We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Party” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orocco Pier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orocco Pier
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Christmas Party”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

My Office had its Christmas Party night at the Orocco Pier this year, we turned up as instructed at 7.30pm, were served our first course at 8.45pm and our main course at 9.45pm, which I'm afraid really isn't good enough. The excuse given to us was that some guests were late, that's fine but you don't need to make all the others wait for them!
The food was ok and portions generous but the meal didn't really finish until gone 11pm by which time it was very late to start the disco.

In conclusion we were a bit disappointed in the evening and probably will not book again for such an event.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PandaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    146
    78
    51
    28
See reviews for
126
249
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

We recently had Christmas dinner at Orocco Pier, things started well with a friendly welcome and well presented looking starter. However things went rapidly down hill from there.

A few of our party were driving so ordered cokes, we were shocked to find them serving us with glasses literally full of ice with a tiny amount of coke. One of our party returned their drink to the bar and asked if they could only have a couple of bits of ice and were then given a glass 2/3 full of ice a slight improvement.

Later on this go even more comical as the glasses were so full of ice, it was actually sticking out above the top of the glass! I would expect this type of penny pinching at a fast food/chain restaurant but not for £60 a head Christmas meal.

When the mains arrived the presentation was awful, it looked like someone had just chucked the food randomly on the plate, the vegetables were rock hard and almost inedible.

Desert wasn't much better, those of us who had Christmas pudding were presented with more penny pinching as they were given a tiny piece of Christmas pudding and even less brandy custard, which made the pudding really dry.

Having booked this meal quite a few months in advance we were really looking forward to a nice meal and family gathering, instead we just felt like we were victims of someone's attempt to save a few pounds. I certainly will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crazyhaggid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

The location is really beautiful. The restaurant and bar have fabulous views of the Forth and the bridges. The room and en-suite shower room were clean and modern and the staff were friendly.
We were in a street facing room on a Thursday night and the street noise woke us at 6.30am. You could also hear the music from the bar very loudly in our room. We went back down to the bar until they closed to have some more drinks so didn't bother us, but not for those looking for a agood night's sleep! I would have marked the hotel's location as excellent but the street noise was so loud I marked it down to good. I would recommend requesting a sea view if you like peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMurray83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

We have ate here quite a few times and have never had anything but a very brilliant plate of food. The portion sizes are perfect and the mix of flavours used in the dishes are fab!

The staff are friendly and attentive but not overly so. Definitely recommend this restaurant and believe me I am v fussy about food and where I eat but have never been disappointed here.

Love the makeover, so intimate and stylish!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

I have never written a review before but I felt compelled to do so after my stay at Orocco Pier Hotel.

First of all, I would say that the service staff in the bar during the evening, and the staff serving breakfast in the morning were very good. The bar was packed at night, with people staying at the hotel and people going to Orocco as a destination pub/restaurant. The staff were friendly even though they were kept on their toes constantly. Food took a long time to arrive every night, but we didn’t mind as we were catching up with family and friends. The food served in the hotel was inconsistent; it was either very good or not edible.

We were attending a wedding and were looking forward to our 3 night visit to Scotland. Unfortunately, our accommodation was a shared basement apartment outside the hotel. We spent three nights there and between both families we were changed £950 for the privilege of having only one bathroom! We had to walk down some very steep steps to the apartment at night and it did not have an outside light. We had three young children and it was not a safe decent to the front door!

On one occasion, leaving the hotel to go back to our apartment, we had to walk pass a street fight, lots of police around and lots of drunks! Not a nice experience for us or the kids!

I would not go back and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Winn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Recently went to the restaurant to celebrate my son's graduation. Staff brilliant and attentive and the food was wonderful. An evening to remember especially as they were kind enough to give us a table by the window. We will be back very soon!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catriona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Having stayed and eaten in Orocco Pier several times before, we thought we would be safe with another stay as a goodbye as I work overseas.

We found a good rate, I think maybe now that's why we were put in room 5, cold, noisey and small. We checked in, never got a hello or a welcome just a "do you have a credit card to check in with". Having worked on a reception before, we were not asked if we wanted dinner reservations in the restaurant, no information on anything.

We ate in the Boathouse which is right next door, food was lovely, nice and quiet as it was a Monday evening.

Back to the room that evening and the aircon was very loud, there was a lot of noise outside, no view. Myself and my partner never slept well at all that night, in the morning around 7am the housekeeping team had the hoover on chatting loudly. Brilliant.

We checked out at 11 and got no how was your stay, no can I do anything else for you just "have you had breakfast?" we continued though to Antico to be waiting 20mins on someone to take our order.

Now, having seen 2 hotel owners and 1 general manager and not one of them to say hello or good morning, something wrong with that. But if I'm being honest, I really don't think they give a toss. Simple resolution, we won't be back.

Room Tip: Not room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
The Staghead Hotel
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Queensferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orocco Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orocco Pier

Property: Orocco Pier
Address: 17 High St., South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9PP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Orocco Pier 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Orocco Pier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orocco Pier Edinburgh
Orocco Pier Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing