We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everywhere you look... beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nottoway Plantation Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Lufkin, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everywhere you look... beautiful!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This place was gorgeous! The house is beautiful and still maintains the feeling of a home! You could imagine the family living there and raising their children... still has a quality of warmth and family! Each room holds so many things to look at and imagine life at that time! But it's not just the house... the grounds are breathtaking!!! The trees are so old and majestic and everything is so well kept! You will not regret one minute of your time there or one penny that you spend on your room or in the restaurant! Don't think you've seen it all and don't need to take the tour because the tour guide will point out furniture that is original to the family and a lot of other facts and stories about the family and home! We stayed there overnight and walked all around during that time but we still learned things during the tour. The tour guide was most interesting, the staff helpful, and the rooms are very clean! It was absolutely wonderful!

Room Tip: Everything looked very nice but we wanted to stay in the main house, so we were in room #2 on the th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    241
    100
    40
    22
See reviews for
309
536
25
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

The Plantation had a wonderful "getaway" package for Valentines Day witch included Dinner in their fabulous Restaurant in the Mansion and lodging in their cottages. The cottage had a living room, bedroom and small kitchen. Very nicely furnished and modern. The package also included a tour of the Mansion which was so beautiful. Definetly would recommend .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andicj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

If you live in the northern U.S., or just about anywhere other than the deep south, having an experience like this is one that defies description. How fortunate we are to have the opportunity to go back in time and actually stay on a plantation that not only survived the Civil War, but has been maintained in such a tranquil and exquisite manner. Other reviewers have already described the beauty of the rooms and the manor house. If you are traveling with a senior, room number 7, in the overseer's cottage, is an excellent choice--no steps, and a walk in shower. Bedrooms in the mansion proper won't work for anyone with ambulatory problems, given the staircases one would have to climb. Nottoway's location is perfect as a base for excursions into Cajun country or visits to other plantations. It is also a great place to relax, enjoy the gorgeous (unheated) outdoor pool, and generally savor the haunting atmosphere of the surrounding grounds. The restaurant is excellent, although I was surprised that breakfast was not complimentary for staying guests. There is a very informative museum on the grounds which offers a very illuminating film presentation on the history of Nottoway. For me, it was a fabulous but bittersweet and almost eerie experience, being in the midst of all this beauty while knowing that the glory of this gem was achieved through the hard work of slave labor. Nevertheless, it is an experience that will enlighten, move and humble--and I will look forward to my return.

Room Tip: Room number 7 is excellent for anyone with ambulatory problems: No steps to climb, and a walk in sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queentut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vins100
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We booked this hotel because Oak Allay Plantation and Laura Plantation were full. It was a nice experience with one bad point.
Many pros:
The main house is very beautiful and can be visited (However our guide was not very interesting).

We slept there for one night, located in a very charming cottage. Rooms were very beautiful and clean. bBeds are very comfortable.
Nice and large bathroom.
The restaurant was very good.
The staff was very pleasant and dedicated.
One con: the hotel is located along a rail road. During the night, trains are running along ... horning continuously kilometers before and kilometers after. The insulation is good, so the uncomfort is limited, except when you awake at night or have a light sleep (which was what happened to me). Just request to have a room not along the railroad.

Room Tip: Just request to have a room not along the railroad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vins100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My family and I recently visited Nottoway Plantation for a day tour after purchasing discounted tickets online. Upon driving up, the property truly is breathtaking. The grounds are beautiful and well manicured. Upon entering, the home is comparably beautiful on the inside. Each room is extraordinary with details and crown molding at every angle. I won't describe them in detail because I think it is better to just see in person. Anyone with an appreciation for home decor and decorating will surely be impressed with all of the detail that went into this home. In fact, the home is so well preserved that it ultimately left us feeling as if we had taken a step back in time. The tour guide was very knowledgeable, and he kept the tour entertaining from start to finish which added to the historical value. Although we did not stay the night, I would be more than happy to after visiting the home for the day. I could imagine that staying in one of the rooms upstairs in the main home would be a real treat! They were gorgeous, especially the master bedroom! After the tour we had lunch, and although that would be a different review, I will say that the food here was outstanding! I highly recommend the fried green tomatoes for an appetizer and shrimp and grits for your entree . . . delicious and you wont be disappointed! Overall, I would highly recommend coming to Nottoway if you would like to get a taste of good 'ol southern charm!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bccp_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

If you're looking for old world Southern charm, this is an amazing spot for a destination wedding. I don't think I'd be interested in staying at Nottoway if it wasn't part of a larger group as there is NOTHING to do around the area. That said, the main house is truly lovely and beautifully restored. We stayed in one of the newer guest houses overlooking the little pond (#202) and it was really nicely done with a huge bathroom and a very comfortable bed. I believe the rooms in the main house are all uniquely decorated as I heard one of the guys in the wedding party complaining about his pink room. The wedding took place under the oaks, with a cocktail hour in the white room in the plantation house, the diner/reception in Randolph hall, followed by a huge fireworks display over the river. It was all really gorgeous. Breakfast buffet was a good value.

Room Tip: If you want a new room, opt for a cottage. Stay in the main house if you want a more authentic expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 699JaneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

we arrived to Nottoway Plantation after visitor hours. The whole planation is very welcoming , we felt like the entire mansion and grounds were just for us . We enjoy visiting the rooms at our own pace , any time we wanted. We stayed in Cornelia Randolph room which was very comfortable and elegant. I loved the walk around the plantation at night time as well . I would return in a heartbeat.

Helpful?
1 Thank monis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Castle
11.0 mi away
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
#15 of 77 in Baton Rouge
481 reviews
14.6 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#8 of 77 in Baton Rouge
525 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
18.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 77 in Baton Rouge
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nottoway Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nottoway Plantation Resort

Property: Nottoway Plantation Resort
Address: 31025 Highway 1, White Castle, LA 70788-0160
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > White Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nottoway Plantation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nottoway, the South's largest remaining antebellum mansion, is a stunning historic plantation that lies between Baton Rouge and New Orleans, Louisiana. A dramatic, multi-million-dollar renovation has restored this historic plantation to her days of glory as well as adding luxury resort accommodations, deluxe amenities and corporate and social event venues. Nottoway, located 25 miles from Baton Rouge and 70 miles from New Orleans, is an exceptional choice for weddings, fine dining, corporate functions, business meetings, social events, group retreats and luxury room accommodations. Plantation tours are given 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Nottoway Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottoway Plantation Hotel White Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing