We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great inn, lovely location, friendly staff”

Hawes Inn Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Hawes Inn offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great inn, lovely location, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights and had booked a room with a view of the railway bridge, our room was right next to it and was perfect. Fantastic views over the water. Comfortable clean cosy room, although would have been nice to have a bath. Ate the first night in the restaurant as it came highly recommended, however we were disappointed, we did mention this to the server who offered to get the manager, we did not take her up on the offer in hindsight we should have, how do they know there is a problem if they are not told.
The scottish breakfast was fantastic, far too much, Lee our server each morning was so cheerful and friendly, we will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debsunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    271
    167
    112
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
364 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Light lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

The Hawes has been modernised since my last visit, and the atmosphere and decor were very nice. We only wanted a light lunch and chose from the sandwich menu, which had several different fillings from the usual pub fare. The food was very good, and reasonably priced.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skitpon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Menu shame about the food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

The bar was empty of staff and waited 5 mins to be served, my head told me to walk - plenty of great places in the village that would be better. The 5 mins gave me a good time to view the menu - wow looks good! So I stayed, if James Martins is cooking stuff on the menu you cant go wrong!!!
Asked for some bread and Oil to be going on with and opted for the melted cheese starter. The 2 came at the same time - great not sure anybody needs nibbles and a starter at the same time! Loads of bread tho...
Main was belly pork which was ok served with a potatoe cake that was burnt, black pudding and a battered pineapple ring! Really is James Martin making good use of the hawiian style dinning. I also ordered a side to go with it and the wrong thing came, when the right dish did appear it was not what I expected...
All in all this is a over priced Weatherspoons - the food is ok the service is poor and the client wishes he had gone else where.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilat
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Very nice pub food very reasonably priced for being so close to the Forth Bridge and my wife loved her Shepard's Pie. Only slight fault was a bit too long between courses but would definitly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gooner_Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Nothing bad to say about this Inn. It was great, friendly and reasonable prices. Clean and spacious rooms

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank siamese10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hawes Inn Restaurant also viewed

South Queensferry, Edinburgh
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
 
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
 

Been to Hawes Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing