and take photos which I thought was really good as it was enjoyable to watch loved ones have fun. Overall it was a brilliant day out.

My only criticism is that an one hour slot isn't enough to jump the leap of faith and queue for the stairway to heaven. During the one hour slot, only 2 walls were climbed due to the waiting. I think extending the slots to one hour and 30 minutes will be better to cover more walls.

Helpful?
2 Thank coolcat91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“AQE reward”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Fantastic experience, took my son for a treat & will definitely be back. The staff are unbelievable & gave my son so much confidence to do the harder stations, well worth the £14 I paid for it.

Helpful?
1 Thank mal675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D, Owner at Clip 'n Climb Dundonald, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We believe that Clip n Climb is a great confidence builder and a great family friendly experience. We are now running a Rockstars course as a longer developmental after schools class. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clip 'n Climb Dundonald also viewed

 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Castlewellan, County Down
 

Been to Clip 'n Climb Dundonald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing