We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Dansereau!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dansereau House
Ranked #1 of 2 Thibodaux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Step back in time at this awesome antebellum mansion and enjoy a fantastic breakfast! My husband and I stopped over here for a night on our way from Natchez to New Orleans. We pulled up for a drink and bite to eat at nearby bar, The Foundry, and called Gayle, the manager of the Dansereau who came and met us so we could follow her the short drive to the house. We were really impressed and, as we were the only guests, we were lucky enough to stay in the Governors suite on the top floor. Gayle made us a fabulous breakfast the next morning and showed us around the house, including the observation room above the attic. The house is beautifully maintained inside with lovely old furniture and sumptuous bedding and curtains etc. We could have stayed at an ordinary hotel chain but instead had a luxury en-suite room in a house that was part of American history. we would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Gareth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for The Dansereau House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

This place can be used for a bead and breakfast, hosting events, and a variety of activities where you may want a nice historical classy backdrop.

The bar is also open on Thursday nights and they have live entertainment most nights when the weather is cooperative. Small Hors d'oeuvres are also available. Get a drink and listen to live music.

If you are only going to be spending a night or two in Thibodaux, this is the place you want to stay.

Room Tip: Call ahead for options.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RovingProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Words cannot describe the level of enjoyment that we experienced! The house is gorgeous, the staff (Jeffrey & Gale) were incredible, and the hospitality was over the top! I do not think five stars is a high enough score to describe this bed and breakfast experience! Truly a hidden gem!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thessaly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure to stay at this unique and memorable bed and breakfast for our anniversary. The hosts were outstanding, the food was absolutely delicious, and the decor was charming and timeless. The Governor's Suite is gorgeous and spacious! We were so appreciative the innkeepers' hospitality and genuine warmth. We highly recommend the Dansereau House and hope to return!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaKhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We live in Thibodaux and chose a one night stay at The Dansereau House mainly because its proximity to a 35 year class reunion about a block away. Vincent was quite welcoming and gladly gave us a tour of this beautiful home. The pictures on the website do this place no justice. The size of the rooms are massive, the decor is quite beautiful, ornate but quite tasteful.
I myself, not one usually impressed by " old world charm" was quite impressed. Everything was very clean and functional. Bedding was quite comfortable. We only had time for a short stroll around the wrap-around porch to view surrounding area from above, but very obvious the grounds were beautiful as well. Breakfast was wonderful. Fruit plate with yogurt, followed by pain perdue for my husband and grits and grillades for me. All quite tasty!! Thanks Lola!! This would be a wonderful place to spend a nice quiet weekend with your special someone. Highly recommend!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MerryP829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The Dansereau House is like stepping back in time. The home is beautifully furnished. The second floor balcony wraps abound the house giving guests a 360 degree view of the charming town of Thibodaux. It is a wonderful base for exploration of Cajun country, sugar plantations or New Orleans. The breakfast of bananas foster french toast was outstanding!
We were lucky enough to have stayed on a Thursday evening. Our hosts Vincent and Lola informed us that the Dansereau has served as a
meeting place for the older locals for many years and to please join them. What a treat! Some brought instruments and played music in the parlor while we visited. Most were from families that went back generations in Thibodaux including a sweet lady who told me that one of Dr. Dansereau's son's had delivered her at her home.
Vincent and Lola thank you for everything including directions to Verti Marte in the French Quarter! You are a gift and a blessing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The Dansereau is a beautiful house in the heart of a quite, downtown Thibodaux. Vincent and Lola were outstanding hosts and cooks. Each of our 3 mornings we would wake to a wonderful home cooked breakfast. This B&B is the ideal location for a southern Louisiana stay. You are 15 minutes south of Plantation Alley and 20 minutes north of a great swamp tour from Munson's. When your day of site seeing is complete you can walk a couple of blocks to a Fremin's, one of Thibodaux fine dining restaurants or enjoy a Pizza at Pepper's Pizzeria. When we come back through here in a few years we will certainly stay at the Dansereau House and hope we are lucky enough to see Vincent and Lola again. We highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JGreene2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thibodaux
0.4 mi away
Carmel Inn and Suites
Carmel Inn and Suites
#1 of 5 in Thibodaux
340 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thibodaux
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Thibodaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#4 of 5 in Thibodaux
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Thibodaux
Motel 6 Thibodaux
#5 of 5 in Thibodaux
42 reviews
12.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dansereau House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dansereau House

Address: 506 Saint Philip St, Thibodaux, LA 70301-3234
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Thibodaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thibodaux
Price Range: £121 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dansereau House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recapture the past in the historic Dansereau House, located in the lush beauty of Southern Louisiana. Built in 1847, the house retains its historic architectural majesty, while being lovingly restored and equipped with the amenities of today.Relax on the veranda or your balcony and enjoy the beauty of the gardens. Or, stay inside and curl up in one of our many quiet corners with refreshments and a good book. Located in downtown Thibodaux, unique shopping and fine dining are all within walking distance. Remember forever those special moments in your life held here in the Dansereau House. Whether in the sparkling beauty of the mansion, or in the lovely garden, your occasion will always be memorable. Weddings, receptions, parties, and meeting all become more festive in our beautiful house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Dansereau House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing