We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money even on a rainy day :-)”
Review of Maid of the Forth

Maid of the Forth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Forth Bridges and Inchcolm Island Sightseeing Boat trips. Departs from Hawes Pier, South Queensferry, Edinburgh daily Easter to October
Uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value for money even on a rainy day :-)”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Bought this trip through Groupon and decided for the money we saved we would pay to go on the island. It was really worth it and we went on the 10:30am sailing so had lunch with us on the island. This was definitely the best time as only 4 people were on the island with us and when the next boat came there was about 30 people getting off!! It was rainy and windy but we were prepared (Scots lol prepared for all weathers!!) and we seen a seal pup on the beach and plenty seals off the island. Loads of wildlife and on the way back the sun came out :-). Staff really friendly and hot drinks on the boat reasonably priced. We will be back again soon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bramblebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    70
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great bus and boat trip”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

As we were in Edinburgh we thought it only right that we did a bit of sight seeing so we bought a bus and boat trip, it wasn't the best of days to have chosen to go on a boat but the rain held off and it turned out to be warm enough for us to sit on the outside deck of the boat and also enjoy a bottle of wine which can be purchased from the on board bar/shop, we didn't get off at Inchcolm Island but it looks really lovely from the boat we just sat back and really enjoyed the little cruise

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank caz_stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Happy Surprise”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We went on a blustery September day, and I expected the worst. HOWEVER apart from the cross-currents when leaving and returning to the pier, exceptionally comfortable, and I've truly had less smooth taxi journeys. The commentary is really helpful, and yes we did see seals. Only thing; if you take the bus from Waverley Bridge, someone really needs to synchronise the audio commentary with the on-screen one; I don't know where St PANCREAS Station is but I definitely don't want to go there. And there's a tech. instruction for the sound editor that appears as text. That, plus a few interesting items that SHOULD have been included, make it a less than stellar audio production, but overall, what a great £20's worth!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fab day out!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

As an Edinburgh resident, I've done most of the 'day out' things there are to do around the city, but I wanted to recommend this trip, as its something visitors might not think to do. It's a great day out, we went with grey weather, but it was still excellent. The boat staff are friendly, there's a good informative commentary and Inchcolm island is a great place to explore . The current custodian of the island was also very friendly, and even showed us a newborn seal pup on the beach.

Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We rang to book this trip, and the lady on the telephone was lovely - very warm and friendly - gave good advice about arriving about 20 minutes before the boat sailed. We paid extra to get off at Inchcolm Island (nearly didn't!) but we were so glad we did. There is a commentary on the boat pointing out some interesting things - and on the way back we were surprised that the boat continued on and under the second bridge too. There was a commentary about a new bridge being built - we were inside and couldn't hear that sadly.
Because we were cutting it fine timewise when we arrived - there was no time to look in the gift shop, and as we had already decided to go back to South Queensferry the next day as it is so pretty, we went back. Spoke to the lady who had taken my phone booking - think her name is Tracy - lovely lady, so helpful and friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liverpoolgirl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maid of the Forth also viewed

South Queensferry, Edinburgh
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
 

Been to Maid of the Forth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing