We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a breath of fresh air”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nottoway Plantation Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We found it easily with our tom tom GPS and there are a few signs on the highway too, first one is about 6 miles away. Beautiful property and at night lots of fairy lights in the trees which gives it a romantic touch. We stayed in the overseers house on first floor but had access to a shared balcony - put the anti bug spray on at sunset!! We booked through hotels.com who in turn used expedia. We were pleasantly surprised to have complimentary breakfast and visit of the house. Staff very friendly and the food was lovely. Negative points - the pool looked rather cloudy which didn't inspire us to use it and we heard freight trains whistling at night from afar. The tour doesn't cover the subject of slavery at all. Would recommend a stay here overnight with dinner in this original, beautifully restored mansion.

Room Tip: Beds in the actual house looked rather small during the tour. Individual cottages with private porch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Grigs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

933 - 939 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had a relaxing stay over the Labor Day weekend. We traveled because we received a discounted package that included breakfast, a credit at the restaurant, and a stay in the Carriage House. I highly recommend a stay here for couples, especially if you like the idea of a secluded, romantic setting. It is close enough to Baton Rouge and New Orleans that you could make a stay here the beginning or ending to a longer trip if you are the type who wants a lot of options for things to do and places to eat, but with the onsite restaurant you don't need to leave. The onsite restaurant was lovely, with excellent service for dinner. Be sure to try the bread, which really is worth mentioning. They give you three types of butter to go with it, and they are all wonderful. We also really liked the ribs, which were offered in a generous portion. I'm not sure if it was because we stayed over a holiday weekend, but the breakfast crew seemed to be understaffed. The service was not bad (buffet style, so you can mostly help yourself), but I had to ask more than once for a cup of coffee. I think they could probably solve that by adding a self-serve carafe near the food. If you don't like stairs and/or have a lot of luggage, you should be sure to ask for a room on the bottom level if you stay in the Carriage House; there isn't an elevator, and there was no mention of a staff member available to help (we didn't need it, and didn't ask). I was pleasantly surprised to find that our room was lovely, and had no major flaws. I've stayed at many hotels based on a "bargain" and found that it meant we received a less than perfect room (sometimes cosmetic damage, sometimes a broken a.c., sometimes in a high traffic/noisy spot). Often, the lower rate is worth the less than perfect room. However, even though we received a great deal, I found nothing to complain about with our room at Nottoway. The only thing I would point out is that other rooms might have a better view (the pond cottages) or be more luxurious (in the Mansion), but our room was just what we needed. I do wish there had been seating near the pond; it would be a nice place to sit and enjoy the scenery. Note: the only reason that I listed the value as average is because I feel the rack rates are high, especially given that I'm not sure it includes a tour of the house. However, I've noticed that they run specials from time to time, which always seem to be a superb value. We would definitely like to visit again.

Room Tip: If you eat at the restaurant, request a table that overlooks the grounds. They enclosed the rotunda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Franchesca_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Spent another wonderful night at the beautiful Nottoway Plantation Resort in one of the cottages. Cottage is beautifully furnished with comfortable bedding. The grounds are meticulously maintained. Dinner was delicious, breakfast was perfect! You have to try the fried green tomatoes; they're the best anywhere. The staff is very accommodating. Tour guide was very knowledgeable. It is a great place for an overnight or longer visit!.
.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage on the Iris Pond! You can sit on the front porch and take in the beauty of all of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianer0949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Beautiful home in a gorgeous setting.Loved the tour but found it was very biased and glossed over the whole aspect of slavery focussing solely on the Randolph family owners.The place is a little tired and needs a good clean.I am really not picky but the pool was filthy and despite the heat I would not swim in it and the lack of pride was evident around the place.
We paid top dollar but there are fabulous discounts now available.There were only three tables occupied in the dining room on our visit.The evening meal and breakfast were lovely but the place was so empty.This beautiful home needs some TLC.Staff seemed very inexperienced.Finally we accidentally left a shirt in the cupboard upon leaving and when we phoned it had not been found.Poor service and needs investment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adafitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Nottoway Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us, I'm sure you are unaware being from the UK, but Southern Louisiana gets very hot and humid during the summer months. Due to our climate, we are naturally slower in the summer. Some people relish this fact and love to visit because they feel like it's a more private experience for them. We hope to have you back as overnight guests with us, if you are looking for a beautiful cooler time of year, may we suggest December, also when we are beautifully decorated with Christmas lights property wide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here for one night and I wished we'd stayed longer. Fortunately we got there early enough to enjoy the lovely swimming pool, after admiring our great room in the main house. We then had dinner in the restaurant which was great and got engaged too. They kindly treated us to some champagne after that. They also had a pool table which was fun too. The only downside was the breakfast wasn't included and wasn't great.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank esglondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I took my mom and dad for brunch on sunday. It was great. Walked around grounds took some great pictures. Love this place. Have brought many people here. Great job owner and staff. Thanks. We really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Charliemaltese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

I have been to many plantations but I have to say this is one of the most beautiful historic plantations I've ever went to. The furniture, art everything is absolutely breathtaking. Our tour guide was friendly and informative. We even brought our kids and they were very intrigued by the Plantation.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeffmarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Castle
11.0 mi away
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
#16 of 77 in Baton Rouge
487 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
8.6 mi away
Best Western Plaquemine Inn
Best Western Plaquemine Inn
#1 of 1 in Plaquemine
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#9 of 77 in Baton Rouge
552 reviews
18.2 mi away
WATERMARK Baton Rouge, Autograph Collection
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 77 in Baton Rouge
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nottoway Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nottoway Plantation Resort

Address: 31025 Highway 1, White Castle, LA 70788-0160
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > White Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Price Range: £89 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nottoway Plantation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nottoway, the South's largest remaining antebellum mansion, is a stunning historic plantation that lies between Baton Rouge and New Orleans, Louisiana. A dramatic, multi-million-dollar renovation has restored this historic plantation to her days of glory as well as adding luxury resort accommodations, deluxe amenities and corporate and social event venues. Nottoway, located 25 miles from Baton Rouge and 70 miles from New Orleans, is an exceptional choice for weddings, fine dining, corporate functions, business meetings, social events, group retreats and luxury room accommodations. Plantation tours are given 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nottoway Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottoway Plantation Hotel White Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing