We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent gluten free afternoon tea!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stables Tearoom

Stables Tearoom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: British, European, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Stables Tearoom, set within the beautiful Hopetoun House in South Queensferry, provides an elegant and sophisticated setting for meetings with friends, family lunches, business meetings and group dining, everything completed with delicious homemade food and impeccable and service. Our menu encompassed a tempting selection of food made from scratch, from fabulous soups, sandwiches and salads to wide array of home-made cakes & scones, not to miss our renowned Traditional Afternoon Teas, an all-time favourite not only with our visitors, but also many regulars.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent gluten free afternoon tea!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Booked in at Stables Tearoom for afternoon tea and requested a gluten free afternoon tea for myself. This is the best gluten free afternoon tea I have ever had and I did not feel I was losing out on the usual offering at all. I was very impressed and will definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Becca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    16
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“not a horse in sight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The tearoom is part of hoptoun house lovely place in it self to visit if you go be sure to take the tour they also have garden centre not far that has nice cafe for bite to eat as well just so lovely.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank brave3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We spent most of the day at Hopetoun House and had lunch and afternoon tea in the Stables Tearoom. The atmosphere and service were excellent with a distictive olde wolde feel that made us have an understanding of what it must have been like to live in those times -throughly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great afternoon tea!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

We had afternoon tea at the stables on two occasions. In Aug 12 and in Apr 13. The first occasion was exceptional with the sandwiches being really different combos to those you would usually get. The cakes on both occasions were amazing. The second occasion was still good but sandwiches not as good as Aug 12. I hope they revert to their offerings of last year! Great location and very nicely decorated tea room. Staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wibsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just came for a quick lunch to the Stables Tea Room at Hopetoun House. Staff were friendly and helpful, both in the ticket office and tearoom. It looks the part with tasteful décor and beautifully set tables but the food was mediocre at best. We had soup which tasted like tinned. I could open a tin at home but I don't because we prefer home made soup which is very easily made. The bread rolls were warmed but a bit stale and hard. Surely it cannot be that difficult. We won't be rushing back, sorry.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mimmindove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stables Tearoom also viewed

 
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
 

Been to Stables Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing