We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carmel Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thibodaux
Certificate of Excellence
tahlequah
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very pleased!!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Very clean. Very friendly. Anthony greeted with cookies, lemonade and and great hospitality. He was super friendly. Our rooms were clean and comfy beds. The breakfast was outstanding. I would highly recommend this place. Felt very safe as well.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thunderfan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmelowner, Owner at Carmel Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of our hotel and staff! It is such a privilege to serve guests here in Thibodaux, and knowing that you felt well-served while here is a great reward for us. Our owners take good pride in the hotel and we are glad that you felt welcome by them. We wish you all the best in your future travels, and we look forward to the honor of serving you again in the future!

Greg Gaubert,
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    68
    23
    2
    3
See reviews for
113
78
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Powhatan, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

From the moment we arrived at Carmel Inn, the staff was extremely helpful and service was always delivered with a smile. The breakfast is awesome, served by the sweetest lady, and dinner is complimentary on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday nights. You'll have local Cajun dishes made for dinner as well as some favorites, such as white beans, and red beans, and there are even choices for the kid's and for picky teens as well. The pool is kept extremely clean and very well maintained. The pool man was out there each morning keeping the pool area cleaned and the flowers and plants healthy. Everything about Carmel Inn was fabulous. It is located perfectly to everything you could possibly want to do in the area. We will be back!!

Room Tip: We were placed in a room by the pool and we never had an issue with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmelowner, Owner at Carmel Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your awesome review of our hotel! We are always pleased to hear the testimony's of our hotel and service so that we can better our management for our guests. Your stay is the most important part of what we do. We are thrilled to know that Ms Josephine was so kind and a great help to you with breakfast. Also Mr. Zachary was thrilled to know that his help with the pool pleased you as well. We work hard here at Carmel Inn so you don't have to! Come back and see us soon!

Greg Gaubert,
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Perfect stay at this family own establishment where you can feel the personal touches. Awesome pool and free breakfast and dinner! Walking distances to Nicholls campus as well as downtown shopping and night life! Fair prices and sits right on the bayou. No sense looking anywhere further.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmelowner, Owner at Carmel Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of our hotel! It is such a privilege to serve guests here in Thibodaux, and knowing that you felt well-served while here is a great reward for us. We hope that you will come and enjoy the pool and meals again on your next visit! We wish you all the best in your future travels, and we look forward to the honor of serving you again in the future!

Greg Gaubert,
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thibodaux
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Our golf organization recently held our annual banquet inside the Carmel Inn's "Le Bistro." Over 75 of our guests attended and all raved about how beautiful the venue was. I was thrilled about the accommodating staff too! Loved it!!!!!!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bowerrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmelowner, Owner at Carmel Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It is our privilege to be able to serve our guests and give them the best stay possible. It delights us to know that we can allow services besides just an overnight stay to our guests. We are so glad to know that your golf organization enjoyed our bistro! We hope to see you all again soon! Take care and safe travels!

Greg Gaubert,
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, La
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here for one night while exploring the area. We usually stay in chain motels so this was a bit of a stretch. However. we were very pleasantly surprised! The hotel is in the old style with all the rooms opening outside. However it was evident that there has been a lot of renovation. Rooms were very clean and came equipped with microwaves and refrigerators with some even having small stove tops. Beds were very comfortable with duvets instead of bedspreads. A central outdoor pool is surrounded by lots of lawn chairs. I used the fitness center which was small but adequate (3 machines). The whole hotel is decorated with lots of pictures and memorabilia about the area and about the convent which once occupied the land where the hotel stands. The owners are super friendly and very forthcoming with lots of history about the area. The hotel is located in a very central area, close to restaurants( although I'm not sure if they are within walking distance). The area seemed quite safe with some old historic looking homes close by. In addition to a standard type breakfast (a good number of hot items but not much fresh fruit) there was a light dinner included in the price. We did not have it but saw the menu which seemed to have quite a few items.. All this for a very reasonable price ($80 a night or $72 with senior discount). This place would be ideal for an extended stay. The only modern chain hotel in town is the Hampton located in a further out newer area and it was $130 a night! The Carmel in my opinion is a much better value and much more reflective of the history and ambiance of the area!

Room Tip: Tell the owners what you want and they will go out of their way to find the perfect room for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudySlidell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmelowner, Owner at Carmel Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It is an honor to provide a comfortable stay for so many of our customers! We are glad and thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay here at Carmel Inn & Suites of Thibodaux. It delights us to know that you enjoyed everything from the fitness center to the location of our hotel! We are so glad that our staff was so warm and welcoming to you. Safe travels and hope to see you again soon!

Greg Gaubert
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked this hotel because it was pet friendly and the pictures online looked descent. Well, when we arrived and pulled around back to our room, we were greatly disappointed. The room was nothing like the pictures online and had an odor combination of mold and old, set-in pet urine. I understand we were in a pet friendly room but would expect the room to cleaned with extra care because of that, especially since we had to pay a $40 pet fee.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmelowner, Owner at Carmel Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

The Carmel Inn does value all of their guests. Its unfortunate that we did not meet your expectations. I take responsibility to improve future guests in room 142, which is next in restoration. The carpets will be removed and replaced with tile. Also we will have new artwork that will be in place, drop ceiling and old bath to be eliminated, and new lighting for the room. We have five certified pet rooms that are in high demand. It is difficult to make a decision to leave our guests stranded since there are no other pet friendly hotels in Thibodaux.

As a courtesy to you we invite you again to evaluate on our new improvements. Please contact me, Greg L. Gaubert, to assist you personally. This hotel has been in our family for 41 years and we strive for excellence. Every guest counts. Thank you.

Owner,
Greg Gaubert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diboll, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Very good beds. Room clean. Our room was king bed and was very small. The pool looked very nice but we did not swim in it. Hot breakfast was pretty good. Yes if I was in the area I would stay there again. If you are going to Laurel Plantation it is just down the road.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmelowner, Owner at Carmel Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of our hotel! It is such a privilege to serve guests here in Thibodaux, and knowing that you felt well-served while here is a great reward for us. We hope that you will come and enjoy the pool on your next visit! We wish you all the best in your future travels, and we look forward to the honor of serving you again in the future!

Greg Gaubert,
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thibodaux
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thibodaux
1.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Thibodaux
12.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Thibodaux
Motel 6 Thibodaux
#5 of 5 in Thibodaux
42 reviews
1.3 mi away
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#4 of 5 in Thibodaux
43 reviews
12.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Houma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Inn and Suites

Property: Carmel Inn and Suites
Address: 400 E 1st St, LA Highway 1, Thibodaux, LA 70301-3328
Region: United States > Louisiana > Thibodaux
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thibodaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-owned Carmel Inn and Suites has been making guests feel at home for over 40 years with wonderful hospitality and comfortable accommodations! Surrounded by large oak trees and southern mansions along Bayou Lafourche, the Carmel Inn is built at the historic landmark site that was once a Mount Carmel convent and school, dating back to before the Civil War. Elements of the original building were preserved and restored, and incorporated into the present structure of this unique hotel. We boast almost 100 spacious rooms, a pool, fitness center, and computer room. Enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast before you explore nearby historical sites, Cajun country, and more! Whether you're planning a weekend getaway, a family reunion, or a fabulous wedding, Carmel Inn and Suites looks forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carmel Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Thibodaux
Ramada Thibodaux
Thibodaux Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing