We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little slice of rustic heaven”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Le Beny Bocage, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Q5682SHja...
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little slice of rustic heaven”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a week at Le Moulin l'Eveque. We stayed in the biggest Gite which has three bedrooms and comes with its own outdoor space including a charcoal BBQ and loungers. Come the afternoon the garden is a sun trap and a great spot to relax after a days sightseeing. We found the Gite to be perfect for our stay. We are a family of four (2 adults, 2 kids ages 9 and 6), my sister and fiancé joined us from Australia as well and our dog Alfie. The Gite accommodated us perfectly and there was plenty of chairs around the table (both indoor and outside) and in the lounge room for everyone. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need - just remember to bring enough food and drinks for your first night or two as there wasn't much open in the little town on Saturday. The main bathroom has a great shower (with massage option but no bath). There is also another shower room and one of the bedrooms has an ensuite toilet. Both Johnny and Lyn were fantastic hosts and gave us lots of great tips for day trips and eating out. Definitely check out The Viaduct (about 10 min drive from the Gite) which has lots of adrenalin activities including bungee jumping, high swings, a luge and other activities for the whole family. If you have a dog with you can even walk up to the lower area of The Viaduct in about an hour from the Gites just ask your hosts for directions. My daughters loved the horses, cats and dog and all the activities in the barn and river. They picked berries with Lyn and fed the horses. What a fantastic week! We will definitely return. Book it up - you won't be disappointed!

Le Moulin l'Eveque is perfectly located near the town of Vire which has a pool with watersides and you can take the train to Paris in under 2 hours. We went to Bayoux and saw the Bayoux Tapestry and the stunning Cathedral. You could also do the D Day beaches the same day. Villediey-les-Poeles has agreat market on Tuesdays which was fantastic for food, clothing and brass/copper items. Another day we drove to Avranches and took a walk through the town (lovely view of Mont Saint Michel from the Botanical Gardens) and then drove onto Granville via Genets. Granville was beautiful and you can go swimming, paragliding over the cliffs, check out the Christian Dior Museum and Gardens and eat some lovely local seafood including the local speciality Whelks. Definitely try the Le Routier for dinner one night. It's fantastic value and a great experience - ask Lyn.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The activities in the barn, farm animals, the river and tranquility
Liked least: Road closures but these couldn't be helped
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you James for this lovely review. you did pack a lot into a week but still managed to spend some relaxing in the garden and taking in the sounds of the river. I look forward to seeing you all again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonyaE68
1 review
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Superb home in a beautiful setting with lovely hosts. Perfect for visiting the beaches, museums, Bayeux and Mont St Michel, to name just a few.

Drive through stunning scenery to a market everyday and enjoy a local patisserie.

Or, if you're really adventurous visit the viaduc for a bungee jump or giant swing.

Perfect.

Date of stay: August 2016
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Thank you Sonya. Glad you all had a good time during your weeks stay here at le moulin l'Eveque. It's always nice to see 3 generations of the same family enjoying time together
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma G
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Surroundings - Idyllic”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The gite was spacious and well equipped. The surrounding were stunning and very peaceful.
The hosts went above and beyond expected hospitality and were always happy to help to answer any questions.
We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and wish we had more time there. I would recommend these gites for couples, families or anyone who wanted to stay in a traditional gite but at the same time be close enough to the main roads for exploring.
If you stay, make sure you purchase some home made jam and cider!!!
Thank you very much. Hope to be back one day soon.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: That we did not stay longer
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
Thank you so much Emma and Patrick for that brilliant review.Lovely to meet you all and hope to see you again. I hope that the car problem was resolved without any further stress, and that you enjoyed Paris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.