We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice day trip from NO. But if you have the time and inclination Natchez has a really nice collection of homes. Nottaway is ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nottoway Plantation Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2013

If one could drive up to Natchez and stay there I think that trip is worth the spin. Particularly in Natchez we enjoyed Rosalie, Longview plantation, and Stanton Hall (for lunch). Had we known I would have scheduled one night in Baton Rouge see the capital, then one night in Natchez and spend a night at Nottaway Planation (but I think they might have a two night min..I wouldn't personally stayed there two nights if required. Lunch at Nottaway was very pleasant, nice service and traditional NOLA food.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Robutox11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,136)
There are newer reviews for Nottoway Plantation Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

902 - 908 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

Nottoway Plantation is a great getaway. The cabin rooms are lovely. The restaurant serves outstanding breakfast and dinner. The history of the plantation and tour are great glimpses into life in the South in the 1800's. Highly recommend Nottoway for a romantic getaway or a girls' weekend.

Room Tip: The cabin rooms numbered in 200s face the back lawn of the mansion. All of the cabin rooms are new...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mortt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Nottoway Plantation is exceptional. Beautiful setting, helpful and friendly staff, and luxurious accomodations. It is located well away from the urban areas of Louisana in the middle of sugar cane fields. As it turned out, my wife and I had a private tour of the mansion. We have visited almost all the other plantations in the area, and Nottoway is the largest and by far the most exquisite. The only area that it did not excel in was the food. It was OK, but certainly nothing special. The peacefulness of the setting is unbelievable. I would highly recommend a night or two stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doctor007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

A great stay for anyone bored with identikit modern tourist hotels. We stayed in the main house in room no. 1, beautifully furnished and decorated in true period style. Some caveats - to echo previous reviews the hotel does not have a proper guest lounge (although you can sit on a rocking chair on the balcony in true Gone With The Wind style) but personally I don't miss that; and our bed was not large - maybe period 4-posters don't come in king size - so if that bothers you go for a room in one of the buildings around the main house. Restaurant was OK, reasonable value, and the service in bar and restaurant could be described as charmingly amateurish eg. no ice bucket for white wine and somewhat ham-fisted cocktail mixing. Despite the above minor moans I still give Nottoway top marks for sheer style and would readily stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussexVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Nottoway is a former plantation house that has on its now very small plot of land a dense array of resort facilities catering heavily to weddings and other events. The house is fantastic and you can stay in one of the rooms. My main issue with Nottway is that none of the principal rooms are used as a lounge for hotel guests lest your are part of a reception, wedding etc. Thus, strangely I felt this house doesn't have any lounge area for guests to use. The rooms are well appointed and feature high quality furnishings etc.
However, the restaurant and bar are a let down. You enter through what must have been the delivery entrance and find yourself in a dark cellar room with some random chairs. Adjacent, the restaurant (Ramsay; not named after Gordon but the owner) is equally dark with a tiny space on the outside where glass panes have been put what appears to have been the original outside storage space. To make up for this contraption, chandeliers are hung so low you hit your head on them and the fake decoration on ceiling and walls tries to emulate the real stuff upstairs but is really ghastly. Really, the restaurant should have been placed in the upstairs rooms but they are used for weddings etc.
The food served was average with a mark up for the place, my vegetables were too salty. Staff are friendly college kids but they have really not been trained in any aspect of catering. I was given a steak knife for my fish (instead of a fish knife). Breakfast was equally underwhelming, no bread, basic selection and you are expected to eat your cereal out of plastic containers. None of this would be a problem in a Comfort Inn but here it seems to jar with what they aspire to.
In sum, for events it seems a good place but if you want to experience a top end Mansion stay go to Monmouth up in Natchez. Nottoway has a different business model.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
Thank ManchesterRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

A visit to the old south is not complete with out a visit to Nottoway Plantation. We had a chance to visit this gorgeous place on a summer get away. We stayed in their bridal suite. No bride will have a complain from these accommodations. A spacious private suite that includes your a private sitting area, private room & most of all your own private pool. A tour of the house is available for guests as well as visitors. The grounds have been restored so beautifully that if you close your eyes you will be sent back in time. Southern hospitality at its best, the staff is always ready & able to help you in any way they can. Gorgeous place to stay & visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felix G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

There is nothing not to love about this place, it's awesome. We went with 3 other couples, and had a great time, and really enjoyed our visit. The tour is around $20, which is about the standard price for most of the plantations. What we have always enjoyed about Nottoway are a lot of the unique features is has, like flushing toilets, and gasoliers,(sp) which in 1851 was just unheard of in that era. There are a lot of items that actually belonged to the Randolphs still in the house, which is rare. The plantation offers a lot that others don't have, not only in the beauty, and the grounds, but the restaurant, which I will review later.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodzilla20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Castle
11.0 mi away
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
#15 of 78 in Baton Rouge
484 reviews
14.6 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#9 of 78 in Baton Rouge
536 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 78 in Baton Rouge
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nottoway Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nottoway Plantation Resort

Address: 31025 Highway 1, White Castle, LA 70788-0160
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > White Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Price Range: £89 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nottoway Plantation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nottoway, the South's largest remaining antebellum mansion, is a stunning historic plantation that lies between Baton Rouge and New Orleans, Louisiana. A dramatic, multi-million-dollar renovation has restored this historic plantation to her days of glory as well as adding luxury resort accommodations, deluxe amenities and corporate and social event venues. Nottoway, located 25 miles from Baton Rouge and 70 miles from New Orleans, is an exceptional choice for weddings, fine dining, corporate functions, business meetings, social events, group retreats and luxury room accommodations. Plantation tours are given 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Nottoway Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottoway Plantation Hotel White Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing