We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The food was quite Good.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mansion Restaurant at Nottoway

The Mansion Restaurant at Nottoway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Aloysia Street
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The food was quite Good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

5 women traveling together had dinner when we arrived.
It was very tasty, and very good................
Chase was our waiter he was very helpful with explaining the menu
to us. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jpfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    47
    20
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
530 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Good meal, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We enjoyed a great seafood dinner. The Shrimp and grits I would highly recommend. Generous amount of shrimp, cooked perfectly with well seasoned grits. My wife also enjoyed the fish special. Definitely worth the stop

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joedvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch spot.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

When exploring the river road plantations the restaurant at Nottoway is a perfect place for a lunch stop. Very reasonable prices, excellent meal. Lovely location. Enjoy the exterior of the plantation before you hop back on the road to resume your trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Beautiful setting with a wonderful selection of Southern dishes!
Fried green tomatoes are a must as are their seafood dishes. Their complimentary bread and homemade butters are addictive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dianer0949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very romantic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

If you are visiting the River Road Plantations north of New Orleans, make your final plantation stop the Nottoway and include dinner reservations at their restaurant. They have greatly improved their menu and their level of service since my last visit about two years ago. The setting is lovely, almost feels that you are outside among the beautiful trees. The menu is Southern but not typical. All of our party of 3 praised the chef's creations. Special callouts for the excellent turtle soup (which was just recently added to the menu) and for the double cut pork chop glazed with an apple sugar cane sauce and roasted sweet potatoes. The pork chop dinner was sweet and excellent! I would be remiss if I didn't mention the rosemary ciabatta bread with sugar cane butter that preceded dinner - yum! If you are lucky enough to have dinner at sundown you will have an unbelievably beautiful setting for a romantic dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cstmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mansion Restaurant at Nottoway also viewed

 

Been to The Mansion Restaurant at Nottoway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing