We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay now with new swimming pool and bowling”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hlohovec
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Hranicni Zamecek
Ranked #2 of 2 Hlohovec B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“Beautiful place to stay now with new swimming pool and bowling”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We are regular guests here and this hotel is going better and better. Surrounding area of Lednice-Valtice is just amazing. This and newly opened bowling and swimming pool makes this hotel our favorite place to stay in Czech Republic. Despite little bit average food service it is definitely the best you can get in this area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xaxik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    12
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
9
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

On 2012.09.07 and .08 my wife, mother and I visited the Lednice - Valtice ensemble of palaces and parks. Lednice – Valtice is situated on the Czech side of the Czech - Austrian border, more precisely at the border between Moravia and Niederösterreich. It was developed from the 17th to the 20th century on an estate of the aristocratic Liechtenstein family. Measuring 200 km², it is one of the largest man-made landscape projects in Europe. Along with the baroque palace in Valtice and the neo-classical and neo-Gothic chateaux in Lednice, the area also contains numerous other neo-classical and romantic follies in a setting of French and English parks laid out according to the rules of 19th century romantic landscaping. In 1996 the area was added to UNESCO’s list of world cultural heritage sites.

We first intended to take up lodgings at the Hubertus hotel, which forms part of the Valtice chateau. But it was fully booked more than one month in advance, no doubt owing to the on-going vintage feasts. I have written a separate Tripadvisor review on the restaurant of the Hubertus hotel. Also housed in the Valtice palace is the Národní Vinařské Centrum (Czech State Wine Centre), which is, in itself, worth a degustation detour for lovers of Moravian wines. I have also written a review on the Vinařské Centrum.

So we opted instead for the four star Hraniční zámeček (Frontier small palace) Hotel, bridging the Hlohovec marshes midway between Lednice and Valtice. This neo-classical zámeček (see photos 61 & 62) was originally used as hunting lodge by the Lichtensteins' and their guests. Until the 1st World War the border between Austria and Moravia within the Austro-Hungarian Empire ran straight through the middle of the lodge: the motto can still be read on the back façade ,,zwischen Œsterreich und Mæhrenʺ (photo 64). After the War the victorious Allies confiscated the area until past Valtice to the south from the defeated Austria and bestowed it to the nascent Czechoslovakia. Without going into politics, a single administration running the Valtice – Lednice estate allows for a unified policy. The historic building is nowadays used as restaurant and events venue. The hotel rooms have been moved to a newly built wing. We hired a two-room ''apartman'' (one would rather say suite in English) with nr. 25. The service, lodgings and meals were between three and four star level. A one-course meal for three with wine, which couldn't be put on the room but had to be paid at once, costed 1,290 CZK. The room bill, without drinks, was 5,980 CZK.

Beautiful and quiet countryside setting, ideal as starting point for exploring Lednice - Valtice.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PabloAyala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Divonne-les-Bains, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The hotel was very clean, comfortable and quiet, in a beautiful rural location yet close to the tourist highlights of Miklov, Veltice and Lednice. It lacked the warmth of welcom we had become used to in adjacent Austria. The restaurant was opulent, but the food was only moderate.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank screenname059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europe
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

have been in the restaurant of the hotel - haven't stayed there - various times for many years, especially in summer lots of cyclists recharge their "batteries" out there on a nice patio, excellent food, nice ambiente, at a huge, idyllic pond in front of the nicely renovated border-castle, offer a wide range of different foods, all of which tasty and delicious;
the only negative aspect:
it seems the cook indulges in frying potatoes - served in any style - until they soak with fat;
that should be changed, there are healthier ways of preparing side dishes like potatoes, without drowning them in a deep fat fryer;
summarizing, we'll go there again. there are nice attractions in the nearby villages (valtice,lednice ) as well, to walk off the calories.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolf1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bratislava
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

it is one of castles in area Valtice-Lednice-Breclav, very interesting, very quiet, ideal for couples,family,friends or business trips,rooms constitute the modern part of the hotel and the restaurant is directly in the castle, very good breakfast, very good food, and very good moravian wines, nice and quiet surrounding, nature, lakes,cultural and historical monuments.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannaBratislava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hlohovec
2.5 mi away
My Hotel
My Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lednice
71 reviews
2.5 mi away
Spa Resort Lednice
Spa Resort Lednice
#1 of 2 in Lednice
32 reviews
1.0 mi away
Penzion Na Lednicke
Penzion Na Lednicke
#1 of 2 in Hlohovec
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apartmany Belveder
Apartmany Belveder
#1 of 3 in Hlohovec
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hranicni Zamecek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hranicni Zamecek

Property: Hotel Hranicni Zamecek
Address: Hlohovec 16, Hlohovec 691 43, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Hlohovec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hlohovec
Number of rooms: 55

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing