We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Good location if you're travelling around Fife/Edinburgh area. The hotel is 1 minute away from A90/Forth Road Bridge, however even with all the windows open the road noise was not intrusive.

The staff were all friendly and as for all Premier Inns the beds were very comfy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meld33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

Me and my girlfriend stopped here for one night during the fringe festival.

We found it a very pleasant place to stay with lovely staff. It’s what you expect from a premier inn so a basic room with a tv but it was ideal for what we wanted.

Its location was about an hour’s bus ride away from Edinburgh but that didn't really bother us too much. We got a taxi back to the hotel from Edinburgh about 1 in the morning which cost us around £21.

There is a Maccy D's just next door as well as a BP garage which has a cash machine.

If I had to find a bad point, it was that the lift was very slow, and on the morning of check out we couldn't use it at all as housekeeping had blocked it on the floor below while they collected dirty towels (why they couldn't have pulled the trolley out so it could still have been used by guests while they did this was anybody’s guess!)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcarpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

After staying at the premier inn bath road had high expectations-extremely basic ,run down appearance though clean. Fan not working. Further away from edinburgh than thought. Bus available across the road but takes a good hour. Have stayed in much better. Breakfast standard fayre.

Room Tip: All rooms very hot - make sure the fan works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rtn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Laura Gibbins- Social Media at Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.

Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The Edinburgh Festival impact on room availability and cost meant that we had to stay well outside of Edinburgh for a recent Business Trip. This Premier Inn while not as good as the one in Haymarket, is perfectly adequate in terms of its accommodation and restaurant facilities. Its location close to the Forth Road Bridge is good and it also has a Tesco and Macdonalds nearby as an added bonus. We used the meal deal which while ok for breakfast imposes too many restrictions regarding the dinner menu choice and the drinks availability so will not use again.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms from 42 onwards seem to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We've stayed at quite a few Premier Inns now and generally they are great for the price.

This one however, was more money but the experience was not as good. We stayed here 2 nights on the top floor. It could be because the heat rises, but the room was overwhelmingly hot - so hot that you can't sleep at night. There is of course, no A/C. Due to the heat, the window was permanently open. Unfortunately on both nights, some of the local lads thought it would be a great idea to drag race their cars nearby at 2am. Not great when you want to keep the window open. I would give the place the benefit of the doubt that it would not be like that every night, but our experience wasn't the best.

Room Tip: Try not the top floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knightdiverx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed here on the 6th of August 2012. We where a family of 2 adults and 1 child. The welcome we had when we arrived was very good after a long drive. The staff where always more than happy to help with extra pillows, ice buckets for room, even with extra fans and sheets for the hot weather, bus timetable and rail timetables to Edinburgh, she even helped us on the internet to look for the golden post box and she printed off the directions, thanks! It was very easy to find the hotel. Near to the hotel is a BP garage, MC Donald's and a simply M&S. The room was alright, small tv which was limited to 15 so you could not hear it very well at all, big bathroom with soaps and shampoo, the room needs plug sockets because when everything is pluged in there are no spare plugs for phone chargers etc, comfy bed, and a comfy full size single bed for our child. Also I think it would be nice to have mood lighting in the bathroom so when in the bath you can turn of the bright lights and relax. Please can you make the shower head moveable, being around 6ft when moving in the shower my head hit the shower head and I couldn't move it so I had to crouch down so I did not hit my head again. The one major bad thing was the fact that when we went out at around 9am on Thursday morning and attended the military tattoo so we did not return to the hotel until about 00:30 our fan was turned off and then the cleaners have taken our wine glasses and our curtains where opened! The hotel refunded the night with no quibbles because it was so hot and being on the bottom floor you could hardly open the window so no one could get to sleep due to the heat. However with our wine glasses we were told that the cleaners take them but they couldn't find ours so now we have used ones from the restaurant which you can tell because they have the measurement mark. Please be aware that this hotel is used by contractors and buisness men so they get up at around 6am to leave.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Matiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

we drove to scotland to see the zoo and shop, it was to far to drive up and down in one day so we stopped at a premier inn at queens ferry near the forth bridge , it was an excellent location, 2 mins to the bridge and 20 mins to the zoo, and high street, the inn was very clean and tidy and for a family of 2 adults and 1 child very reasonably priced, kids eat free!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charles m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
0.3 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,979 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
12.5 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh -...
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
844 reviews
10.1 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll
10.8 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel

Address: Queens Crossing Builyeon Road, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9YJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range: £45 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the picturesque town of South Queensferry, just minutes from the iconic Forth Road Bridge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing