We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot, noisy room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Hot, noisy room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We've stayed at quite a few Premier Inns now and generally they are great for the price.

This one however, was more money but the experience was not as good. We stayed here 2 nights on the top floor. It could be because the heat rises, but the room was overwhelmingly hot - so hot that you can't sleep at night. There is of course, no A/C. Due to the heat, the window was permanently open. Unfortunately on both nights, some of the local lads thought it would be a great idea to drag race their cars nearby at 2am. Not great when you want to keep the window open. I would give the place the benefit of the doubt that it would not be like that every night, but our experience wasn't the best.

Room Tip: Try not the top floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knightdiverx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    152
    38
    15
    7
See reviews for
159
159
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on the 6th of August 2012. We where a family of 2 adults and 1 child. The welcome we had when we arrived was very good after a long drive. The staff where always more than happy to help with extra pillows, ice buckets for room, even with extra fans and sheets for the hot weather, bus timetable and rail timetables to Edinburgh, she even helped us on the internet to look for the golden post box and she printed off the directions, thanks! It was very easy to find the hotel. Near to the hotel is a BP garage, MC Donald's and a simply M&S. The room was alright, small tv which was limited to 15 so you could not hear it very well at all, big bathroom with soaps and shampoo, the room needs plug sockets because when everything is pluged in there are no spare plugs for phone chargers etc, comfy bed, and a comfy full size single bed for our child. Also I think it would be nice to have mood lighting in the bathroom so when in the bath you can turn of the bright lights and relax. Please can you make the shower head moveable, being around 6ft when moving in the shower my head hit the shower head and I couldn't move it so I had to crouch down so I did not hit my head again. The one major bad thing was the fact that when we went out at around 9am on Thursday morning and attended the military tattoo so we did not return to the hotel until about 00:30 our fan was turned off and then the cleaners have taken our wine glasses and our curtains where opened! The hotel refunded the night with no quibbles because it was so hot and being on the bottom floor you could hardly open the window so no one could get to sleep due to the heat. However with our wine glasses we were told that the cleaners take them but they couldn't find ours so now we have used ones from the restaurant which you can tell because they have the measurement mark. Please be aware that this hotel is used by contractors and buisness men so they get up at around 6am to leave.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Matiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

we drove to scotland to see the zoo and shop, it was to far to drive up and down in one day so we stopped at a premier inn at queens ferry near the forth bridge , it was an excellent location, 2 mins to the bridge and 20 mins to the zoo, and high street, the inn was very clean and tidy and for a family of 2 adults and 1 child very reasonably priced, kids eat free!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed at the premier inn for 1 night as we were at a work festival for skyfest which was just up the road, we then went to endinbrugh zoo which was a 10 mile drive away from this premier inn, which was great for traveling. There is a Mcdonalds opposite which is great for a naughty supper. The only let down was the heat the temprature was 25 degrees in the bedroom which was rediculous, when we left in the morning i advised the recptionist of this and how it was a uncomfortable stay for us and our one year old daughter and we recieved a full refund of £76. Other than that the bed rooms are very clean. And the breakfast was delightful a full english cooked to order and the contanetial was very nice as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournville, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed here for a night for a visit to Edinburgh. The hotel room was SPOTLESS (and I worked in the industry for a while) Staff were friendly and bed was soo comfortable. Think I did have the best nights sleep.

Also there is a Mcdonalds right next to it AND a petrol station so if you don't want to eat in the hotel you can grab a mcdonalds and take it to your room like we did haha :-)

Would defiantly use again!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

The hotel is near to the Airport. The rooms are large and spacious. Staff is okay though not very helpful. Service is non existent and you have to help yourself. There are couple of restaurants nearby. Rates are pretty reasonable.

Room Tip: Check the room before you accept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton-le-Fylde
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Stayed two nights in family room. Service was very good and we enjoyed food in the brewers fayre attached. Rooms could Do with updating as the hotel is a bit 'tired' compared to some. On a wet and windy night, the room was very noisy with water cascading from a pipe outside and a wall vent letting wind through in to room.....but staff were great when problems explained.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefamilymason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel
Address: Queens Crossing Builyeon Road, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9YJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the picturesque town of South Queensferry, just minutes from the iconic Forth Road Bridge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing