We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

If you want a peaceful night, don't accept a room above the kitchen. All night long there was a continuous pervading noise as if coming from an industrial air conditioning unit on the kitchen roof right below my window. Spoke to reception and they promised it would be switched off at 10pm - It wasn't! This was one of the hottest days of the year but I had to close the window for some refuge from the noise, and then of course the room temperature and humidly made sleep impossible,

The room was Spartan but clean, and all the bells and whistles worked. It was a good job there was one chair where I could sit to put on my socks. You couldn't do this sitting on the edge of the bed because it was nearly 2 feet high!

Had a meal in the attached Brewers Fayre. The place was clean and the staff were efficient, but the food!!! I made the mistake of inadvertently ordering the basic fish and chips instead of Cod. Goodness knows what type of fish I got, but is looked and tasted as ’re-constituted' fish, as they say. The chips were warm. That's all I can say good about that. My good wife suffered in silence, as she does.

The cost of the room for the night was £80. Places like this were a godsend years ago when weary travellers were grateful for a bed at competitive costs. The unique selling point of places like this being sited near major roads and interchanges is wearing a bit thin in this day of the internet and smart phones. In hindsight, we could have been better fed and bedded in a choice of nearby quality hotels at little more cost than I paid here.

Never again.

Room Tip: Pre-book. Although, when online they annoyingly don't encourage direct phone to the hotel, only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank millbrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Millbrae

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

I would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please if you would like to talk to me directly about your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me on 0871 527 8364.

Yours Sincerely


Jacqueline Scally
Premier Inn Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Really enjoyed stay,short family break down at The Highland Show. Our room / bathroom was of first class standard
Family friendly,restaurant good, breakfast was exceptional.
Looking forward to our stay next year already!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Linda M

Thank you for your kind review of your stay here at Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry).

The Team and I are happy that your enjoyed your stay with us, whilst in the area for the Royal Highland Show.

Our housekeeping team extremely work hard to ensure our guests have a clean and comfortable room, and I am proud that they delivered this to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back again next year, for another great weekend!

Yours Sincerely

Jacqui Scally
Premier Inn Team Leader
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I had not stayed in a Premier Inn before. We were holidaying with my daughter and the children and had to book two double, double rooms to accommodate the four children and ourselves. The rooms were bright, very clean and enough room for us all to get around. The beds lived up to their claim of a good night sleep, and all were claimed comfortable.Toiletries were supplied, along with tea and coffee facilities. The staff were friendly to the children and there was a secure play area outside which the younger children loved. We dined in the Brewer's Fayre restaurant with plenty selection to please everyone and a 'eat as much' as you like breakfast all served by attentive staff. It proved good value for the cost of us all staying two nights. It was in a good location for going to the Highland Show and later we all walked through the underpass and over to the Forth Bridges.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor, but surprisingly for the location of the hotel quiet until traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Jan1250

The Team And I would like to thank you for your recent review of your stay here at Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry).

We are pleased that your enjoyed your visit, and enjoyed a comfortable nights sleep. Our Housekeeping team are proud to read your comments about how you found their rooms.

The play area within the restaurant grounds is a great place for the children to play and I will pass on your kind comments to the Brewers Fayre.

We hope that your enjoyed the sunshine and highland show and we look forward to welcoming your and your family again.
Yours Sincerely

Jacqui Scally
Premier Inn Team Leader
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

P.Inn South Queensferry is one of the older type within the chain, but all the better for it in many ways. A manned reception (no annoying self service check ins), breakfast cooked to order (far better than the offputting buffet style), actual metal room key, all making for a refreshing change to the newer style hotels within the P.Inn group in my opinion.

Very friendly & helpful staff, ample car parking, rooms spotlessly clean & well equipped. I requested a quiet room, which overlooked the car park, & had a great night sleep. Large room, but the small desk mounted TV appeared lost. Directly behind this was a bare wall that would easily have accomodated a larger screen wall mounted TV, which would have made a big difference.

The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the picturesque South Queensferry with its bars & restaurants, many of which provide a delivery service to the hotel.

Large, comfortable bar/restaurant next door, with a good range of beers.

Enjoyed my stay here, will return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allertonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Allertonlad

May the Team and I thank you for your recent review of your stay with us here at Premier Inn Edinburgh South Queensferry.

We are all glad that you enjoyed your stay, and the lovely town of South Queensferry. Premier Inn are refurbishing all our rooms, so hopefully in the next year or two, we will have refreshed and updated bedrooms, but I think we will be keeping our 24 hour manned reception!

Once again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you, should you find yourself in the area again.

Your Sincerely

Jacqueline Scally
Premier Inn Team Leader
Premier Inn (South Queensferry)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

very good service ,perfect location for travelling further north.easy to access the forth road bridge. good parking, secure.location perfect for Edinborough.the rooms were very clean and tidy, good comfy bed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear John R

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry).

The Team and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our Housekeeping team are proud that you found their rooms Clean and Tidy.

Yes, I would agree that our location is perfect for an overnight stay to rest before onward travels.

Yours Sincerely

Jacqueline Scally
Premier Inn Team Leader
Premier Inn Edinburgh South Queensferry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Premier Inn Edinburgh - South Queensferry - A very average property much away from Edinburg as we have expected. Though the rooms and toilets are maintained , there is hardly any maintenance of the lift. Beware you can get stuck any time. The front rooms have no view except of that of the parking. The back rooms still have a view of a Highroad. However there is a Mcdonald nearby.

Room Tip: Better to avoid this property if you plan to stay in Edinburg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank architectbiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Architectbiswas

Thank you for taking the time to review our recent stay with us. Our housekeeping team are pleased that your and your family found our rooms maintained.

Although, our hotel building is of one of the older Premier Inns an external contractor on a monthly basis, maintains our lift, inline with the Planned Maintenance Programme.

I am sorry that you found our location, a little further from Edinburgh than anticipated. I must admit that we are not situated in Edinburgh City Centre, however, we do have good public transport links: 40 minutes by bus or 15 minutes by train.


Yours Sincerely

Jacqueline Scally
Premier Inn Team Leader
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Located just by the Forth Road Bridge and very easy to find, it was a great stopover for us on the way to the Highlands of Scotland. Staff were very efficient and helpful, bar drinks were good value and bedroom clean and had everything you basically need. Beds too firm for us but for 1 night that is no problem.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenCopestake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
4.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
0.5 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,015 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
9 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn
#117 of 151 in Edinburgh
260 reviews
2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh -...
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel

Address: Queens Crossing Builyeon Road, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9YJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range: £44 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the picturesque town of South Queensferry, just minutes from the iconic Forth Road Bridge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing