We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paul and Lori are Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dansereau House
Ranked #1 of 2 Thibodaux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Paul and Lori are Awesome!”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

An amazing experience! Very south Louisiana. An amazing experience. The inn keepers are very detailed and accommodating. I loved the homey feel and the breakfast was great. Best place to stay in thibadaux!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahHMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    15
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
97
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I recently returned from a belated 60th birthday trip with my sister and best friend. We spent three nights in New Orleans and then spent two nights @ Plantations: Oak Alley and Nottoway. The thought of a night in a chain hotel was not appealing. We called another plantation, Madewood, which did not have accomodations. But received a referral for the Dansereau House. What a treat. The breakfast was wonderful. The accomodations were lovely and the towels were plush. Our dinner at a local restaurant, Fremins, was my favorite meal of the trip. It was nice to get away from the tourists and spend time in a very welcoming community. Lori and Peter, our innkeepers could not have been more helpful and pleasant. It would have been tempting to stay another night and explore but, alas, I had to return home.

Room Tip: Our second floor room had wonderful natural light and accomodated a roll-away bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorothyOxnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Dansereau House is perfectly located and the spring board into the MAJESTIC PLANTATION REGION. It's located about 25 minutes from Oak Alley and The Laura.
The Dansereua House....more like a MANSION is PRISTINE and absolutely beautiful! This B&B is in a very quiet location, easy to find, safe and within walking distance from some real southern cooking.
Lori and Paul were the EPITOME of SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY! They were wonderfully accomodating in helping us with directions, interesting sites and made us a beautifully orchestrated breakfast. This breakfast looked as if it came directly out of "Top Chef". It was unreal, fresh fruit, pancakes,quich, delicious, beautiful and yummy.The bedroom was perfect, and the bathroom had pleny of hot water and was stocked with extra nice soaps and shampoos. The ice water and chocolates in our room added a special touch. We loved the wrap around balcony and was impressed that they had a elevator.
This was our first visit to Louisiana and we wanted to experience the south. The DANSEREAU House has it all... great location, awesome hospitality, immaculate, grace, beauty and a yummy breakfast.
Ask Paul for directions to the Laurel Valley Rd, can't miss these great sites, and be sure to visit the grocery store, they are really nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanjustjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukee, Iowa, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Dansereau House was fantastic. Great staff, great food, great location.

Room Tip: The Evangeline room was a great place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelHarmsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

After a long rainy day of driving after a Swamp Tour which rained down 17" of rain in Cajun Country, we ended the day at the Dansereau House.(For real, on March 12 in Lafayette County there was 17" of rain!) Paul and Lori were wonderful. Paul gave us a wonderful tour of the fantastic house while Lori washed and dried our soaking clothes! They were such great hosts. The house is absolutely beautiful, yet very accomodating. Paul helped my husband with our luggage and there was an elevator for tired old ladies which was perfect for me. We had comfy, wonderful night's sleep. Our breakfast was delicious-fresh fruit stuffed in yogurt parfaits, delicious warm, homemade muffins, and Eggs Benedict. Our only regret is that we probably won't be in that area again anytime soon. But if you are, check it out, you wouldn't want to miss it.

Room Tip: Every room we saw was great. We stayed in the Dansereau Room and it was perfect. If you want to ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nankasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Dansereau House Bed & Breakfast while attending a family wedding in Houma, LA. We shared a room on the 3rd floor and felt as if we were living in a castle. The room was absolutely gorgeous with beautiful chandeliers, antique furniture, and a fireplace. The bathroom had a marvelous jacuzzi tub and a beautiful marble walk in shower. Paul was very curteous and gave us a tour of the entire home. Lori served us a gourmet breakfast each morning in their fine dining room. We were treated like royalty and hated to leave. Thank you for such a wonderful time. I will definately visit the Dansereau House again!

Lisa Mokwa

Room Tip: I loved the 3rd floor suite due to the extra accomodations and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
188 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

In March 2011 after a week in New Orleans we ventured to Thibodaux and other Cajun towns to explore history/birding in this region new to us. A friend whose ancestors hail from the area recommended Dansereau House. The owner, a LA poltician, apparently bought it to preserve its historic character (and help the town to do so); the managers are a cultivated, tasteful couple from Florida who made our stay most interesting. The rooms are amazing, beautifully (and historically) furnished, with ceilings about 18 feet high and a wraparound veranda. On the downstairs veranda cocktails are served, and a local man played guitar the evening we were there. An ample, delicious breakfast with fruit, omelettes, and fine coffee. We highly recommend, it was reasonably priced for the historical experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thibodaux
0.4 mi away
Carmel Inn and Suites
Carmel Inn and Suites
#1 of 5 in Thibodaux
325 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thibodaux
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Thibodaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Thibodaux
Motel 6 Thibodaux
#5 of 5 in Thibodaux
42 reviews
12.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houma
21.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Donaldsonville
Comfort Inn Donaldsonville
#2 of 6 in Donaldsonville
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dansereau House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dansereau House

Property: The Dansereau House
Address: 506 Saint Philip St, Thibodaux, LA 70301-3234
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Thibodaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thibodaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dansereau House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recapture the past in the historic Dansereau House, located in the lush beauty of Southern Louisiana. Built in 1847, the house retains its historic architectural majesty, while being lovingly restored and equipped with the amenities of today.Relax on the veranda or your balcony and enjoy the beauty of the gardens. Or, stay inside and curl up in one of our many quiet corners with refreshments and a good book. Located in downtown Thibodaux, unique shopping and fine dining are all within walking distance. Remember forever those special moments in your life held here in the Dansereau House. Whether in the sparkling beauty of the mansion, or in the lovely garden, your occasion will always be memorable. Weddings, receptions, parties, and meeting all become more festive in our beautiful house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Dansereau House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing