We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Staghead Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Dakota Edinburgh(South Queensferry)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orocco Pier(South Queensferry)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel(South Queensferry)(Great Value!)
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$96
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
8
12
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
12
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspub downstairsblack puddinghigh streetnice roomedinburgh
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night prior to going on holiday. The hotel is really a pub with a few rooms to stay in. As some other reviewers have already said, this place certainly needs a coat of paint and a bit of tlc.

We arrived and were greeted quite promptly by a lady who assume was the owner/licensee, she showed us to our room which was en-suite ie a bath, sink and toilet. In the room were two single beds a couple of bedside tables and a small chest of drawers. Beds were comfy but again room needed sorting out. The best thing about the room was the TV. There was a side view to a little path alongside thje hotel leading to the marina.

The lady told us that there was a disco that evening below our room and that it may be noisy. We did not hear anything after around midnight.

Following morning we went to the dining room at about 08.30am for our traditional full Scottish breakfast. Another two couples came in and we all waited for someone to come and take our order. The tables had not been cleared from the previous day and it all looked rather awful. We could not help ourselves to cereal as we had no bowls and no milk or cutlery. Eventually at around 09.15am a very sleepy faced landlady arrived and apologised as she had overlaid, the very fact that she apparently did not go to bed until around 05.30am that morning may explain why!!!

We found out that the full Scottish breakfast was also a full English breakfast. On the plus side the breakfast was well cooked and tasted fine. Another plus point is that you do not have to check out until around 12 noon.

This pub seems to be in a bit of a time warp and was perfectly adequate thirty years ago, now it needs to move with the times.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budeSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The rooms where very comfortable and the staff were so nice! They answered all our questions and it was very affordable especially since we made a same day reservation. The location is Right on the beach of the firth and you can see the water and the bridges from the rooms. This is also a family friendly accommidation which was perfect for us. (We had a 1 year old and a 6 year old) I would reccomend this to people looking for affordable and lovely places to stay with the convienance of a short drive into Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We accidently stayed here as we were meant to be in the Ravenous Beastie across the road and they overbooked and bumped us. We could not have been more pleased in the end! The decor is old and touristy and could probably do with an update, but the rooms were clean and tidy and the views were amazing! The next morning the full breakfast was brilliant and perfect for a hangover! In the end we were all very happy, if we went to a function at Oroco Pier again I'd definitely choose to stay here.
Oh and it has a car park around the back, which in the packed little town of South Queensferry is really good! There's also a pub downstairs with a dancefloor! I can't tell you if it was loud as we were the last to leave it! I can tell you that it lights up and the music was cheesey heaven!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bridges.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snugs29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Stayed in Room 5, which is a family room. Large room that can take a double and 2 singles. The furniture though seemed to be squashed around the double and as there was only 2 of us, I felt we were squashed too! ( I should say to be fair, I hate going into family rooms) The furniture is of reasonable quality but very dark. Carpet really needs to be replaced - it was clean. Sash windows needing repainted and refurbished/replaced. The windows did not block out much noise - considering we were facing the back and had another window onto small street, could hear outside traffic from main street. ( I actually thought the windows were open and got up to check, both fully closed)

Breakfast and the staff were good.

Yes, the view is great from the room, but charging £85 on a Sunday night - just a tad on the dear side. To charge this, bedroom and shower room needs refurbished.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scot58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Very nice view and perfect English breakfast!

Oherwise needs a little refreshments as far as rooms and communs are concerned, but it is clean. A strong smell of cleaning products is present.

Staff is very good so this compensates the rest. If you book well in advance a reduction of the room's price is possible, ask for it. The music from the bar downstairs is very loud at night until midnight so don't go there if you need to sleep earlier.

An over all good impression of the place!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank display5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews