We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nottaway is "Nottaperfect"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nottoway Plantation Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nottaway is "Nottaperfect"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Beautiful home in a gorgeous setting.Loved the tour but found it was very biased and glossed over the whole aspect of slavery focussing solely on the Randolph family owners.The place is a little tired and needs a good clean.I am really not picky but the pool was filthy and despite the heat I would not swim in it and the lack of pride was evident around the place.
We paid top dollar but there are fabulous discounts now available.There were only three tables occupied in the dining room on our visit.The evening meal and breakfast were lovely but the place was so empty.This beautiful home needs some TLC.Staff seemed very inexperienced.Finally we accidentally left a shirt in the cupboard upon leaving and when we phoned it had not been found.Poor service and needs investment.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adafitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Nottoway Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us, I'm sure you are unaware being from the UK, but Southern Louisiana gets very hot and humid during the summer months. Due to our climate, we are naturally slower in the summer. Some people relish this fact and love to visit because they feel like it's a more private experience for them. We hope to have you back as overnight guests with us, if you are looking for a beautiful cooler time of year, may we suggest December, also when we are beautifully decorated with Christmas lights property wide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    192
    85
    32
    20
See reviews for
229
441
21
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and I wished we'd stayed longer. Fortunately we got there early enough to enjoy the lovely swimming pool, after admiring our great room in the main house. We then had dinner in the restaurant which was great and got engaged too. They kindly treated us to some champagne after that. They also had a pool table which was fun too. The only downside was the breakfast wasn't included and wasn't great.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank esglondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I took my mom and dad for brunch on sunday. It was great. Walked around grounds took some great pictures. Love this place. Have brought many people here. Great job owner and staff. Thanks. We really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Charliemaltese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new orleans
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

I have been to many plantations but I have to say this is one of the most beautiful historic plantations I've ever went to. The furniture, art everything is absolutely breathtaking. Our tour guide was friendly and informative. We even brought our kids and they were very intrigued by the Plantation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffmarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle Chasse, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed overnight in one of the cottages, which was very nice. The dinner in the restaurant was great. The tour of the house the next day was very informative. The tour guide seemed to really enjoy her job, which made it very good. I would recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azle, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

I was excited about staying in one of the historic rooms at Nottoway Plantation on our trip through Louisiana plantation country after leaving New Orleans. When you first see it, it will take your breath away. However gorgeous the room was, the fact remained that the bed was too short for my tall husband's comfort. The beds were original ones used by the daughters of the house, so it would have been like sleeping in a museum. They moved us to one of the "slave quarters" which are newly constructed hotel rooms vaguely configured like a shack, but with nice and modern amenities. They were comfortable, with ac and nice bathroom and a tv. It seemed no different than staying in a chain hotel. It was kind of disappointing when I'd been expecting another historic hotel stay. We still enjoyed exploring the grounds and we did get a look inside the main house. Absolutely beautiful. You can even see the Mississippi River from the upstairs windows and balconies. There's also a little burial ground in the back where family members have been laid to rest. It is a resort and has a resort-like atmosphere, so it seems kind of touristy. Definitely worth a visit. Haunted, of course.

Room Tip: If you want to stay in one of the historic rooms, be aware that they will not be as comfortable as y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goldie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Visited Nottoway plantation today for a "girls' day out." Took a tour of the home (which was outstanding) walked the gorgeous grounds--flowers, fountains, statues, old cemetery, bridges, cottages etc. Had lunch in the mansion restaurant. Crab and brie bisque, fried green tomatoes topped with crabmeat romulade, a gigantic burger and the daily "Blue Plate Special," which changes daily, consisted today of fried chicken, white beans, collard greens, and the BEST cornbread imaginable--strawberry shortcake for dessert--$7.99! Huge servings! Service was impeccable!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty92543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Castle
11.0 mi away
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
#13 of 77 in Baton Rouge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales
8.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaquemine Inn
BEST WESTERN Plaquemine Inn
#1 of 1 in Plaquemine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#5 of 77 in Baton Rouge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 77 in Baton Rouge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
15.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Donaldsonville
Comfort Inn Donaldsonville
#2 of 6 in Donaldsonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nottoway Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nottoway Plantation Resort

Property: Nottoway Plantation Resort
Address: 31025 Highway 1, White Castle, LA 70788-0160
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > White Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nottoway Plantation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nottoway, the South's largest remaining antebellum mansion, is a stunning historic plantation that lies between Baton Rouge and New Orleans, Louisiana. A dramatic, multi-million-dollar renovation has restored this historic plantation to her days of glory as well as adding luxury resort accommodations, deluxe amenities and corporate and social event venues. Nottoway, located 25 miles from Baton Rouge and 70 miles from New Orleans, is an exceptional choice for weddings, fine dining, corporate functions, business meetings, social events, group retreats and luxury room accommodations. Plantation tours are given 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nottoway Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottoway Plantation Hotel White Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing