We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Venue”
Review of Dundas Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Queensferry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dundas Castle
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We did not stay.We were there for my nephew's wedding, but according to my niece and sister in law the rooms they had were bigger than the niece's one bedroom flat.

The non intrusive way the staff organised the whole thing was astonishing. You were always aware that staff were around and doing things but in the background and the whole day flowed like clockwork seamlessly.

The venue manages to be both grand and intimate. The wedding chapel is simple and makes the ceremony about a wonderful occasion not a grand building.

The food was of the highest standard in the formal meal but a special mention must go to the supper time bacon sandwiches. This venue is working hard to be a great place to hold a celebration and they have got it right.

Room Tip: Check it out if you are looking for somewhere for a celebration. It's worth looking at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

We returned to spend our first anniversary in the Boathouse after getting married at the Castle and it was truly spectacular. The Castle and estate exude class, tranquility and atmosphere and we will never forget our amazing wedding. The team assembled are first class at their job and you don't have to ask twice for something to be done. They care about your occasion and will do anything they can to make it special. The Boathouse on the loch is simply beautiful and so peaceful, we could have stayed forever. I would recommend Dundas Castle to anyone thinking of holding their wedding there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We didn't actually stay here but attended a wedding of a friend. The castle is truly beautiful and the location is superb. Upon arrival you really are made to feel very welcome. The food was wonderful and the drinks were priced well. The castle and auld keep really are a gorgeous setting for a wedding or special event and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chippenham84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We recently held our daughter's wedding at Dundas Castle and it truly was a magical day. The castle staff were excellent; right from the outset their organisation was of the higest standard, nothing was left to chance. Their attention to detail ensured that the day ran like clockwork. Even though there was a big team of people, managed superbly by Ben, they were unobtrusive, quietly working in the background to ensure everyone had a wonderful time. The public rooms of the castle are fabulous yet so homely and welcoming. The ceremony in the auld keep was very special and atmospheric. The canapes and wedding breakfast provided by the castle's external caterer was of a very high standard. The bedrooms and ensuite facilities were lovely; breakfast the morning after was superb. A day never to be forgotten.

Room Tip: All bedrooms are beautiful, Winter and Spring being favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montagnac16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

we were at Dundas castle for a family wedding, we were greeted very warmly at the main entrance by a gentleman who introduced himself as Bob. He escorted us to our room called orchid , a really comfortable room with en-suite facilities and four poster bed.the Dundas staff made every effort to ensure our day went really smoothly, and it did, the food was delicious especially the cooked breakfast! we only stayed the one night but we were treated like family,the whole event was made that more special by Bob and the staff at Dundas castle and has made our memories of the event that little more special.

Room Tip: ask for ensuite as some rooms have the bathroom across the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank skipLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My husband and I decided to get married here after our parents went to visit on our behalf. We live abroad. I had viewed pics on their website but honestly found that it was much better to view in real life. I fell in love with this place as soon as I saw it. The grounds are lovely, vast and secluded with great views of the forth road bridge. Inside is where the magic happens. There is a very beautiful library for guest to relax as well as a billiards room which has a full size snooker table. Plenty to entertain guests while they wait. The bedrooms are stunning. They had the old feeling but without being shabby. The bathroom in the winter room was lovely. It has the original bath. the decor is just lovely.

We had our ceremony in the the auld keep. Pictures do not do this place justice. I just love it. Very medeival like with the winding staircase and stag chambers and gun rooms off the landings. Being scottish, Sir Jack & Lady Lydia had no objection to us flying to soltaire.

We had our wedding breakfast in the paviilion which was was a modern twist on the theme but was also stunning. Our guest were really spellbound by their experience at our wedding. If you get married here its not just a day for the bride and groom but also for the guests as this is a wonderful place for them to just see.

We spent the evening in the boathouse, in the morning we got our breakfast basket which was lovely. the door opens out on to the porch over the water and it was so quiet and idylic. we had a family of swans come over quacking for food. The certainly enjoyed our breakfast as much as we did. the whole expereince at dundas castle will remain in my memory not just for being my wedding day but for the venue too.

I have never written an article on here but felt so strongly about how wonderful this place is, I had to share it with others. I wish I could do it all again.

Also, not to forget the staff there, amazing, professional, courtesous, experts....need I say more.

Room Tip: the boathouse is a must for the honeymoon suite or even any event.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Braveheard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DundasCastle, Manager at Dundas Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

We are so glad that you had such a wonderful time here for your wedding and that you were able to make the trip 'home' to host your guests in your own Scottish castle. We're sure that the estate looks very different to how you last saw it - and it won't be long before the swans are camouflaged by a dusting of snow around the loch!

With best wishes to you both from the team at Dundas Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

It is a great place/house. Always love a place with a long history behind it. Arhitecture of the main house is just stunning, yet cozy. Decorations were just beautiful, every detail is perfectly in place making every room complete with rich fullness. Makes wonderful pictures.

But got herded in for the event and herded out of room right next morning at 9:30am left a lot to be desired to enjoy the greatness of the place. Although, one cannot blame the timing, they have weddings almost everyday, so says a taxi driver.

Service is wonderful, but at wedding reception there were teenage like servers giggling because one went to the wrong table twice, it is a cozy reception, but had high expectation, so ...
For breakfast, when we were just about to finish our cold buffet breakfast, then one server came in and asked if we want hot breakfast...too late, but we were not late nor early for the breakfast time.

Room was lovely, elegant, nicely decorated, strange that the gold-plated-plumbing shower had no place to put toiletry, had to put shampoo & shower gel on the floor (glad we brought our own hair condition, these days even a simple modern woman need hair condition). Heard each room is different, though.

Must be a nice place to have a longer visit, or a more relaxed visit, if you know the family well?

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DundasCastle, Manager at Dundas Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your experience of Dundas Castle. We are delighted that you were so enamoured with the Castle and that you felt that our service was wonderful.

We were, however, sorry to read the point about two of our waiting staff. This was highly unusual and appropriate action has been taken to ensure that it does not happen, in the future.

With regards to the check-out time - during peak seasons we do ask guests to check out after breakfast at 10.30am so that we can invite any other guests to arrive at 12 noon. With this early check-in time residents have more time to enjoy the Castle before a wedding ceremony or event.

We hope that you enjoyed the wedding that you attended and that we can welcome you back to the Castle in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,881 reviews
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,406 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestonfield
#4 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,162 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#35 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dundas Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundas Castle

Address: South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in South Queensferry
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Dundas Castle Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing